Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mesnier Primary School 5

Posted October 10, 2015
- a parent
Great school, two children there who have loved their teachers! Great leadership and a clear passion to do all they can for the kids that go there. Also lots of new investment going into the school!

Mesnier Primary School 2

Posted August 16, 2015
- a community member
This was a wonderful school for my straight A daughter, but when my son started, it was a different story. My son started at Mesnier with an IEP. I told them that he had a very hard time with his learning abilities. I never heard from his teacher, I would receive daily reports stating that he had good behavior each day. When I went to his conference, his teacher told me that his behavior disrupted the classroom and I asked her why he received good reports everyday and she said I don't know. I told her that I couldn't help with his behavior if I didn't know about it. She also told me that he was very behind the other kids in his class and started throwing other children's work at me telling me that he should know this and this, like the other kids do. I know what he should know, being a teacher myself. His kindergarten teacher was so hateful and was very mean to him. My son needed someone to encourage him, not knock him down. We have since switched schools and we are very happy with his teachers now. He is getting all the help he needs and I'm very happy about that. If you don't love your job, quit and don't let your hate affect children that need it. This is a good school if you have a smart child, but if you have a child that struggles, good luck. I'd move districts if I was you.


Mesnier Primary School 4

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
Mesnier Primary offers a wide variety of activities for even the youngest students. There are types of clubs and/or activities within the school day and outside of school for students to participate and learn beyond just the classroom (math clubs, singing, etc). There is a wonderful before and after care option for those who need it. Summer camp opportunities that are great for working parents and the kids have a blast. Affton has it's own bus system as well, where many schools don't have this as an option or it's an additional charge. The teachers, support staff, administrators, and principle(s) are very intelligent, supportive, and caring for the students. We have 2 children that attend Mesnier and we are extremely pleased with the schools overall performance and level of safety.

Mesnier Primary School 5

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
I have children both in kindergarten and second grade this year at Mesnier. I have been so pleased with the overall character education and behavior management. Positive rewards for everything from good behavior to good attendance. The teachers we have this year are tuned into my kids' needs and push them to excel in the areas they need. Only complaint is the kindergarten class is too big (24), but as a former first grade teacher I know enrollment is something hard to control. Specifically love the opportunity both kids had to participate in a science fair this year, the "family" days they have every month to mix different age groups and encourage cooperation, and also that they have recess BEFORE lunch. Wish our old school had done this...at most schools kids are racing to take a few bites, then throw away only half-eaten lunches. Wish recess first, kids are actually hungry at lunchtime and are expected to all eat together. The principal and VP are very "visible" and involved, can always be seen helping in the lunchroom, visiting classrooms, or at the quarterly family nights at the school. Also love the secured entry building. Very happy with our Mesnier experience this year.

Mesnier Primary School 1

Posted April 09, 2013
- a parent
Dissatisfied. Disappointed. Discriminatory staff. If your child has a chronic illness, be warned the staff will punish the child and unnecessarily report to the state. Negative comments, sarcasm,and bullying from one First grade teacher has destroyed my child's self-esteem.


Mesnier Primary School 1

Posted November 26, 2010
- a community member
I was there 1999 to early 2001. I had an SSD teacher that disciplined me unnecessarily. Also she had a very strict restroom policy. You get three restroom passes a day! That was second grade! We were also given yellow slips that has guidelines you have to follow. They have a "yes" or a "no" printed next to each guideline. Every "no" is circled, you lose five minutes of recess, no exceptions! We have a timed math tests in the afternoon to improve computation. I've remember a student was using fingers to count. It was working for the student but not the teacher. She was given no credit for the test. Another teacher I had was teaching second grade. She wouldn't allow me to express my obsession which is disability-related. She would of been in hot water under IDEA. These teachers were both petrifying and better change!

Mesnier Primary School 5

Posted June 10, 2010
- a parent
My daughter just finished Kindergarten and I am amazed at the knowledge she has gained this year!! I am very pleased with the school and staff! We can't wait to see what the next year has to offer!!

Mesnier Primary School 4

Posted July 23, 2007
- a parent
So far, I am really pleased with this school. My daughter just completed kindergarten, and has been asking all summer when she can go back. She is already reading extremely well and doing math problems with ease. Mesnier is a 'cute' little school( the murals in the halls and the ice cream cone out front are darling!) with a close knit feel to it, and the parents are always kept really informed. I think this school is a perfect 'fit'.


Mesnier Primary School 4

Posted April 18, 2005
- a parent
This school has an absolutely fantastic teacher staff. I have not encountered any I do not like in the two years my child has attended. They are instrumental in encouraging children, building self-esteem and teaching values of citizenship. The teachers seem to be very good at spotting all types of needs of the children to pinpoint the ones having difficulties and the ones excelling and needing a challenge. The school provides access to extra activities throughout the year to help children of this age explore different opportunities. Opportunities in reading, math, science(fair), scouts, music, sports, etc. I would recommend this school to any who is looking for a sound and stable environment in which you can work at whatever pace works for you and your children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mesnier Primary School
6930 Weber Rd, St. Louis, MO  63123
(314) 849-5566
Last modified Mesnier Primary School is a Public school that serves grades K-2
Mesnier Primary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top