Advertisement
Advertisement

Word of Life Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 206 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $128,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2013

I am nearing the end of a twelve year relationship with Word of Life Lutheran School, and will miss it very much. I have a son who started with WOL in first grade, and I must give thanks to his fabulous teachers in grade school, that he has been offered scholarships to seven universities. I also have a daughter who is graduating from 8th grade this year, she has been given the opportunity to shine as an individual, yet hugged and disciplined enough to grow and learn in so many ways. Thank you Word of Life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

small class size- dedicated teachers- Christian education- close to home- i could go on and on
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

Teachers are veterans which means the info presented = not new and current $$$$ is the schools core focus. immediate issues are NOT addressed. Curriculum sucks and not up with other schools They want you but if the school is not for your child you are criticized. Bullying is an issue here. They offer low grade minimal after school activites which cost a ridiculous amount. parents are cliques, if you do not fit in you are not spoken to or you are looked down on. The tuition is crazy and only going up as so many parents are leaving the school Church wants your income to make sure you are contributing to them, which for some works but for others having $ issues it becomes difficult. I could go on but these are the negatives. the positives, good neighborhood, are 2 young teachers who are amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

caring teachers, great kids, unbeatable curriculum! This school has something for everyone; a strong music program, piano lessons, band, advanced mathmatics program, daily science labs, mobile laptop lab and the list goes on and on. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

It is great to have both of my kids go to a school where the staff nurture and care for their spiritual and educational needs all at the same time! I would highly recommend this school to anyone who cares about their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I recently attended two field trips with my daughters and both presenters raved about how well the students behaved! They asked what school we attended and both said this was the best behaved group they remember in a long time. Good behavior is condusive to good learning. Thanks to a great group of teachers and parents helping our children learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

We really enjoy the school. Great teachers and really nice kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

We have a child in kindergarten and another in 3rd grade and so-far our experience with WOL has been great. The quality of the education is very good, staff and teachers are professional and love the kids and they consistently teach from a Christian perspective. We are planning on sending our 6 month old daughter when she is old enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

This is fantastic school, three of my children attend here, hopefully the fourth one will also. They are receiving a very solid Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

Very professional and caring people here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 77%
Two or more races 6% N/A
Black 4% 17%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • NAEYC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6535 Eichelberger St
St. Louis, MO 63109
Website: Click here
Phone: (314) 832-1244

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Rogers Middle School
St. Louis, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT