Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spoede Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 472 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, October 16, 2014

I have been extremely dissapointed with Spoede. My wife and I moved into the district because we were under the impression that it was a great school. Although it is a bit more academically challenging then her last school, it is not at all what I thought it would be. Even at Parkway we had a Vice Principal as well as a security gaurd, at Spoede there is neither. I also discovered that the staff is overworked and overtasked, the Principal does not even have a Vice Principal and the staff seems stressed and unhappy. Although there does seem to be a few good teachers, I would consider my childs teacher to be sub par. I would not have moved into the district if I knew the reality of this school, very depressing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

We have been so happy at Spoede. Wonderful teachers that truly teach to the child, whether they are advanced or need a little extra help. Very active and devoted parent association. I always feel so welcomed when I come to the school. Well rounded curriculum, blending strong academics with daily gym, music, art, outdoor education and Spanish. Very impactful OASIS intergenerational tutoring program, and they have an excellent before and after school program for working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

I think Spoede is a great school! So many kids would love Spoede! All the teachers and students seem really nice and polite.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2009

We have been at Spoede for 4 years now and it is fantastic. We love how much the teachers/staff care about every child. They go out of their way to help every individual child. Even teachers who have not taught my children know who my kids are which I really like. The school is very big on communication and goes out of it's way to make sure that everyone is included and informed for all activities. The best part is the invidual attention both of my children have received every year. It might of been more help with Math or Reading and even Speech, they were very proactive and reached out to give them the extra support they needed. We love Spoede!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2009

Kudos to the new principle who made a wonderful school even better! I was told prior to my child attending Spoede school, 'Spoede's teaching staff & services are as close to private as you will ever see in a public school setting.' However, I don't believe a traditional private school would have the depth of resources for enrichment & gifted programs. Spoede offers gym class daily, has one of the best elementary outdoor learning centers in the nation, a full music, art & Spanish curriculum coupled with a new 'state of the art' library & computer lab. We participate in the active Parents Association & overall parental involvement is exceptionally high. The teachers and support staff go the extra mile to make sure all the children's needs are met. Our daughter has flourished with the low teacher to student ratio & the culturally diverse student body. Six stars for Spoede!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2008

This school has been such a blessing to our two kids, one of which has an IEP (individual education plan). She is in kindergarten and has grown by leaps and bounds this year thanks to the devoted teachers and staff at Spoede.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

My child loves this school. Plus, it is in one of the best districts in Missouri. It is perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2005

Spoede is a wonderful school with excellent teachers. My kids have thrived there, and I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2005

My experience with this school has been great. It is a school with a very diverse student body in terms of ethnicity and ability levels. The teachers work very hard to reach each student at his/her level of ability and help them grow academically (and socially). They know their students well, and are very helpful and responsive to parental concerns. The academic programs are excellent; reviewed and improved continually. By and large, the students here perform very well academically. Music, art and athletics are part of the regular curriculum with great full-time staff in these areas. There is a high level of parent involvement, and many opportunities for parents to get involved. Spoede has a very active parent's association. All in all it is a wonderful learning community that my children and I are happy to be a part of.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 10, 2005

My experience with this school is that it is very supportive of all students. The teachers are amazing in how they differentiate lessons to students at all levels of ability. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted January 6, 2005

This school does not know how to handle different types of children well.They perfer to retain and/or get rid of any child that would actually make them work.They also lack parent-teacher-student confidentiality.They do have good extracurricular activities, however,I would not recommend this school to any one.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 42% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 46% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 48% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students63%
Black22%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunch24%
Students with disabilities21%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students64%
Black22%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunch29%
Students with disabilities29%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students66%
Black36%
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White70%
Free or reduced-price lunch28%
Students with disabilities46%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students75%
Black36%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White81%
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilities54%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 18% 2%
Black 13% 17%
Hispanic 7% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

425 North Spoede Rd
St. Louis, MO 63141
Phone: (314) 432-4438

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT