Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Joan Of Arc Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $102,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2011

What a terrific institution this is for all kids, Catholic and non-Catholic alike. The staff and student body couldn't be more welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2010

I applaud the teachers who must work under stressful conditions w/o air conditioning. The last not to have it. We were shocked to learn an exceptioinal and experienced teacher was let go because his salary became higher and the principal replaced him with a cheaper model. Don't know how the teachers do it-they have to spend so much time away from their own families attending extra events. Morale and results would improve if the focus was "What can I do to help make your life easier and so you can become a better teacher. Amazing job teachers with the little appreciation you recieve from administration and pastor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

We are thrilled with SJA. The teachers are great, a good mix of older experienced teachers and young newer teachers. They all do an excellent job! So many of the teachers are involved in extra activities with the students- speech, minnie vinnie's, and it seems like new activities are always being added to include all students. I think most people are helpful and nice, although I do believe you have to put yourself out there to meet people. However, work a fish fry and you have made yourself at least a few new friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

The teachers are excellent. However, the parent's are not nice people at all. If all you are interested in is sending your child to school, then it's fine. If you are interested in getting involved in activities, volunteering, or even attending Church, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

We love SJA. The school has outstanding leadership from the pastor and the principal. We have found the teachers to be dedicated professionals who are part of a spiritual community that is second to none. We would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

Saint Joan of Arc is a very good scholl. They work hard to maintain a good student to teacher ratio. The school and it's students are well supported by the PTO, Athletic Association and many other orginizations within the Parish. Education and faith grow together in a well balanced environment. If you are thinking of Catholic education, Saint Joan of Arc should be toured during your research.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

We love St. Joan of Arc school! I will be honest that originally, we just started our first child here with the idea that we would move to the county, BUT we were blown away with how our daughter blossomed and loved school and loved church. It has been the same for our son. Our daughter needed some extra help with reading early on and they have a Title teacher who pulls the students out to give them extra help. They also have a learning consultant for kids with special needs. It is so easy to get involved in the activities because the kids are so excited about them anyway and that way you are helping the school and spending time with your kids. There is also the bonus of meeting new people and making strong friendships that last beyond grade school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

I do not even want to give it 1 star. Horrible school, horrible parish/church. Take a tour, self explanitory
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

SJA is where my two children are currently enrolled I could go on and on about what I love but here are the highlights. Faculety and staff are engaged in the education process a genunine concern for the well rounded development of these children is part of the fabric of the entire staff. Much different from other children that I know who attend public schools. Along with a great education, 'Catholic' is alive and proudly present in all areas of my childrens education. The school really is a small town in a big city. The parents are always saying how lucky that we are in this place at this time. Organzations allow parents and the parish to have a real impact on the quality the education provided. Commuincation between parents, faculity and the Pastor is good considering the size of the parish. Problems are readily addressed as a result.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

My daughters attended this school and received an excellent education. We were very pleased how they worked with gifted children as well as those less able. The school has several programs to address the needs of students with learning disabilities.


Posted September 23, 2009

It is a very good school, slightly higher standards than the public schools, however fewer resources to deal with special needs. It is a very good school with a great deal of family involvement if desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I have children at St. Joan of Arc. I can honestly not recommend this school to anyone. I am not sure what we pay for, except for the kids to go to church. I can do that on my own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

I am very happy with St. Joan of Arc School. My children have always look forward to going there each school day. The teachers challenge the children and are very supportive. 80% of the classrooms use electronic Smartboards and have a student computer lab. I am very happy with the teachers. The classes have a higher percentage of teachers to students. It is clean and neat. It is an older facility but has been well kept and they are looking to make improvements. Monsignor Mike and staff are doing a wonderful job. Keep up the good work. Our family will be there thru the next five years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

We took a tour of this school this past winter, as we are in the parish and were excited to start our child's catholic education. We were so disappointed! The building is a wreck. We observed roaches in the cafeteria, and the students are jammed into tiny classrooms with no A/C. This is no more than a public school with tuition. We will be sending our child elsewhere. Very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

We have been at SJA for many years now, & feel our children are nurtured in an above-average environment, both educationally & spiritually - for the most part. Your school is what you make of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2007

All 3 of my children have or are attending here. I admire the teachers as many have become role models and given up free time to work on special projects, clubs, and math competitions. I don't know how they manage without air conditioning, but the quality of instruction and the level of excellence they instill in the students is a valuable asset. This is a great school offering a quality education, especially in math. Students are proud of their school. I was disappointed that the principal let go a well loved and experienced teacher. We need to treasure teachers like him, not tell him to move on. So Kudos to the teachers and not as good on the administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

St. Joan of Arc is a great combination of academic and spiritual enrichment. There are many opportunities for extra curricular activities such as sports, band, choir, and speech. There is also a great sense of community outreach - within the parish, the surrounding community, and sister parishes in other countries. Parents are very involved at many school activities and organized groups.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2007

St. Joan of Arc is a loving community focused on maintaining quality education for its children. We have had children in this school for 18 years with our youngest child in sixth grade. Overall we believe our children have received an excellent education. Like any school, there have been areas that needed attention, but issues have always been addressed by the administration and teachers with respect and concern. Our children are loved and nurtured, and are free to practice their faith. We, as parents, have been able to support our school and parish through participation in PTO, athletics and numerous parish functions. St. Joan of Arc is a great place to be! We feel blessed to be part of this school and parish community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2007

This is a great community oriented school and good students will do okay here, although they will not be challenged. Average students might struggle as many teachers don't seem very motivated or engaged with their students. Organization and good work habits are not properly emphasized and ingrained. Some textbooks are sub par. The English textbooks are not age appropriate or conducive to learning and kids do not develop appropriate English and writing skills. The principal is very good with administrative and discipline details; but does not appear knowledgable regarding curriculum and cognitive/learning skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Hispanic 4% 5%
Black 3% 17%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Louis
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5821 Pernod Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63139
Website: Click here
Phone: (314) 752-4171

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT