Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benton High School

Public | 9-12 | 875 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2011

I have had 3 children graduate from Benton and another about to enter. I would not send my child to any other high school in town. The staff has always been there when I need questions answered. They have the students take responsibility for their actions and academics. If you like to be involved in academic clubs, sports, or any fine arts activities, there are plenty of chances to do so. Parents seem to really support their students in these activities. It is definitely a high school worth choosing if you want that close community feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2010

I think this school is terrific because our students really come together to show their school spirit, they care about learning, and they try hard to work together to make Benton the best high school in St. Joseph. I also think our school is the best because the teachers and all the staff members work hard to make the kids successful and make Benton a good place to learn and have fun learning. We all take pride in our school and our community. Go Cardinals!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

My son goes to school at Benton. Great Principals and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

I think this school has very good Teachers and Students. The Discipline is great and they are very good at athletics and academics. They are a very friendly environment and any student would be lucky to go to. The food is great, they have a very good janitorial system and are very clean. They offer a lot of great extra-curriculer activities and can make anyones life better. This school is really awesome and I am very proud to go there! TAKE THAT LAFAYETTE!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2008

This school is terrible! The administration doesn't care for the students. Just the total score of the school. The teachers are terrible. Half of them don't know the material they are supposed to be teaching!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

I believe the majority of the faculty truly cares about the students they are teaching, which translates into a better learning environment for those students. I also believe the administration does a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

I find that the academics are outstanding at Benton High School. I think that the teachers do a great job when working with the students and pushing them onward through thier schooling careers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2006

Very disappointed in the lack of discipline. Learning is possible but if the parent is not involved and the child is having trouble teachers don't seem to want to go the extra mile. That is not true of all the teachers. There are still some good caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2005

The extracurrricluar activities are okay. The JROTC program is very involed in the school. they do a lot for the school and the community
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
19%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
49%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
43%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students40%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White42%
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students55%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilities25%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White49%
Free or reduced-price lunch43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students65%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White63%
Free or reduced-price lunch60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White56%
Free or reduced-price lunch44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 75%
Black 6% 17%
Hispanic 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5655 South Fourth
St. Joseph, MO 64504
Phone: (816) 671-4030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Baptist Temple Schools
St. Joseph, MO


Helen M Davis School
St. Joseph, MO


Central High School
St. Joseph, MO



Lafayette High School
St. Joseph, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT