Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cathedral Basilica of St. Louis

Private | PK-8 | 135 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $210,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2012

The principal (former art teacher) lacked professionalism, discretion, displayed blatent favoritism,does not communicate well with parents, displayed overall poor leadership qualities with glaring inexperience. What a huge and unexpected disappointing experience. It is highly suggested Parents monitor their children closely and spend quality time inside the classroom to see what is really going on may be a good fit here. Do not allow the location, or previous reviews cloud judgement. Be Aware. due diligence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

Cathedral's principal is a model of educational excellence. She is a great communicator and professional in her approach to all educational areas of Cathedral School. My child is receiving a tremendous edcuation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

Our teachers and leadership are very professional. They have a great rapport with students and families. Great communication on a daily, weekly, etc basis
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

Cathedral provides excellent curriculum to a diverse student body. Great location and great leadership development among the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

My children attend Cathedral and overall, we've been quite happy with it. We are not Catholic (about half of the children there are not) but it does not seem to be an issue at all. I love the school's location, the small class sizes and individualized attention and the diverse and inclusive environment. The students seem very respectful of teachers and each other. I also appreciate the many cultural and other extracurricular opportunites presented -- dance classes, drama, chess, tennis, soccer and much more. This school, like many parochial schools is struggling financially, but I am seeing positive steps being taken by school leadership and dedicated parents and parisioners who are determined to strengthen and improve the school. It is exciting to see this kind of energy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

My child received better focus and more individualized attention in the public school with an IEP. He has learned so much more academically but he is missing the spiritual component of the parochial schools. These schools are not equipped nor or the teachers motivated to deal with special needs children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

I have been very happy with the school. The teachers really care about each child and the kids themselves seem to care about each other. The diversity is great, both racially and economicly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

I have been very pleased with this school. My son has grown in every way. The teachers listen and try to help each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 77%
Black 41% 17%
Hispanic 8% 4%
Asian 5% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Louis
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4430 Maryland Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108
Phone: (314) 531-3375

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




New City School
St. Louis, MO



Washington Montessori
St. Louis, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT