Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverview Gardens Sr. High School

Public | 9-12 | 1373 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

School is unaccredited, nobody wants to buy a home in the area, property values are down, taxes are down, revenue is down, school funding is down. Vicious circle. Clean up your act, RG!


Posted December 5, 2012

Rating only the band program. I am a professional musician working with Riverview's high school band. The newer band director is EXCELLENT and is working overtime to grow the program. A new study shows that students in band do better in all other subjects. (See NAfME.com for this study) Mr. Lockhart's dedication is already making a difference. The music students are respectful and eager to learn!


Posted September 21, 2012

Most of the posters here need to learn to spell and use acceptable grammar. I'm a 1960 grad of RGHS


Posted September 20, 2012

My friend and i are currently attending Riverview Gardens High school, we are both sophmores, and we (STRONGLY DISAGREE) with what other parents, teachers, and former students are saying about our school. We are working extremely hard to get our creditedition back. Every school has fights and problems, so dont try and down grade our school, because like other school, we also have very intelligent students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2012

I graduated from Riverview in 1968, graduated from UMSL four years later and am amazed at the drastic deterioration of my old high school. I have tracked the reputation of this school in the time since I left as I now live out of state. It is unbelievable. What did you people do to that school??? It is pathetic !


Posted May 9, 2012

Unfortunatlly I don't have a lot of good things to say my daughter has been a student at the high school for three years and to be treated badly and she has been an honor roll student, on the Pom Pom team and has ran for home coming court for princess, so she not a bad student at all but to know that Ms. Bland suspended her and know that the other student confessed that it was her fault, but she decided to do nothing because she doesn't care for my child! but I will do what it takes to make sure our cries are heard so believe me their will be justice by our system in this matter! God Bless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2012

It appears as taxpayers in the Riverview Gardens school district we are not getting our money's worth.


Posted August 3, 2009

When my son was going to riverview high he had so many fight's i had to tranferred him to another school i don't ike the district
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

I am a parent and my child transferred from Illinois to Missouri, we had a choice between Riverview and Hazelwood, and based up on other reviews I chose Riverview. This was an excellent choice for my child, he is excelling, the freshman principal is awesome and I love the changes that have taken place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

I use to attend Riverview Gardens High School my freshman and sophmore year.I now attend McCluer North High School.But when I was there the school was basically just outta control.I thought that school was a place of learning not a play to come and hangout.And thats what the kids coem to that school and do.And some of the teachers don't care.Because,they paycheck is still gonna be the same at the end of the day.I think that it really should be tooken over by the state.Because the people who have been running it.Ain't improving it.And if there is no accredidation whats the point of even coming to school becaus eyour diploma dosen't mean that much.Colleges look at if u came to an accreditted school or not.And if u didn't..You're chances of being exceptd versus a child who did go to an accredited school.You won't get pick..So thats something that should be considered.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2009

This school basically needs to be taken over by the state because the people running it now absolutely cannot handle it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2009

As a senior at Riverview Gardens High School, I can honestly say that I love the school as a whole. My school is a character builder. I was always taught to make the best of any situation.That's why I take rigorous classes and participate in numerous extra-curricular activities. My School has problems,every school does, but we are persevering.We have a caring and authoritative principal.She leads the school to the best of her ability. She wants nothing more than to see all of her students excel. Our school district has many problems, but there isn't a doubt in my mind that we won't overcome them! This is the reason why I rate my school a 4 out of 5- not a 5 because 5 means perfect and no school is perfect!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

They have hired some excellent new teachers, but as with any school, you still have some old teachers who are there munipulating the system. I don't believe the hiring practices are without bias. I would encourage the parents to get involved more. Discipline needs to be more consistent and administered with no prejudicial or biased intervention. The staff needs to dress more professional and conduct themselves likewise. Overall, if the community, parents, students, and teachers don't work together, they are going to fail.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 7, 2008

They have great teacher who are dedicated to helping the students around the school. There are many parents that are invovled in this school district. The saftey there is alright it is not like they have shootings up at the school. Yes are extracurricular activites are awesome because the majority of the school is invovled in some before or after school program from NJROTC to cheerleading. If you are at Riverview Gardens High School you are at least doing something. The principal at the school is enforcing some good rules and helping the school improve even more to reach new heights. So yes Riverview Gardens High School might have been in the press about negative things but there are good attributes that come along with the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2007

I think that riverview is a great school I graduated from riverview may 17, 2007 the teachers are wonderful bringing in new staff I don't think that it will not change anything about the students that are there. So all that I have to say is teachers keep doing a good job shout out to Mr. Bright my math teacher, Mr. Smith my advocate and 9th grade civic teacher he was alwasy there for me and Ms. Dickens my cooking teacher.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2006

I am not a parent, I was a student and graduated in 2005/2006 school year. I think this school isn't as bad as people think because there are actually some teachers and students who are actually there to learned. And even though the school is put down by there academics status you can graduate with a high GPA if you really try and want to do good. Because trust me I graduated my senior year with a 4.0 GPA.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 22, 2005

What you put or don't put into a instution is what you get back. My daughter grad. with honors/attends SIUE's Biology program. Teachers were always supportive. Principal always attentive to my needs. My son plays on the Basketball team for past 3 years and I wouldn't leave for no other team. RGHS coaches are concerned for you as a athletic but first as a student. Classes are available if you want a challenge. Teachers are equipped with educational backgrounds to provide your child with what he needs. Unfortunatly, we have to have a strict attendance and behavioral policy but the good students are never punished and get their rewards in many ways around the school everyday. I will miss our principal Mr. U. However, Mrs. Montgomery will do an excellent job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

I really hate Riverview with a passion. I think no one really cares for the school. 1/4 of the seniors are graduting. I'm not even supposed to be in the district. But since Riverview took over 2 streets in my area. I was forced to attend. I had a 3.785 G.P.A and since I've been at Riverview it has dropped. Riverview is the worst school for anyone to attend. And I Hate It! No one can really be successful at that school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2005

I am a freshman at Riverview Gardens High School. I think that it's a great place for kids to learn and have fun doing so. People look at our school as a failing school but really it's no diffrent from other schools. There are teachers at my school who care for the students and take time out to work with them. There really isn't any school that's perfect. Overall Riverview Gardens is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 25, 2004

Riverview Gardens is the prime example of the declining african american youth. The class rooms are over crowded and there is not an appropriate amount of space for the students. Also some of the teachers have no love to teach some of the students. They are giving up on the students who need them the most by putting them out of class and suspending them. this is an opinion of a freshman attending this school in 2004-05.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
7%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 67% in 2014.

198 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
11%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 75% in 2014.

182 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
33%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 62% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
13%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 48% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students4%
Black4%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch3%
Students with disabilities0%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Biology

All Students15%
Black15%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch14%
Students with disabilities4%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students24%
Black24%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch25%
Students with disabilities10%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students39%
Black39%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch37%
Students with disabilities10%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Government

All Students11%
Black11%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch14%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students12%
Black11%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch12%
Students with disabilities8%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 17%
White 1% 74%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Yolander Pittman
Fax number
  • (314) 388-6020

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1218 Shepley
St. Louis, MO 63137
Phone: (314) 869-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Bissell Hall
St. Louis, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT