Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Craig Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 546 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

My little sister in the fourth grade loves it here! The principal helped her transition smoothly when we moved here from Indiana in 2012. From all the things she brings home, it's a very creative school with fun ways of addressing essential skills. Teachers and principals are very good at tackling issues. Sure, there is a bit of taunting and teasing, but overall a 5 star rating. Go Owls!


Posted December 3, 2013

This is a great school that both my girls attend to and are very happy and love going to school every day. Many teachers are wonderful, but Mrs Skivey and Mrs Czapla and Walsh are some of the ones that my kids have had and they are all incredible. The new principal for 2 years now, Mr. Senti has made absolute wonders to the school. I give it 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

I haven't been to this school, but as for as I know, a lot of smart kids came from Craig, and they all enjoyed it there.


Posted August 12, 2013

Craig Elementary has been a wonderful experience for our daughter since Kindergarten through now as she progresses into Middle School. The current Principal, Mr. Bill Senti, has transitioned fabulously into this position and I have yet to meet a student or parent that doesn't like and respect him. Filling the shoes of his predecessors admirably and giving a renewed sense of pride to the school community. The teachers and staff at Craig genuinely care about the children entrusted to them and take great strides to educate them both academically and socially. I don't believe you can go wrong in considering Craig Elementary if you are moving to the area. GO OWLS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2013

This is our first year at this school (oldest in kindergarten) and I understand there were staff/leadership issues previously. The current principal seems very focused on the kids learning, both from an academic and character standpoint. Our daughter's teacher is experienced, and our child is progressing in reading and math. I'm sure things can continue to be improved upon, but I have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

I have been in this district since 2002 and have add all my children in this school. i love the people in our area, good down to earth people who do care for their children and what they learn at school. unfortunately though, the school has gone through some staff change, and i can't say that it has been 100% positive. we have a lot of apartment surrounding this area, which people come and go quite quickly, and yes there is a huge language barrier. some of these children in school have no very little to no english spoken in the homes,which makes it difficult for staff and families to communicate. i think the diversity holds this school back, some say its wonderful, but i disagree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

This is a great school. The leadership is top-notch, the teachers are great, the atmosphere is wonderful. There are no discipline problems at all. THe school is incredibly diverse---one of the most diverse schools you will ever see. But yet the principals and teachers celebrate that diversity and it is one of the best aspects of the school, where sometimes it is a problem. Here it is not -- it will be a great learning experience for your child. GO TO THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

I wasn't overly impressed with this school. When we moved to the area everyone raved about this great little school, but I found it to be just OK.I felt teacher communication was poor in my experience,and the work was behind. The school touts it's cultural diversity, which is fine, but unfortunately it can be a drawback in the classroom as far as language skills. I felt my daughter had to be held back too much to wait for those that were ESL students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2005

This is a great school with teachers who genuinely care for the students and the principal knows every child in her school. To me that is amazing. I would say that when my child attended there a few years ago, earlier in the school year we had some problems with medication but after meeting with the teacher and the excellent principal, we didn't have the problem again as it was nipped in the bud. I recommend this elementary school to any parent hoping to gain the best for your little ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2004

My son, aaron is a 5th grader at craig. He loves it. His teacher is mrs. Holder and she is one of the best teachers i have ever seen. She has taken her time with aaron. And she has also helped with getting him into special school district classes to help him with his add. Aaron was in a city school before this school and they didn't do anything to help him with his learning. I thank god each day that we came to this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 42% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 46% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 48% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students64%
Black29%
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White77%
Free or reduced-price lunch50%
Students with disabilities36%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students60%
Black36%
Asian/Pacific Islander64%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White66%
Free or reduced-price lunch43%
Students with disabilities50%
Limited English proficient students36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students53%
Black19%
Asian/Pacific Islander58%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilities20%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students44%
Black0%
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White58%
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilities20%
Limited English proficient students46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students56%
Black40%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunch26%
Students with disabilities39%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students56%
Black24%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunch35%
Students with disabilities33%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students50%
Black19%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunch22%
Students with disabilities28%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 74%
Black 26% 17%
Hispanic 12% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 2%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Nicole Evans
Fax number
  • (314) 415-6212

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1492 Craig Rd
St. Louis, MO 63146
Phone: (314) 415-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St Richard School
St. Louis, MO


Andrews Academy
St. Louis, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT