Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Margaret of Scotland School

Private | PK-8 | 293 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $105,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2013

I went to SMOS for 9 years, and it is a fabulous school. You will not find a better grade school in St. Louis. The academics are tough but help you develop study skills. The teachers are great, and the athletics are also solid. I was well ahead of the vast majority of my classmates in high school this year, and I attribute that to SMOS. It is a great school with great faculty, great kids, and is a wonderful community. Thank you SMOS for preparing me for a lifetime of success!


Posted July 28, 2011

We needed to find a school that would test our child for early entry. Our plan was to attend private school for K & 1st grade and then transfer into the public school. However, SMOS won us over and we're going to stay put. The school community is absolutely amazing! Teachers, parents, and staff are really a unified team to bring out the best in the students. Even the older students willingly take on an active role in nurturing the younger kids. If you're looking for a village to raise your child, this is definitely the place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

St. Margaret's is a jewel of a school! Not only are the academics challenging and the teachers compassionate, but the parent involvement is excellent. Everyone is welcoming and open-minded. The diversity and commitment to social issues is perfect, and sets a wonderful example for what a Catholic education should entail. The more we, as a family, learn about the school, other families, teachers, and community, the more happy we are about the decision that we made to send our children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

I went to this grade school from kindergarten to eighth grade. It was tough, but I got a lot of great experience for the stuff that I did in high school- especially the writing skills. I really enjoyed my years here; it's a great place to send your kids!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2004

I love St. Margaret of Scotland School. I am a single parent of three small children. However, we still fit in socially. My daughter received an oustanding education. At St. margaret the teachers communicate what the students are learning week by week to the parents. So I always knew what my daughter was being taught, this helped me to enforce by talking about the various subjects at home while I cook dinner. My daughter was always surprised that I knew what was going on in class. This also helped to improve home/school communication. St. Margaret is very economical compared to other private school of its calibar. They have foreign language, sports,band, scouts ,etc. all for elementary school kids. I am delighted I found out about St. Margaret of Scotland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

St. Margaret gave my three sons a terrific grade school education--a good strong basis for high school & college performance. This school has a caring atmosphere where children can learn to appreciate themselves as well as others. St. Margaret School strives to create an arena where diversity is cherished. I always felt that here, a parent's involvement and opinions were welcomed and encouraged. The curriculum is top-notch. I particularly like the Orbital Studies program, which allows students to complete a project and make a presentation in many fields. (this allows for the variety of strengths and interests to be investigated and displayed) Some foreign Language classes are available. The parish sponsors Scouting, and children are given the opportunity to play on sports teams. The school participates in History Day, and Bellarmine, as well as other activities. For our family, St. Margaret of Scotland Grade School was the right choice. I highly recommend this wonderful school, located in St. Louis's Historic Shaw Neighborhood. Call and visit! See for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 77%
Two or more races 11% N/A
Black 8% 17%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Louis
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3964 Castleman Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63110
Phone: (314) 776-7837

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






MSB Elementary School
St. Louis, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT