Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cor Jesu Academy

Private | 9-12 | 152 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $117,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2013

You will not find a school better than Cor Jesu Academy. As a graduated student, I wouldn't trade my four years there for anything. So many of my best memories happened in the halls of CJ. Not only did I make friendships that I know will last a lifetime, but I also established great relationships with teachers who I still keep in touch with. Cor Jesu is more than just a school. It really is a family. I feel so lucky to say that I loved everything about my high school experience. I woke up every morning looking forward to going to school. I don't think many people can say that. I was undoubtedly challenged to grow both academically and spiritually, and I am proud of who I am today because of it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2012

To the parent who wrote on 3/7. I went to CJA and I absolutely loved it. I was a multi-sport varsity athlete and honors student. I wasn't an "alumni kid" and I felt like I was treated the exact same as the girls who were. I don't see anything wrong with group work. In fact when she gets into college she is going to have a lot of group work, and even in the professional world you have to learn how to delegate work and how to get a long with others. I don't see how 50% of the girls being socially awkward has any affect on your daughter's experience. No matter what school you go to, there are going to be girls that are different than your daughter, that's part of life. I graduated 10 years ago and looking back those "socially awkward girls" are some of the most fun, interesting, successful people. As far as the uniform-All private schools have uniform rules. I was one of those students always pushing the envelope with what sweatshirt or undershirt I wore (sure I got detentions), but really that is why they give you choices of sweaters you CAN wear. It is just a foundation for rules. Their rules are a lot more lax now than 10 yrs ago too. LOVE CJ AND WOULDN'T CHANGE IT!


Posted March 13, 2012

I agree with the parent on 3/7/12. My daughter knew of the fight. It make me made these girls did not get suspended. My daughter is threatened with a detention for wearing a non uniform,Cor Jesu sweatshirt in her chilly room. She is a high honors student, ACT Score 35, varsity athletic, member of clubs & has many friends. We sent her there so she would be in a academically challenged environment. Alumni kids are catered to, girls are admitted without any consideration to the kind of heart they have or morals, 50% of the girls are socially awkward creating a frustating experences for the more rounded kids, administraion does nothing to teachers that are failing to teach, too many classroom assignments are to be done in a group and usually one person has to carry the weight of the group (very unfair since my daughter cares about her grades). They worry too much about school uniforms instead of having the girls confortable to learn. The plus side: Love the office staff, the tradition, the all girl environment, love that it teaches organization skills, love the school building, love the juke box in the cafe,. I wish the school did better screening of students and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

Cor Jesu is a wonderful, fun, challenging environment for students. I'm only a freshman, but since I've been there, I've never been happier! I feel challenged to learn and excited to take the opportunities given to me. The teachers and staff are wonderful, caring, generous, and challenging. The environment is comfortable and everyone is free to be themselves.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2006

While my daughter tested well on her Iowa entrance exams, we need CJA would challenge her academically. She is a very competitive, determined kid and while the school work certainly is difficult and the demands are 10x that of her private, Parish grade school, the rewards are already showing. Our daughter is more disciplined, organized and focused. She is surrounded by over-achieving kids who constantly push her competitive drive. While she is no where near the top of her class, she is reaching her own potential in many ways. While she did struggle as a freshman finding the right circle of friends, her sophomore year is much better already. Teachers are tough, but fair. Standards and expectations are Very high, not in verbal or written rules and regulations but by the self-determination and expectations of each student. This school has mastered the art of empowerment and giving girls self-confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

Cor Jesu is a great school! The girls grow both spiritually, academically, and physically. Being an all girls school allows the girls to focus on their school work, but still have time to have fun. They can be themself. The faculty and staff are wonderful and help the girls succeed in everything they do. There are many oppurtunities for the girls to be involved outside of school too. There is the Mexico mission trip and other service projects. They do numerous fundraisers to help charities around St. Louis and other countries as well. There is something for everyone at Cor Jesu. It is more of a family than a school. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2004

Our two daughters graduated from Cor Jesu Academy. Both were very successful in college due to the excellent academics at CJ. Cor Jesu was the perfect environment for our daughters. The community of Cor Jesu is better than family. God bless the faculty/staff/administration for guiding our daughters' education. Sharing the love of the heart of Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2004

CJA is a great school academically and spiritually. My daughter just graduated and we both feel confident she is ready to meet the challenge of college. Great school and home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Cor Jesu is one of the greatest schools in the world. My daughter has never felt more welcome, more at home, or happier in any school she's ever been in. Cor Jesu is more than just her school, it's her family. She is so happy there and has made so many friends. The academics are of highest quality, and there is always some one around to help.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 5%
Black 0% 17%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Louis
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10230 Gravois Road
St. Louis, MO 63123
Phone: (314) 842-1546

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Affton High School
St Louis, MO






Nerinx Hall High School
Webster Groves, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT