Advertisement
Advertisement

Our Lady of Guadalupe School

Private | PK-8 | 170 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $60,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2012

This is my family's first year at OLG and I have many great things to say!!!! I have a son in 1st grade and a daughter in Pre-K. My son has really opened up academically in class, such as reading fluently which has given him opportunities to read in mass. I was really excited when I learned that they were being introduced to fractions, the tools were hands on and unintimidating, and he is taking to understanding it pretty well. An applause to the 1st grade teacher who provides work in a an amount & at a pace that allows the children to become sufficient in what their learning.....its not overwhelming and they are able to master subject areas. Pre-k was a great learning experience socially for my daughter and her teacher has a wonderful rapport with the students. I think having a preschool class at the actual school will be an easy transition to Kindergarten for students next year. I would have preferred more academics on paper (handwriting, number recognition,etc.) I often had to invest in workbooks or create homework. The entire staff is loving & welcoming, this is surely a home away from home for my children. THX for a great first year and many more to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2010

I believe Our Lady of Gudalupe School prepares students with a solid foundation for success both academically as well as socially. Many graduating students are accepted by private high schools throughout the St. Louis area.Through the leadership of our principal, the environment is characterized by a standard for excellence and respect for all.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 11, 2010

Our son went to school at OLG grades 1-8. I wanted him to experience a diversified environment of students. The teachers were well qualified and caring. He will be getting his Bachelors this semester. Thank you OLG for all your positive influence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I went to this school K-8th. It is a great school. I made lots of friends and had a great edu. I loved 7th grade the best thanks to the best teachers ever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2008

I have two children in this school, one graduating this year; both began in kindergarten. Placing my children in a safe, friendly, caring environment is my first responsibility as a parent. I found that environment at OLG. My children are always monitored without realizing it. The staff goes above and beyond. The academics and versatility in arts, cultures and languages are priceless to prepare my children for the world around them. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

This school is ok. The teachers are well educated, but some of them don't focus on teaching us. They get completely of subject so that the students don't learn anything. The music classes aren't the best, it's always the same thing. In spanish you review the same thing over and over and the teacher excepts you to understand the whole language when she didn't teach you anything. But if you want your child to be in a friendly environment you should go to O.L.G.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 26, 2005

I went to this school for 5 years, it is a good school. If your looking to put your child in a school where they can go to learn and have fun this is it. The teachers and staff really care and will make sure you understand what they are teaching.And all the kids and parents are involved and nice. -chasity harris
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 69% 17%
White 13% 77%
Hispanic 12% 4%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Louis
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1115 S Florissant Rd
St. Louis, MO 63121
Phone: (314) 524-1948

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT