Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dewey School-Internat'l Studies

Public | PK-6 | 461 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2013

We loved this school most of the time my daughter was here, but do know that the principal changed around 2009 and the new one is not the same one that got all the great comments in the earlier reviews. The prior principal was very nurturing and the new one is very rigid and strict. Just so you know going in. We didn't send my younger daughter there and the principal change was a main reason, but if you didn't know about the difference in environment between the two it might not bother you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2012

Dewey is an awesome school. i went here the last 5 years (since kg), and i will miss it. class of 2011!! it was odd though...things like littering, and youd get detention or something, but fights and scuffles and food fights nobody noticed anything. like they put the blinders on. still a good school though.


Posted April 27, 2010

Dewey is a great school. The teachers are top notch. The enrichment classes (languages, art, gym, gifted) are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

My experience at Dewey was good. The Principal is very in tune to each student and is always available to address concerns. Dewey has a gifted program that is outstanding. Very one on one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

This is a wonderful school. The teachers are great and really love to work with their students. The students and teachers also work very hard to make each holiday performance something to remember!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

I have 4 children attending Dewey ISS. We are thrilled with the education our children are getting. The school is full of dedicated teachers and staff...under the leadership of an amazing principal. There are many negative stereotypes surrounding the public schools...but they are full of families with dedicated parents that have many educational options available to them...and they choose the public schools. Great things are happening at Dewey!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2006

My daughter has attended Dewey since she was in the preschool program. My experience has always been a positive one as there a a real sense of community and friendship amongst the staff and parents. There are few public schools that offer such a full spectrum foreign language program. There is a real effort put forth by the staff to bring to its students an understanding of other cultures and languages. As I see it, a child's learning is a two-way street involving the efforts of both the parent and the teachers. The parent should expect as much of themselves (or more as parents) for their child's learning as they do the teaching staff. If both sides are upheld there should never be a problem. I feel many of the teachers have exceeded their expectations at Dewey by way of investing their own tangible and intangible resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2005

My son has attended Dewey since first grade and is now in the third grade. He is doing well in math and science, but is behind in reading and language skills. The prinicipal is very friendly and seems to sincerly care about the children's progress. Alot of the teachers there appear unfriendly, unorganized and lack good communication skills. Some of the teachers are of a high caliber and seem to care about the success of students regardless of their perceived limitations. I don't know if this review will help any parents considering the school, but my only advice is if you send your child here, make sure to monitor their progress and if you're unhappy with results or the teacher your child is stuck with communicate it to the principle. Remember, parents must also do their part and not rely solely on the school for your childs success. Good luck....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2005

My daughter briefly attended Dewey and to say I was disappointed is putting it mildly. The magnet system is being billed as the 'jewel' of the public school system and in my experience, I found it sadly lacking. Classes sizes where large, the building uncomfortably hot in the summer, and the curriculum a grade level behind. My child was removed from the school before she fell so far behind she wouldn't be able to catch up. Had she been in the school from the beginning it would have been satisfactory. As it stands, I had a higher standard of education to compare it to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

My son goes to Dewey and it is a very great school and I think it has been a good experience for him eduationally. The russian language has truly shown him that there are other languages you can learn besides your own culture.The times that I have been to his school were very good because I got to see how the teachers teach and how the students are willing to learn. Overall this is a great place to send your child everyday knowing they can learn and if they need resource it will be provided and my child is benefits from the programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

My daughter is a third grader at Dewey ISS. I am very pleased with Dewey because of its international mixed of teachers and students. Foreign languages at Dewey is fantantic. I have observed and listened to both students and teachers. My daughter has been on the principal's honor roll for three consecutive years. This due to the high-skilled and knowledgeable and personable staff at Dewey. The principal is friendly, professional and knows each child by name. I've been blessed that my daughter's 1st and 2nd grade teacher was the best teacher a parent could hope for. Dewey ISS is a great start for children and parents who are interested in RRR and foreign languages.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students29%
Black27%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students37%
Black31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students41%
Black35%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students41%
Black40%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students38%
Black25%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students42%
Black31%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students32%
Black18%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch26%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 68% 17%
White 18% 75%
Hispanic 11% 5%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jeanine Zitta
Fax number
  • (314) 645-5926

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

815 Ann Ave
St. Louis, MO 63104
Phone: (314) 645-4845

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Soulard School
St. Louis, MO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT