Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ft. Zumwalt South High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 26, 2016
- a student
Mr Bequette for being one of the only people I felt like actually cared about me. He could always tell if I was having a bad day before I could

Ft. Zumwalt South High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted January 26, 2016
- a student
they do not care about their students or make us feel important at all. well all except Mr Martin, Mr Bequette, and a few select others


Ft. Zumwalt South High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 26, 2016
- a student
my English class last semester was full of kids talking back to the teacher because she never gave us any respect. if they would give the students respect, they'd get so much more respect in return. instead, it's full of inconsiderate students and staff members.

Ft. Zumwalt South High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 26, 2016
- a student
nobody cares about what happens to students, it's all just an act so parents don't complain

Ft. Zumwalt South High School 5

Posted March 04, 2014
- a parent
My daughter graduated from FZS in 2011. My only complaint about the entire school system/district would be how absolutely worthless the guidance councelors are. I have no idea why they are there, but providing guidance is not their function. A large budget item that could be put to better use.


Ft. Zumwalt South High School 4

Posted February 12, 2012
- a student
I graduated from Fort Zumwalt South last year. I feel that the school is trying to become a better school, but is ill equipped. The entire Zumwalt district is broke, but they are trying to manage with what little money they do have. Since I have graduated, I have heard that the school has gotten more AP classes for the more talented kids. Although I had some pretty good teachers, I also had some very lousy teachers that demanded respect, but never gave the students any. In the past five years the school has gone through many changes including a colossal down size and big faculty changes. Not only did they go through a down size, but they had some big faculty changes including two new vice principals, but they got a new head principal. At first I was hesitant to these changes, but the new head principal improved the scores to the EXIT exams that replaced the MAP tests back in 2009 or 2010. If you are looking to send your teenager to South then I would have to say that over all it is a good school. Just make sure that this school fits the needs of your kid and not yourself!

Ft. Zumwalt South High School 1

Posted September 14, 2011
- a community member
Just asking while attending a sporting event at your school. When the national anthem is sung. The people have to face the grand stand broadcast tower where there is a little metal flag wired to the building. It would be a lot better if there was a cloth flag where people can see it

Ft. Zumwalt South High School 1

Posted February 16, 2011
- a student
Going to South High I not only realize that the school is ill equipped with the proper staff needed to function a proper high school but, also when it comes down to making decisions the management lacks the skills to do so. Not to mention the fights and yelling that takes place in the hallway. Their sports team are horrible with the exception of their baseball team. I am just glad my parents decided to get out of there and transfer me to West High.


Ft. Zumwalt South High School 5

Posted January 23, 2011
- a student
Over the last few years, South has changed a lot. South used to be over crowded, but since the school district built East High, it is now the smallest of the 4 main high schools. The lower student population allows for smaller class sizes. South High received the highest Exist exam scores in the Saint Louis area. South is also introducing more advanced and AP classes every year. The students at south have multiply opportunities to join sports, after school clubs ranging from choirs and bands to student council and NHS, and to participate in South's excellent theatric department. The most of the teachers at South do care about the students and are willing to help after or even before school. The principles are nice and just do their jobs, but the guidance counselors are absolutely terrible. The counselors are little to no help and you would make more progress by just going straight to one of the principals or teachers if you are ever in need of help. The guidance councilors are basically "glorified schedulers".

Ft. Zumwalt South High School 4

Posted May 24, 2009
- a parent
Big but small enough to have a friendly feel. Relax and friendly feel as you walk into the doors as a parent. My 3 kids are there have love it. They have a lot of school spirit.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ft. Zumwalt South High School
8050 Mexico Rd, St Peters, MO  63376
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (636) 978-1212
Last modified Ft. Zumwalt South High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top