Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
90 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I encourage anyone interested in a high quality Montessori program to visit us at Campbell. As Director, I am always available to give a tour. In order to communicate with parents, we publish a weekly email newsletter, maintain a facebook page and a twitter account. We also use an online service to communicate directly with parents regarding their children's progress. We have four security cameras in place, and keep our front door locked until the office personnel arrive. Our premises are posted with "No firearms allowed" signs. Playground safety is a major concern of all the adults at Campbell. Children are monitored by an adult at all times when outdoors. It is rare that a child has an injury serious enough to require a bandage. Our site is next door to Shady Springs Park, which we do use from time to time for the toddler and preschool classes, and more often for the elementary classes. Our own playground is a natural one which we are making into a Nature Explore Playscape at this time. Please take a look at the video I have included in the photo section to see our four 6th year elementary students who visited New York City this past March to participate in the Montessori Model United Nations experience. They represented Uganda, and had the chance to sit in the seats usually occupied by the delegates from that country. I hope you will take a look at Campbell if you are interested in a Montessori education for your child.
July 08, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Campbell Montessori School 5

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
This school is amazing. It has been transformative for my son. After going to an excellent day care, the public Kindergarten in our district totally failed him. He came home angry every day and HATED going to school. Within three days at Campbell he already knew that his teacher cared about him and he began to turn around. The calm teachers, understanding administration, and fantastic families that make up the school have been fantastic. Needless to say we started his younger brother in the same school as soon as we could.

Campbell Montessori School 1

Posted February 12, 2016
- a community member
If you are looking for an authentic Montessori education – run away from Campbell. If you are looking for a place filled with Montessori materials where the management and most of the stuff members don’t care to apply some of the basic Montessori principles – you are in the right place. It is true that Campbell used to be a good Montessori school but, very sadly, that is no longer the case. The current management is rather unprofessional, careless and dishonest. That is the reason why most of the good teachers have left in the past 2-3 years. That is also the reason why nearly half of the families moved their child to a different Montessori school. When you visit the school pay attention to the unoccupied rooms. In the past, the school used to accommodate 1 middle school, 1 upper elementary, 2 lower elementary, 3 primaries and 1 toddler (most of the classrooms were close to their full capacity). Currently there is 1 elementary, 2 primaries and 1 toddler (each around 40%-50% capacity) and the number of families leaving the school is growing. Individuals who write positive reviews seemingly don’t understand what Montessori standards are. That is said, I believe that Campbell remains a better option than certain public schools but it certainly is not a Montessori school which can be associated with terms such as authenticity, professionalism, honesty, communication, care…. I wish I didn’t have to write any negative comments about the school but perspective parents, especially those who are new to Montessori, should know what is going on. Yes, Campbell has a great potential (the buildings, the grounds, the quite area) but currently, whilst it is slowly “rotting from the inside”, there is no much hope – unless there are some dramatic changes within the management.


Campbell Montessori School 2

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
My experience here was bittersweet. It started out great. We loved the toddler program here because the teacher helped us a lot with our child and was very good at communicating. She was definitely the friendliest and most honest person at the school to us. When we transitioned to the primary program, that is when we had some issues with lack of communication and professionalism. The way the teacher talked to the children was not like that of someone who works with children and she seemed to have very little patience. She was also very judgemental. We never felt like we were being judged in the first program. You could simply tell by the way they dresses, that this teacher was inexperienced or very young. There ended up being an incident later in the year that prompted us to move our child. If you just take a moment to talk to a few parents here before you sign up, you will most certainly think twice. I just read online the other day that they got rid of a teacher without telling her. One of the best teachers this school had in my opinion.

Campbell Montessori School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
I think that are some good teachers here and some that are not so good. They do not undergo continuous training programs like the teachers at other montessori schools (my childs teacher told me they do not attend refreshment courses because the school can not afford it nor give the teachers the day off to go but they are closed on MANY other days during the year). The dress code is not very professional and one teacher even wears clothing highly inappropriate for teaching requirements. I posted a review a few days ago but i guess they had it taken down because I commented on the attire.

Campbell Montessori School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
Most of the staff here does not act in integrity or fairness. I do not think you can teach a child something you do not practice.


Campbell Montessori School 2

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
Very disorganized. No help understanding things after you move to primary. Director was dishonest and was not interested in making us feel ok with our experience.

Campbell Montessori School
Teacher effectiveness: no rating

Posted July 08, 2015
- a school leader
Teachers at Campbell hold university degrees before they undertake Montessori teacher training. They undergo either a three-summer or an academic year course, which is equivalent to a year of college. Most courses offer a master's degree in education in connection with a university if the student takes a summer's worth of credit from that institution. Staff meetings are held regularly. Teachers are encouraged to attend workshops and refresher courses sponsored by our parent organization. Every three years, each level - toddler, primary and elementary - must be consulted by a trained Montessori consultant hired by AMI.

Campbell Montessori School
Amount of homework: no rating

Posted July 08, 2015
- a school leader
Montessori schools do not assign homework. Much of the work students perform is done with hands-on materials - an experience that cannot be replicated at home. We believe that there is important work to learn at home - work such as how to budget, how to shop, how to cook, how to fix things around the house, how to clean the house, etc. These life skills are important to learn at home, and they can't be taught at school.


Campbell Montessori School
Develops grit: no rating

Posted July 08, 2015
- a school leader
One of the main tenets of Montessori education is "Never do anything for a child that he can do for himself." By adhering to this idea, students develop persistence, grit and determination. Achieving a task without adult assistance strengthens confidence.

Campbell Montessori School
Develops respect: no rating

Posted July 08, 2015
- a school leader
There are only two rules at Campbell Montessori School: Respect one another - This means respect the work that others are engaged with, respect their personal space, when someone is busy, refrain from interrupting them, and pay attention when someone is speaking to you. Respect everything in the environment - This means that when you choose an activity, you must use it for its intended purpose and return it to the proper place ready for the next student.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Campbell Montessori School
3880 Shady Springs Ln, St. Charles, MO  63301
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (636) 477-8200
Last modified Campbell Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top