Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Elizabeth Academy

Private | 9-12 | 150 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $79,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

People ask what home is? SEA was it. The teachers were ready to teach and ready to help students with anything. They accommodated people with learning disabilities, or just needed a little extra time for a test or project. St. Elizabeth Academy was an amazing school. The neighborhood was contrary to what some people thought of it. This strong school lasted 130 years, and welcomed anyone, even the boys. Yes, the school needed improvement, but the school had no money to help improve because of the small total of 130 students at the beginning at the 2013 school year. Many students left to start a new school during the year. Most of the students received financial aid to help with tuition costs and a meal for lunch. The sweet nuns, whose home was taken from them after the closing, helped pay a small fraction of the real cost of 12,000$. With their help, the total was dropped to about 8,000$. It's sports program was not big like other schools, but the students had a great time. The sports were Softball, volleyball, basketball, soccer, and track. The music program thrived with excellence. With a concert band, string orchestra, full orchestra, and chorus. This is home.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2012

This is a fantastic school that is completely underrated by the private school community. It has excellent teachers who challenge each student to do her best. I recommend this school to any parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

A very caring and nuturing enviroment for young women. Class sizes are very small which provide substantial one on one time for each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I was impressed by its diverse social-economic and racial mix. Students make a contract with their teachers. They are allowed to be part of the process. I believe this involvement encourages academic achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

i am a student and in my opinion the school is the best its surrounded by believers who know that if we try we can accomplish all our dreams
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2009

My daughter is a 2009 senior. This was not her 'First Choice' school. It is a blessing how things work out! The principal, faculty and coaches are committed and dedicated to development and education. My daughter has always felt that her opinion matters, the faculty listens and respects her. This has allowed her the opportunity to excel as a leader, student and athlete. Numerous staff members have gone above and beyond the call of duty to be available, assist and encourage her to be the best she can be. Last year a new guidance counselor was hired. She is exceptional! Her knowledge, wisdom, professionalism and open door policy is a huge asset to SEA. The Director of Cirriculum what a gem! She truly cares about the students. She gives 110% to help a student. They live their Statement:'Developing the Successful Woman inside each Girl.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

I am a student at SEA and i would have to say that it is wonderful. i like it because the teacher work with you individually and they go the extra mile. Grades are not givin away they are earned. Being with all girls is not always easy but, after a while you get used to it. At school your expected to work very hard and the teachers make sure that you do so. overall i can say that i love this school and i am proud to be attending SEA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2008

My daughter, a new student this year, chose this school over several others because of the diversity and low student teacher ratio. She has friends from several different countries. The STARS academic system lets her excel. There is a new science lab and workout room, both with state of the art equipment. This school has a full (award winning) ORCHESTRA and jazz band (She wanted an orchestra experience.) My huband and I like the internet communication system called 'edline'. It lets us know every grade and assignment as they are registered, the e-mails from her instructors are great. The parent association is strong. This very historic school is located in the trendy Tower Grove East Community. 2 blocks from Tower Grove Park and not far far from the Missouri Botanical Gardens. I would encourage you to put this school on your school visit list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

i go to sea and i feel as though our school is not challenging enough to the people who actually want to be challenged. in some of my classes i don't even have to bring a book most of the time because we never do anything. in other classes we always do the same thing. for other girls, this might work but i am seriously considering a transfer to another school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2005

In the year we've spent at SEA, I find it to be a good school. My daughter has a learning disability that requires a few basic accomodations. She has been warmly welcomed; each teacher, the learning center director and the counselor have tried to understand and meet her accomodations. SEA is small which has its limitations when one considers all the technological buzzes and whistles avaiable for a price however, the size of the school makes it more flexible in meeting the needs of its sudents and in providing each of them with leadership, team sports and other opportunities. The Choir has improved tremendously in the last year, the orchestra and band are small but good as well. Parent involvement is what you make of it, lots of fund development opportunities. A new Principal is expected next year. Come join us in 'Developing the Sucessful Woman Inside Each Girl.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

I'm about to graduate and the administration still doesnt know my name. My principal just asked me the other day if i was dating my class mates boyfriend (she almost has the same color hair as me, completly understandable) Ironic, that in such a small school administration cant even tell us apart. Realisticaly, SEA is all about appearance. No matter how crappy we are on the inside, the most important thing is to look good on the outside! Oh, and our curriculum is far behind that of most other private schools. But its a wonderful school! And I have to say, I love my classmates!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2004

SEA has made a profound differenc in my daughters life. Not only have her grade improved but her self esteem has growen. She was in the St. Louis Public Magnet School System before going to SEA. The difference is like day and night. Here every teacher and staff member truly care about the students and their progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 74%
Black 33% 17%
Hispanic 8% 5%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Louis
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3401 Arsenal Street
St. Louis, MO 63118
Phone: (314) 771-5134

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Roosevelt High School
St. Louis, MO


Msb High School
St. Louis, MO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT