Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
St. Louis, MO
Students enrolled: 879
 

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Roosevelt High School 5

Posted June 14, 2010
- a community member
I attended RHS 1962-1965, and received an ecvellent education. Back then there were ove 5,000 students in the school! BABY BOOMERS! iT ISa shame it has gone downhill with undeachievers, drop=outs, numerous fights and unruly behaviour! Terrty Klasek

Roosevelt High School
no rating

Posted December 29, 2009
- a community member
After spending a semester at Roosevelt, I can see why some of these comments have been made. It is true that there are a lot of rules, but they are there to keep the students safe. Gang violence is par for the course in St. Louis, and the schools are no exception. The principle is an incredible educator who is doing his best to keep his students safe. When things start to clear up and students can follow simple directions (such as no hoodies in the classroom), there may be some relaxation on the rules. As for the post concerning style and shoes, this is typical of any high school. Adolescents are like that; they try to make groups and leave others out. If groups were not made according to style and shoes, they would be made due to other things.


Roosevelt High School 5

Posted July 23, 2008
- a student
i went to the school and i love that school so much the teacher care everybody care and i would go back if i had too

Roosevelt High School 1

Posted December 03, 2007
- a student
While I have come across teachers and councelors who actually care about the students, they are far out-numbered by the ones who don't. Unreasonable rules have been put into place making it feel more like you at a correctional faciltiy and not at school.

Roosevelt High School 1

Posted November 28, 2007
- a community member
This school tends to use to much disipline. It's not a good school, and I don't recommend it to anyone.


Roosevelt High School 1

Posted February 21, 2006
- a student
Well I was a student a Roosevelt 9th grade center and attended big Roosevelt during R.O.T.C days and or sports and sometimes I was scared to go to school it's all about style and shoes at school and when you report to the teachers they really don't do anything so to resolve the conflicts I just moved out of state that's how serious it was! -Angela

Roosevelt High School 4

Posted November 07, 2005
- a student
Well, I graduated from Roosevelt in 2004. Its a very nice school compared to other public schools that are falling appart inside and out. Teachers are great because they care about the students like they were their own kids. Yes there are sports and afterschool activities but most students dont take advantage of the things that are available. Very good math teachers, and not to ferget that we won the academic olympics in 2003. Of course there are improvements needed especially in the salaries of teachers. Even though they are not paid enough they are still there doing there best with the equipment they have, they need more involvement of the community and businesses around the school. It can be improved with efforts of people working together. If I could go back for another 4 years I would just to play soccer and football.

Roosevelt High School 4

Posted June 24, 2005
- a student
I graduated Roosevelt in 2003. I have not done any science expierence, but that doesn't make the Science department bad. P.E. is all on the student. I have seen fight/riots throughtout the entire school year, but so what, it's a bad neighborhood. There are several good teachers, some teachers need to go back to school, but other than that, most of the teachers know what they are doing. All teachers give out homework.


Roosevelt High School 1

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
My daughter is in 9th grade at Roosevelt. After a full semester in Science, her class has yet to do one Science experiment. Often times in P.E., her class simply sits to fill the time. She reports roaches, rats.mice, almost daily fights. Tough/violent environment. Twice mob-like activity outside school grounds/neighboring area to extent that even a city bus driver, out of fear, passed up the students waiting to get on the bus. A couple good teachers, many mediocre teachers, a few very poor teachers (some not fully certitied). She rarely has homework. The bar is lowered.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roosevelt High School
3230 Hartford St, St. Louis, MO  63118
(314) 776-6040
Last modified Roosevelt High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roosevelt High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top