Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Saeger Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 767 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2013

I am amazed at this review! The PE department sponsors severa intramurals (all seasons), plus most of the PE teachers coach at the high school and offer similar programs at the middle school. The cross son try coach trains stude ts and takes them to meets on a regular basis, and I know he isn't paid a dime for it. "Girls On Track" is another popular program. Our PE department is extremely active, and I teach in a different department.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 3, 2012

This school would be a 5 star rating from me, only it lacks in the Athletic Departments. Honestly I think the Physical Education instructors are too lazy. I'm not seeing them motivated enough to push kids to a higher level or create individual challenges for each individual. I can go on and on about the P.E. staff but them not running or supporting any extra after school programs should speak for itself. Shameful that we still allow our Athletics Departments be comfortable withe themselves at such a low level of making an impact for our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

This school is great I love it so much. I have gone here for all three years and haven't had any problems here. The staff is nice, helpful, and fun to be around.


Posted May 27, 2011

Seriously irritated with this school... If your kids go there tell them not to take any personal items to school with them... After attending school there for 3 years, my son had his ipod taken away from him for the first timer ever... When he went to the office to retrieve it the next day it was broken... Rather than holding the teacher responsible he was told to bad... Way to teach the kids to be responsible for their actions!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

For the most part I am satisfied with the teachers/lesson programs at Saeger. Most of the teachers I have dealt with are interested and seem to care about their students. The lunch program is lacking nutritionally but that seems to be across the board in Missouri schools. I appreciate the extra-curricular programs for the kids. Mine are in Singing Sensations and both before school band/brass choir. I know it takes a lot of extra effort on behalf of the teachers. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

i dont like it that well because of all the bullying that happens to me and I say something about it and it wont stop but all the teachers are realy nice
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2009

My child has a wonderful time and education at Seager. The typical 'Union' shoddy greedy attitude obstructs a better teacher attitude sometimes, but this is district wide. Overall, this is a superior school. Dr. Schick is a sensitive intelligent educator. What I have encountered at Francis Howell District is condescending and a tad resentful for parents actively helping teachers with education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

My son attended all 3 years, and I have nothing but fabulous things to say about Saeger! The Principal Mr. Schick is great. He has control of the school, students, and teachers. He is very approachable and has set a positive atmosphere for the school. I Saeager to really be good at empowering the kids belief in their own ablilities and they have a great character education program in place. It is also very apparent that the teachers really love teaching these 6th, 7th, and 8th graders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

I have to completely disagree with the March 2004 review. This school is great. Every time I've had any kind of problem, once I contacted the teacher, administrator or counselor I got satisfactory results. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. To get the most out of your child's school, the parent(s) needs to be involved. It makes a big difference and you'll know a lot more about what is going on. My son is presently in this school and my daughter attended the last 3 years and got a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2004

I have had many difficulties with Saeger trying to get the help I need for my child with no results. I would never recommend that anyone intentionally send their child to this school. It isn't all the schools fault the Missouri schools are broke and there is no money to implement programs to get assistants and help our children. I don't know the solution but I do know that if you don't already live in this school zone don't move into it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 52% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students67%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Free or reduced-price lunch51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students69%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Free or reduced-price lunch51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students65%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Free or reduced-price lunch45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students66%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Free or reduced-price lunch38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students69%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Free or reduced-price lunch69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students39%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White41%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students63%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunch54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students90%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 75%
Black 6% 17%
Asian 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5201 Hwy North
St. Charles, MO 63304
Phone: (636) 851-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Joseph School
St. Charles, MO


Hollenbeck Middle School
St. Charles, MO



Bryan Middle School
St. Charles, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT