Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christian Brothers College High School

Private | 9-12 | 860 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $280,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 4, 2014

Amazing diverse school that offers so many opportunities for the students that attend. Would recommend to any boy in the St. Louis area.


Posted June 21, 2014

Compared to the other possible schools out there, this school does not offer the same kind of high academics as others do for the same price and instead primarily focuses on sports over anything else
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2013

CBC is a great school. While their athletics program is, indeed, a force, there are plenty of opportunities for boys who are not into sports. The theater program is top rate; there are competitive robotics teams; and many other ways for students to get invovled that have nothing to do with sports. The communities program and Cadet Cup competition quickly integrate incoming freshmen into the school. Three learning tracks ensure each student's academic needs are met, and the administration is very open to working with students as the individuals that they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

Let's cut all the p.r. CBC is a mediocre school at best. They push athletics above everything else. Many wonderful veteran faculty from the past have been pushed out (i.e. fired) so as to get rid of their salaries because the school has been in financial trouble. I was treated terribly there because i wasn't a jock and wasn't interested in being controlled every second of the school day. The dean of discipline was a man who screamed in your face and demeaned you. The religion curriculum has become more and more conservative as the years pass, with wonderful social justice oriented teachers getting the boot because they didn't want to kowtow to the reactionary forces in the Arch diocese. I wasn't prepared for college because I never had any freedom at CBC. A lot of my friends felt the same way. They went nuts the first semester because they had never been trusted before and didn't know how to handle things. If your kid is a middle of the road to struggling student, and needs a lot of discipline, CBC is the place for him.


Posted January 12, 2012

I have a freshman son, the youngest of our children and the first to attend CBC. Wonderful choice, great brotherhood, great classes and a very caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2010

I am a student at cbc. I was accepted this year. And it has been the greatest time of my life. I enjoy all my classes. And my teachers are great. I really look foward to the next three years of my life
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2009

I am the parent of a freshman, and the school has been great. The staff - including assistant principal - are very, very responsive. Teachers respond to e-mails quickly, and concerns and problems are taken seriously and addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

I have a son who is a freshman, and he is totally loving it!!! It is more like a 'family' than a school-don't get me wrong-academics are top priority, but the teachers and staff care about each and every boy at this school!!! Men for Tomorrow...Brothers for Life...that is their motto....I have nothing but praise for this wonderful institution my son is attending!! They want each boy to succeed at their own level. I could not have picked a more wonderful place for my son to go to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

I must agree with the gentleman above me. I had 2 sons graduate from CBC and my daughter is involved with their theater program there. The close knit community is like no other even among the other fine Catholic high schools in the area. My sons were both well prepared for college; one is studying for the LSATS and the other will graduate with a major in Criminal Justice and a minor in Sociology {he too may go to law school}.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

I am a graduate of CBC, and the school provided a great basis for my academic and professional endeavors following my enrollment there. Furthermore, there is a camaraderie between students at CBC unlike anything a person who did not go to CBC could even begin to fathom.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 74%
Black 14% 17%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (314) 985-6115

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Louis
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1850 De La Salle Drive
St. Louis, MO 63141
Website: Click here
Phone: (314) 985-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT