Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Louis University High School

Private | 9-12 | 1050 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $105,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

Jesuit school with caring and involved teachers. They help young boys become faithful, men for others. Wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

I have a son who attends NDHS - they have a really great tutoring program called ArchTutors! I'd really encourage parents to use it for additional supplementation - it's very customizable for your child: https://sites.google.com/site/archtutors/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

I started my experience with SLUH this year as a Freshman and thought I was prepared for high school. I was not even close to being prepared for the rigorous studying that came with being a SLUH student, but I would not change anything. What people have to understand about SLUH is that it is not just a school: SLUH is a community of young men that are taught to serve their fellow man from Freshman Orientation on, SLUH is a fraternity of brothers that is driven to see each other succeed, SLUH is a family in which we all share the joys and hardships of their fellow brothers, SLUH prepares us for anything we have in front of us in the future through rigorous academics and challenges of mind and spirit. The four or five hours of studying I do on a nightly basis, the constant papers I have to write, the daily tests is the exact reason my father and I wanted me to go here. If you are looking to come to SLUH please be prepared to embrace this, and please be prepared to experience the greatest of all experiences you will ever have in your life. -AMDG, Class of 2017
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2013

My son currently attends SLUH. As a person with three advanced degrees, I didn't learn to study until I was in law school. At SLUH, the students learn to study immediately. In addition, their learning encompasses learning about life and helping others. The students at the school are thus both academically challenged as well as being challenged to help each other and people in general. The young men at this school emerge successful in whatever field they chose for further study and they also further transform into the type of people that are in position to serve and lead in their communities. Of course, there is no "perfect" high school. Nonetheless, if there is a better high school than SLUH that prepares its students for success in life, I haven't seen it. Moreover, the school is very reasonably priced for the education that its students receive. From what I've seen, students are in a very good position to earn scholarships for advanced study. The athletic programs are also very good, and the students involved in sports are truly "student" athletes. From what I've seen, the school doesn't provide any special status to athletes-- they are first and foremost students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

This is an exceptional school which does a tremendous job with a rigorous academic curriculum - top notch, as well as rounding out the kids character as young men serving others. My son absolutely LOVES the school, its academics, commitment to excellence and with over 90 sports or other extra-curricular activities there is something for everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2013

St Louis University High: Large and unfriendly. Reasonably good academics. Socially very unwelcoming. Overpriced for what you receive. Would not choose again. There are smaller, academically better, more personal Catholic schools in St Louis if you want strong Catholic education, and they are only a couple thousand dollars a year more than SLUH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

You will not find another school in the area that challenges you the way St. Louis U. High does, either academically or socially. Working on homework and studying from 4pm until 10 or 11 is not uncommon, especially towards the end of the semester, but neither is regular participation in community service or helping other students succeed as well. As students, we don't just want to succeed, we want others to have chances to succeed as well. Take it from a current student, attending SLUH was the best decision of my life. You work harder here than you do in college, and your experiences make you a natural leader no matter what you do in life. I once heard someone say, "SLUH students are always willing to talk or give a speech," and I agree. We aren't arrogant, even if we might like to hear ourselves talk sometimes. Rather, we've studied in an environment that values our opinions, thoughts, and actions, one that fosters participation and requires confidence in yourself and abilities for success. The work may be tough, but it is absolutely worth it. You will come out of the school farther ahead than you would anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2010

I like this school very much because of the great and supporting teachers and also best principal. I am going to take admission in this school this year...
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2010

I was a graduate in '08 and I am now an engineering student. My experience at SLUH prepared me for the classroom experiences of college. SLUH gives more than that, however. Because of my time at SLUH, I am a leader in my fraternity, on campus, and I am one of very few sophomores that have an internship this Summer. SLUH is among the top three best decisions of my life and I am thankful for every minute I spent there. As an alumnus member, I intend to give back to SLUH everything that I have gotten from it. The culture of SLU High is one of excellence and it provides a place to find the man that is inside of every boy that walks the halls and learns in the classrooms of SLUH. -AMDG
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2009

One of the best all-around high schools in Missouri
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

SLUH is the best school in Missouri. The academic program is extremely challenging. Giving back is the history of the school and taught on a daily basis. Just cannot compare to any other schools in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2008

visit the campus and you can see why SLUH high is considered one of the best schools in St. Louis...not only is the campus state of the art...the teachers and staff are top notch...quality, loving and very polite students and parents...well worth the investment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

St. Louis University is an excellent high school. It provides great academic, athletic and extracurricular programs in addition to helping parents to instill good moral values. They continue the Jesuit tradition of 'service to others' and provides many volunteer opportunties. My son graduated last year and was well prepared for his university studies. The many diverse activities in which he participated, provided a treasure of memories and helped prepare him for his future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 77%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 3% 17%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • JSEA
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Louis
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4970 Oakland Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
Phone: (314) 531-0330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gateway High School
St. Louis, MO




Metro High School
St. Louis, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT