Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shaw Visual/Perf. Arts Center 1

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
I regret enrolling my child in this school. Too many of the teachers and staff are rude as can be and have no business working with children. We are looking for a new school. It is shame that it is so difficult in the SLPS system to switch schools midway through the year after you realize your child is in a miserable environment. Run, don't walk away from this place.

Shaw Visual/Perf. Arts Center 1

Posted December 03, 2014
- a teacher
Shaw is a visual performing arts elementary school (K-5) in the St. Louis Public Schools district. The district has many areas that need improvement.


Shaw Visual/Perf. Arts Center 2

Posted June 28, 2009
- a parent
Teachers are Great! Love the the different experiences available with electives. Seems like the only acedemics they consider to be important are Math and English, the others seem to get pushed aside to add time for arts. Also, dont like that the kids are not really allowed to talk at lunch and if they do they miss recess. Parking is terrible and the pick-up/ drop-off is very frustrating because of all the traffic.

Shaw Visual/Perf. Arts Center 5

Posted September 28, 2007
- a parent
My God daughter is new to Shaw this year as a Kindegartener. I have to say during the first week I was a little apprehensive if I had made the right choice in education for her. Now a little over a month later, I feel Shaw is freat for her, and will grow her knowledge as well as her interest in Visual and Performing.

Shaw Visual/Perf. Arts Center 5

Posted September 25, 2007
- a student
I have attended Shaw for five years with excellent teachers and also fun and enjoyable Visual Preforming Arts.


Shaw Visual/Perf. Arts Center 4

Posted September 12, 2007
- a parent
We are new to Shaw and so far have been very impressed with the new Principal, and with the school in general. It is well-run, and the kids and faculty seem to be happy, hard-working, and creative. We are looking forward to great year!

Shaw Visual/Perf. Arts Center 5

Posted May 30, 2007
- a parent
The Ist grade teachers and the Principal have done a wonderful job working with us and our granddaughter to dimprove her performance in school. We couldn't ask for more from them.

Shaw Visual/Perf. Arts Center 4

Posted April 17, 2007
- a parent
The teachers are great, The principal however is another story. Overall I love the school & teachers they just need to get rid of Mrs. Leto.


Shaw Visual/Perf. Arts Center 5

Posted December 19, 2006
- a parent
I am very impressed by Shaw. The staff has all been extremely helpful in answering my questions and showing me around the school. I have gone into several classrooms and I can see from the layout of the rooms and the children's work on the walls that this is a school where learning is taking place and teachers are exercising their creativity with students to make learning fun.

Shaw Visual/Perf. Arts Center 5

Posted September 26, 2006
- a parent
Shaw is a great elementary school and I would recommend it to anyone looking for an ethnically balanced educational facility for their child to attend.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shaw Visual/Perf. Arts Center
5329 Columbia Ave, St. Louis, MO  63139
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (314) 776-5091
Last modified Shaw Visual/Perf. Arts Center is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top