Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Central Christian School

Private | PK-6 | 289 students

CCS is best known for our diversity, technology, and integrated curriculum.
 
 

 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $475,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

I'm so grateful Central married a Christian worldview with superior academics. I know my kids are getting well-prepared for secondary school and becoming critical thinkers. I'm so sad our oldest child is graduating this year - there's truly no other school in St Louis like Central. It's commitment to diversity is one of the things that drew our family there - we want our Caucasian son and daughter to love others, to not stereotype, to see things from another's perspective. I believe Central is maturing them in that way. The school not only HAS diversity, but it is truly seeking to STEWARD that diversity well. I wish I could have gone to Central Christian School as a little girl.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Amazing community to be part of. Open conversations between teachers and parents working together to teach covenant children. All of this and teaching with the best curriculum taught from a Biblical Worldview.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 14, 2014

Central Christian School is an awesome school. My son and daughter love going to school everyday. I have a background in teaching and I know that every school has parents who say there is too much or not enough homework. To balance that for my children I have other lessons at home. Just because I pay tuition doesn't mean I am going to completely depend on any school to educate my children. As a parent I feel a responsibility to challenge my children too. CCS teachers offer a lot of internet resources that enhances my children learning. The teachers and staff at CCS are wonderful and helpful. Too bad it doesn't go to eighth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

My school is AMAZING. It is academically rigorous, yet loving and Christ centered. It is diverse, but unified.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 10, 2014

Our family has been a part of Central Christian School for several years. Both of my children graduated already with an excellent academic education. We love CCS.


Posted April 9, 2014

Central Christian is a great school! It is top notch academically! It is a great community school, balanced, diverse, challenging, fun, and engaging. Our children will be well equipped for their next level of education as well be able to navigate successfully in our culture. Central Christian School is five stars plus!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Our family has been at Central for 7 years. Our three very different children are educated by passionate, Christ-centered educators every day who care deeply for them personally and about how they will impact the world for Christ. Central is also committed to rigorous academics. My children are challenged to stretch themselves, and I know they are well prepared for middle school and beyond. Central is much more than a school. It's family, and I can't imagine our family anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

CCS is a phenomenal place where caring, creative, committed staff assist students from a wide range of demograhpics in developing as whole people. Quality all the way around.


Posted April 7, 2014

Central Christian School is a wonderful school, where they are teaching and living real Christ like values. They have a strong academic program and I love that they are so art oriented. The childrens' art work is wonderful.


Posted April 7, 2014

We have all three of our children at this school. They all have very different learning styles ranging from sensory issues to dyslexia to gifted. CCS has been a great fit for all of them. The curriculum is all centered around the gospel with no sacrifice to rigorous academics. On top of that it has become our community. I have always found the faculty and staff to be loving and welcoming and the parents are very connected and involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

My 4 children have attended CCS beginning in 1998. My youngest graduated in 2013. It has been a wonderful school for my children and a wonderful community to be a part of as a teacher.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

We have been at CCS for four years, and I could not imagine having my children anywhere else. They are truly seen as individuals, and their needs have been met above and beyond my expectations. The academic curriculum is top notch, but my children's social, emotional, and spiritual growth is also a priority. They getting a solid foundation for middle school, high school, and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Our daughters are thriving at CCS. They are certainly growing academically, but I am especially thrilled with their spiritual, emotional, and social growth. We are so thankful they are learning in an environment where they are known, challenged, encouraged, and prayed over. CCS has fantastic teachers and staff, a supportive community of parents, and a relatively diverse population. The only thing I feel like my kids are not getting is an exposure to those in all SES classes, but the positives at the school make that a concession I'm willing to make at this point in their lives, and look for other ways to expose them to the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

I never thought that I would keep my children in a private setting after junior kindergarten. But, how could we leave this school when it fulfills every one of my boys' needs? Both of my boys, now part of the elementary program, beg to go to school every day. They come home passionate about learning, eager to share the events of the day. Having taught in two nationally recognized public school districts, I can say with confidence that my boys are getting the academic building blocks that they need for life long success. Not only that, but they are getting the spiritual and social guidance that is necessary to fully prepare them for the world. I am grateful for CCS - so grateful that my family is changing course and planning to keep both of our boys at CCS through 6th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

A true community of people who are passionate about Jesus and excellent education. I have worked in several high quality schools (public and private), but I've seen nothing like the commitment to excellence in this school. Full of quality instructional strategies that are the best in research-based practices, teachers guide students of all abilities to achieving high standards of 21st century education. I also appreciate the leadership and professional development opportunities.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 6, 2012

I am deeply grateful to work in this school community. Racial diversity and integration is a personal passion of mine, and I am blessed to work at a school that not only fosters these values but does so in such an authentic way. The teachers, the parents, the students - we all understand the special gift of diversity CCS has, and we hope to further it even more. A third of our student body is made up of children of color -- I hope this percentage grows and grows and grows in the years to come.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2012

We have been a part of this school community for the last seven years. Our three children are very different in personality and learning style. We have found Central Christian School to be a place where all three of them can (and do) thrive. I am most impressed with the way the teachers engage with the children. They know them, love them and strive to teach them well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

CCS is grace-based, yet still rigorous in a truly integrated way. After 7 years at the school, my kids truly think and learn, not recite facts. My boys have such different learning styles and needs on different ends of the spectrum, and CCS has met their needs all along the way. This school is unmatched in St. Louis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

This school is lacking differentiation. They look good on paper, but the teachers are not equipped to teach to all levels of a child. If you want a rigorous, challenging academic school that is very homework driven and teaches to that one super smart child only, this is the school for you! Otherwise it would be beneficial to you to look elsewhere or you will be wasting your time and your child's education and happiness. We were very disappointed in this school in how my kids were taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

CCS is a very thoughtful school that strives to educate each child according to the way that he/she has been created. It is a rich, diverse educational environment with dedicated teachers and excellent technological resources. It is also a great value for the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 77%
Black 25% 17%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • ISSL Teacher of Disctinction (Junior Kindergarten teacher) (2008)
  • ISSL Teacher of Distinction and grant (Art teacher) (2010)
  • Accreditation through AdvancEd (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Opera
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Joshua Crane
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Fax number
  • (314) 727-8006

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Opera
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • We value and welcome various levels of diversity including ethnicity, learning styles, and socio-economic status. One third of our student population is African American. Our students come from over sixty different zip codes and forty different Christian churches.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
48
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
95

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$2000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Westminster Christian Academy
various independent schools
various public schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 S Hanley Rd
St. Louis, MO 63105
Website: Click here
Phone: (314) 727-4535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Immacolata Elementary School
Richmond Heights, MO


Flynn Park Elementary School
University City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT