Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Normandy High School

Public | 9-12 | 1027 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2010

I attended NHS from 2002-2006. I loved everything about Normandy we had a very active school We had excellent atheletic departments, science & math clubs, and a top culinary arts department. I had excellent teachers. I had many opportunities to participate in advanced & college-prep classes After I completed my sophomore year I left to attend a private catholic high school which was a horrible experience. (I will not name the high school). Once I got there I realized the classes I took as a sophomore at Normandy was not even offered to the seniors at the Catholic school. I was told that because they didn't have any higher & I was required to take the class again & pay for it! I returned to NHS right away! Anywho I am now a graduate of Clark Atlanta University with a 4.0 GPA now attending UMSL to obtain my Masters level degree!


Posted December 2, 2007

I enjoy the renovations taking place at the school. Very pretty to look at from the outside. The inside of the school is a verry different, not so pretty picture. The guard at the gate is rude to parents, the principals secretary leaves a lot to be desired. The teachers are professional and very helpful. Often I have observed students wandering in the hall and loitering in the stairwells for up to 20 minutes at a time. When people find out what school my child attends, the general consensus is 'that school has really gone down'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

As a former student of NHS, I just wanted to say that it is not an bad school overall. Sure there are a few problems with a few choice people but they don't count for the majority. Of course, negativity will always hold the spotlight so you'll never hear about the good things that go on there. I feel that the only way to know the truth about Normandy is to be there and get to know the people for yourself because everyone there isn't bad. If your child knows how to lead rather than follow the crowd, they should have no problem getting the most out of this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 23, 2006

The ratings Normandy High School has gotten on this link are OVER-rated! They should all be one stars. The hallways are full of profanity, students are disrespectful to visitors, students are disrespectful to their teachers. Money is spent on athletics such as a brand new football field and AC for the gym, but what about for the classrooms? What happened to that remodeling that was going to take place?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 8, 2006

Normandy Senior High School is a good school, there are a lot of things that go on at the school that the media does not tell you about. We have a good band, choir and athletic department. The class of 2006 received several scholarships to different universities and colleges. There are some occasions where there is disruption, but above and foremost we are becoming most excellent in all areas of the District.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted June 7, 2006

I have one daughter at NHS now and another daughter who graduated a year ago. My daughter attending college in Alabama with a 3.75 GPA. I am proud to have children who have attended Normandy. I took them out of a private school in our community five years ago and placed them in Normandy because I have personally witnessed some of the very positive things that occur in the district. I am proud to say that both my children have excelled at Normandy. They have taken college prep classes at Normandy and received outstanding awards from UMSL for what they have learned at Normandy. I am an involved parent in the district and I strongly encourage other parents to do the same to help make it the school that they can also be proud of. The level of parent involvement is appalling. Parents are the key to successful schools. Get involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

I have just moved in to the district and I have 2 girls that go to the Normandy High.They are coming from Parkway West High. My girls are about 2 grade years ahead of the kids at NHS. From the way they talk about the school it is like that are going to the zoo everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
10%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
17%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
56%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
17%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students9%
Black9%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch9%
Students with disabilities3%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students23%
Black22%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch21%
Students with disabilities4%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students23%
Black22%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch23%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students26%
Black25%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch25%
Students with disabilities0%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Students9%
Black8%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch7%
Students with disabilities0%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 17%
Hispanic 1% 5%
White 1% 74%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6701 St Charles Rock Rd
St. Louis, MO 63133
Phone: (314) 493-0600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Eskridge High School
St. Louis, MO





Normandy Tech. School
St. Louis, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT