Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
312 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
My husband and I deliberated a long time about where to send our firstborn for elementary school. He had been homeschooled up to that point and is a very bright student. We needed a school that would challenge him academically, and wanted that school to also foster his growing relationship with Jesus, especially during his young, formative years. When we toured the SJCS facility, we were extremely impressed with the cleanliness and professionalism of the facilities. We immediately felt welcomed among the staff and administration. We knew once we left that SJCS was where we wanted our son to attend. But there was a slight problem... tuition. Knowing that we couldn't afford the full tuition price, we moved forward with enrollment and began the financial aid process. We were thrilled and relieved to be awarded exactly what we needed to send our son to SJCS. If you are considering SJCS, but are intimidated by the tuition price, please look into financial aid! This year at SJCS has been a wonderful beginning for our son - academically, socially and spiritually. We are so pleased with and thankful for SJCS!

St Joseph Christian School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
I love the teachers!! They are so easy to talk to and very friendly. I can text them and they are very prompt to answer after school hours.


St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
The school has been such a blessing to our family. We are a family of 7 and had previously homeschooled. We wanted to assure that our kids continued getting a Christian education. The financial assistance provided has been a great help and blessing to allow our kids to attend SJCS. The teachers and staff are so wonderful and have helped my children in their transition. The classes are a perfect size that allows my children to get some quality attention if needed to. Thank you SJCS!!

St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
This was our first year at SJCS. We have a 2nd grader and a kindergartner. My biggest concern was transitioning them and getting them caught up to the educational standards at SJCS. We came from the public system. Both teachers and I have an open line of communication. When I've had questions I get an immediate response either by email, note or meeting with the teacher. In fact I am currently scheduling a time to meet with a teacher so she can personally show me how she works with my son. I am so thankful God directed us to SJCS. Everyone at SJCS has gone above and beyond to be as helpful as possible! My children are truly happy and thankful everyday to be able to attend SJCS.

St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Our son and daughter have both attend SJCS since preschool. We first sent our son to the preschool because we knew the teacher and wanted to make sure he got an excellent start to his education. SJCS far exceeded our expectations and we enrolled our daughter the next year. Both are now in high school. Not only has SJCS provided a solid academic foundation, they also reinforce the faith and values we teach at home. They have had some fantastic teachers along the way that have helped them grow into a Christ-like young man and young woman. Thanks SJCS!


St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
When we consider what it is that we desire most for our children several things come to mind. All these things are good, but our deepest desire is that they would come to know the grace, love, and forgiveness of Jesus and that it would result in lives surrendered to Him as Lord. When choosing a school or method of schooling for our children, our deepest desire for them was what lead us to Saint Joseph Christian School. There are many places that our children could receive a great education, but we desire for our children to be pointed to Jesus and encouraged in their faith. That is exactly what we found at SJCS! We started by sending our oldest daughter to pre-k, and immediately knew that the school was a great fit for our family! Currently, two years later, our daughter is in 1st grade and our son is in pre-k. There are many things that we love about SJCS, but ultimately we have peace in knowing that what we desire most for our children is what our school desires as well! We would encourage all Christian parents to consider Saint Joseph Christian School for their children.

St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
We are so thankful to have our son at SJCS. Thank you SJCS for realizing, and placing emphasis on, what truly matters. Thank you for giving each child the opportunity to know God & fall in love with Jesus - in all areas of their life!

St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted January 11, 2015
- a parent
Saint Joseph Christian School has been a perfect fit for our family! We had several friends encourage us to consider SJCS as we started looking for a preschool program. We took a tour of the school and have been impressed ever since! Our daughter is now in Kindergarten, and the school continues to exceed our expectations! Our concerns were mainly financial, yet we have come to consider the sacrifice an investment in our child s character and spiritual growth. We love that the school desires to partner with us to point our child to Christ. Our daughter s spiritual needs are being met with daily Bible study, weekly verse memorization, and weekly chapel time. Academically, the curriculum is impressive and the class sizes are small, allowing for more one-on-one time with the teacher. Our daughter is thriving at SJCS, and we look forward to all God has for her there. We are blessed to be a part of this great school!


St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted November 11, 2014
- a parent
When we enrolled our daughter in pre-k at St. Joseph Christian School, it was really a leap of faith. We didn't have the financial means to commit to 13+ years of Christian education but we couldn't deny the strong leading we felt from the Lord to enroll her here. As He always does, God had a plan and He has provided for our family in amazing ways through the years...we are so grateful for His provision and for St. Joseph Christian School. We could never have guessed all those years ago the impact SJCS would have in our lives. Not only has our daughter received an excellent education founded on biblical truth; our entire family has been supported in our spiritual walk and challenged to grow in our faith. We've come to look at the cost of an education at SJCS as more of an investment--an investment with eternal returns. Of course, the best thing about SJCS isn't a thing; it's the people. We've been so blessed by the SJCS teachers, staff, and the other wonderful Christian families we've met. We are so grateful God led us to SJCS; we can't imagine having our daughter anywhere else!

St Joseph Christian School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
We have been apart of the SJCS family for over 15 years. We thought we would just give it a try for Pre-School for our daughter and we never had a reason to leave! We re-evaluated our decision as she was entering highschool. She wanted to stay and we were very pleased with the high academics that were being offered. She graduated with 22 college credits! Having a strong foundation in her faith, she was able to transition to college very easily and is involved in Campus Ministry. Being apart of a smaller school has afforded our son to be able to participate in many extracurricular activites such as Football, Basketball and Track, as well as be apart of the State Scholar Bowl Team, Student Council and the School Play. All of these are great things, but the main we reason we love SJCS is that there is an atomosphere of faith. Our children are learning to Love the Lord and to love others through our weekly chapel, missions opportunities and community service projects.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joseph Christian School
5401 Gene Field Road, St. Joseph, MO  64506
(816) 390-6111
Last modified St Joseph Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
St Joseph Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. Top