Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mason Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 404 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2014

My son and I love this school!! He has been there since preschool in special education. He received occupational therapy and speech therapy. We were always informed of his progress. And he always met his goals. All of his teachers were always hands on and truly cared. He will be entering First grade and will no longer need special education. Thanks to his wonderful teachers! He has never had any issues with bullies, thankfully. I agree parking could be better though. The school understands that we don't live in a society where they can keep the doors unlocked. So I don't mind waiting for a staff member to let us in. They do what's best for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2014

Please dont try to find some where to park and have to go in and pick up your child. I had to park on the carwash parking lot. Then you have to wait by the door and wait for someone to walk by for you to get your child really bad in the winter time. So pretty much teacher are no where to be found didnt know it would be this hard to pick my kid up in the evenings or drop her off
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

it seems like this school is even worse than a few weeks ago.being bullied. and nothing is being done about it. from kids in his class and higher grade levels. a group of older kids (6th graders) crowded around him and one of them punched him in the back of the head. so nobody is getting i trouble for it since my son doesn't know who hit him. not a bit of communication is going on. before my child went here he was in the gifted classes at his old school. and he loved to read. strait a's .now he is not bringing his homework home, would rather stare at the wall than pick up a book, and it seems like he is being singled out. he is also getting write ups. which never happended before. i would rather home school my son than send him here. i really hate this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

My son has been in the preschool program for two years. The teachers are very caring and easy to talk to. He knows his alphabet, how to count to 100, do simple math, work in teams, read and write some sentences, and explained "metamorphosis" to me! He is very well prepared for Kindergarten. Parents are friendly and welcomed helping with events and in the classrooms, a recent trivia night had more than 200 people. The school is in a great neighborhood, and has a community garden, but the outdoor play area could be improved - basically a parking lot with a small playground. The school is fully accredited and is an "autonomous" school meaning that it fits in the highest performing SLPS category. Diversity at this school is exceptional. Agree that the nurse is not friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

I have two children currently attending Mason school. My son in second grade has been there since pre-K and my daughter in Kindergarten since pre-K. The school has come a long way since we started there. The teachers are wonderful and they treat the kids with such love it's as if they are family. The kids have gotten to go on many wonderful field trips, participate in choirs at Powell Symphony Hall, and belong to an awesome after care program that is 100% free. I give the school 5 stars!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

My son, who is in special education, attends Mason. I am extremely impressed with the teachers and administration in response to all of his needs. I often have daily contact with his teacher on his progress so we can work hand in hand with his educational goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL! After months of searching for a good school for my child, I found Mason. The teachers and staff are wonderful. Very involved in each child, which is good because I am very involved with my childs education, and the teachers have a wonderful open door policy. My child loves this school and has quickly made new friends, so its easier for my child to focus more on schoolwork. Very safe neighborhood too. GREAT SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2012

Unfortunately I cannot give this school a good rating. My daughter has been bullied relentlessly and the staff has ignored our cries for help. I even went all the way to the superintendent and was ignored. Her teacher is great, and even acknowledged how bad the bullying was, but the staff still does nothing. The staff threatens the children that misbehave and tell them they will send them back to kindergarten. They get in their face, yell, etc. There is a reason this school has a rating of 3 out of 10. Parent involvement is almost a ZERO. The staff that does try to help, well, their hands are tied because the vice principal and principal turn their heads. It's a sad situation all around and I really hope Mason gets their act together soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

My son attends Mason, and is in special education. Hes now in third grade and has been a student sense kindergarden. His teachers have been wonderful! They work very close with him and he has met goals in is IEP. Not to mention the principal is very involved in all of her students education. I would recommend Mason to anybody with school aged children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

I have the highest faith in both teachers of my twin boy's.My hat is off to them,as the boy's are like day vrs night,I thought I was the only one who could ever figure them out,but both teachers seem to have a firm under standing of both children already this year / the same as last years review from Mrs Casey all the way to principal Leto.I feel that mason provides a VERY STRONG learning and disciplinary environment for my children,and they love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2012

Im really not sure about this school. My son is in kintergarden and he is doing AWESOME!!! BUT I have a 6th grader also at mason elementary and right now we are having issues. Bullying is not an option or accepted anywhere and Im trying to figure out why there is nothing being done about it. My child ha s been attending mason for only a couple months in which I have already been to the school twice to discuss this and has been dealing with the same child that has been bullying mine since she walked through the doors.That same child threatend AGAIN my child most recently, it also happend on a field trip. Keep in mind they said and sent home a form for a partent to sign, that if ANY child acted disrupitive in any way, that they would be suspended and removed from the 6th grade lock in. Now I stand on the fact that making threats to another child in ANY way is grounds for action. Especially since this has been a continuous situation. I will see how we will handle this situation, and keep an update....until then.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

All my children have attended Mason E-Mints and they have all loved it, they have all been successful here at Mason as well I would definatly refer others to the school for many reasons..Diversity, great teachers,beautiful enviroment and neighborhood...great principal..overall great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

My child gets singled out here on a regular basis. They act as if they are trying to help, yet he gets suspended over nothing regularly. I see other students doing the same stuff, yet they do not get in trouble. Do not send your child here if he/she has any type IEP prior to enrolling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

My daughter started Mason last year for kindergarten. We had a few issues last year w/ suspension over silly things but I think they were just trying to make a point which is a good thing. This year in 1st grade she is doing amazing. I love the teachers, the principal and just the staff period. They work extra hard with parents to figure out what works best with our families and thats very important to me. I appreciate the cultural diversity and what my daughter has learned about other cultures. A huge thing I would like to add is that even though there are who knows how many other cutures in this school, they still recite the Pledge of Allegiance every morning together in the gym, whereas lots of schools no longer do. This is probably one of the most cultural diverse schools in Missouri, it's amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

my son went there last year and I absolutely hate this school! He was in kindergarten and broke his nose, nobody thought it was important enough to call me or send a note home. He got off the bus and I knew right away it was broken. He was also lost at school the 3rd day, never got off the bus and nobody could find him at first. My older son got in trouble for bringing a comb to school that looked like a switch blade, it was old and plastic. I understand he shouldnt have brought it, but I didnt think anything of it. He has never been in trouble before. Once again, no phone call or note. He came home crying because his 3rd grade teacher called him a liar and made him write 3 paragraphs apologizing for it. I would NEVER send them back to that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

my son has been attending Mason since his first day in kindergarten and he's had a good run there. They have excellent teachers, and are doing their best with the limits that are placed on them by the present school system's issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

I have four children attending this school. I love the teachers and the principal. I feel this school cares that my children succeed in their education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

This my children s first time attending Mason elementary. So far I think it is a good school, but then again it is only the beginning of the year. I will however at the end of the year give another statement of how or what I feel about this school. My personal opinion honestly is that everything in life is a great experience we learn more and more each time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

My children attend Mason and I am somewhat pleased with the school. I feel that disruption is their biggest downfall. There are some many disruptions in the classrooms, that the children never really get full attention from the teacher with respect to learning. The school provides standard arts, music, and gym. They offer no other extracurricular activities. Many times they have 10 minutes for recess per day due to behavior in the classrooms. My children are very happy there and I feel at ease with the teachers at Mason. The teachers are very open to talk to the parents when needed, or not needed. I think if the disruptions were not in the classrooms this school would excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 52% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students34%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students38%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students33%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students64%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students36%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students36%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students36%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students41%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 74%
Black 37% 17%
Hispanic 10% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6031 Southwest Ave
St. Louis, MO 63139
Phone: (314) 645-1201

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Aloysius Gonzaga
St. Louis, MO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT