Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
289 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Central Christian School 5

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
A fabulous place! We have 4 children who have gone through or at Central now. Our children have very different learning styles and academic needs and teachers have differentiated and supported our kids—some who are gifted and some who have learning disabilities. My oldest who have gone on to other schools have been well prepared for the work load and expectations of middle school. Central even helped with the transition to 7th grade for our son with learning disabilities. I love the diversity and biblical world view that infuses everything.

Central Christian School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
The growth mindset is all over the building. So not really grit, but persistence and growth. Teachers always use mistakes as safe learning experiences.


Central Christian School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
The class and individual service projects really helped my kids see others, really see, children and people who are different than they are and serve others well.

Central Christian School 1

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
I would not recommend this school. There are many other schools that provide the same academic experience with a Christian view for less money. It is not worth the price. The academics here are no different than any other school - worksheets, reading groups, etc. The teachers are nice but do not get to know the children well enough to really know what they need and how to differentiate. And although they say they want to partner with the parents, in reality they just continue in their usual manner - not really trying anything different. They are rigid in their approaches without considering options that may actually be in the best interest of the children. The staff is fairly non responsive to parents and it is hard to tell who is in charge. The new headmaster and other staff seem to be pursuing their own goals instead of ones that might actually benefit the children who attend the school currently and in the future. The staff seems top heavy for a school of its size - maybe explaining the tuition. Bottom line: look somewhere else.

Central Christian School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
Former students of the school have said that they are not prepared for their new schools once they have left CCS - and these are the brightest students who have shared these stories.


Central Christian School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
I overheard a school leader talking with a teaching candidate near the office the other day, and I heard her share what is a CCS motto of sorts, "Why not both?" i.e. Why shouldn't a child have a rigorous academic environment and a spiritually excellent environment? When did our world start claiming that you had to choose or sacrifice one for the other? At CCS, we get both. My children are positively challenged on a daily basis, being stretched to think outside the box, apply their core learning, work collaboratively with others and more. They are also grounded in the prayers of their teachers, the word of the Lord, Biblical perspective on what they are learning, and Godly leadership. At CCS, you get both, and I am ever grateful.

Central Christian School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
I'm so grateful Central married a Christian worldview with superior academics. I know my kids are getting well-prepared for secondary school and becoming critical thinkers. I'm so sad our oldest child is graduating this year - there's truly no other school in St Louis like Central. It's commitment to diversity is one of the things that drew our family there - we want our Caucasian son and daughter to love others, to not stereotype, to see things from another's perspective. I believe Central is maturing them in that way. The school not only HAS diversity, but it is truly seeking to STEWARD that diversity well. I wish I could have gone to Central Christian School as a little girl.

Central Christian School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a teacher
Amazing community to be part of. Open conversations between teachers and parents working together to teach covenant children. All of this and teaching with the best curriculum taught from a Biblical Worldview.


Central Christian School 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
Central Christian School is an awesome school. My son and daughter love going to school everyday. I have a background in teaching and I know that every school has parents who say there is too much or not enough homework. To balance that for my children I have other lessons at home. Just because I pay tuition doesn't mean I am going to completely depend on any school to educate my children. As a parent I feel a responsibility to challenge my children too. CCS teachers offer a lot of internet resources that enhances my children learning. The teachers and staff at CCS are wonderful and helpful. Too bad it doesn't go to eighth grade.

Central Christian School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a teacher
My school is AMAZING. It is academically rigorous, yet loving and Christ centered. It is diverse, but unified.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central Christian School
700 S Hanley Rd, St. Louis, MO  63105
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (314) 727-4535
Last modified Central Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top