Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edgar Road Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

This is a really solid, sweet little school. I have a kid with some special needs and I have always felt this school is right there to support him. I also really respect the staff and the counselor's efforts to use positive behavior supports to encourage good citizenship and a very pro-active approach to bully prevention. The parent community is very involved,t he teachers and specialists well-supported. This is an ideal community school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

I went through all 6 years plus kinder garden at Edgar Road Elementary School, finishing in 1966. Though I eventually left Webster Groves, I still have fond memories of teachers and friends. As a child I hadn't a clue as to how lucky I was to have attended such a fine school. From what I've read, Edgar Road E is still a great place to educate your child. I hope this never changes.


Posted July 27, 2011

The district as a whole is a five, ers is a 4, only because of a few issues that we had with our child with special needs. That has to do with the special education staff, not the principal or regular education teachers. However, I would have liked to see the principal put a little more pressure on the spec. Ed folks. I've experienced 6th grade, too,which is a 10 for me, phenomenal staff. Middle school is pretty good too and again wghs s is great....so it is a choose our battles kind of school that is about community and family and hoping for bright futures for kids-they honestly want to see kids do well, with an emphasis on reading. Also, Webster groves is a great district for transients/ people with high public school education expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

While my sons have only be at Edgar Road for two years, I have really been blown away by this school district. It is a close family style school district. The principal, teachers, students, staff and parents really take care of each other. Sometimes I am overwhelmed with all the homework my sons have, but I wouldn't want it any other way. I know that this demonstrate that my children are learning, and the measures the teaches go to teach their students. The principal tells my children how we are all family, and we look after one another. The PTA does really great things, and make every effort to involve all parents, including their student resident parents. My only regret is that summer school is limited, and that I can not participate as much as I would like too. This is an amazing school, with great things to offer parents, teachers, staff, and its community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

I love Edgar Road School, because kids are #1! Parents are involved, not not too involved. It feels like home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

I have two children at this school and can't say enough about how wonderful the teachers, administration and parents are. There are many opportunities to get involved. One of my children are in the gifted program and has had a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

I would have to agree with the mom with a child with special needs. I have one child in this school with special needs and one child without. The child with special needs has been left by he wayside on more than one occasion and disappointed by promises made but not followed through on. My other child is goind wonderful and loves the school. I'm disappointed with the lack of fierce dedication to those children who don't fit in a nice, comfortable mold. Though there are wonderful teachers in the school, it comes down to leadership and right now the leadership is lacking in compassion and dedication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

My son attended Edgar Road from kindegarten through fifth. Almost all of the teachers are excellent, there is very good parental involvement, and the atmosphere is very friendly. However, if your child has any special needs, be VERY wary. While the school talked up a good game plan at my son's IEP's, they were extremely poor at follow-through. In addition, I know of at least three examples in the past couple of years where an IEP was flagrantly disregarded. I suspect that much of the problem lies with the principal and her refusal to allow any questioning of her authority. Complaints are often left unresolved and I got the distinct impression that, if you pushed for resolution, the student would be made to suffer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

After having my children at ERS for nine years and having two 'graduates', I can't say enough about the nuturing atmosphere and caring staff. This school is truly a gem. The parents are very involved and the teachers and staff are part of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2003

Great School to raise your kids in. Small enough so that every teacher knows all the kids and your children don't get lost in the shuffle.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students71%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students64%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students71%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students64%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students78%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students75%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students66%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 74%
Black 9% 17%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1131 Edgar Rd
St. Louis, MO 63119
Phone: (314) 963-6472

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Annunciation School
Webster Groves, MO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT