Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

John Burroughs School

Private | 7-12 | 601 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $560,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 17, 2014

I have a son who attends JBS - they have a really great tutoring program called ArchTutors! I'd really encourage parents to use it for additional supplementation - it's very customizable for your child: https://sites.google.com/site/archtutors/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

I am a student at John Burroughs School. It is everything I could have hoped for. All the students and faculty are kind and, as was previously said, you can really "geek out" with anyone from the school. It is a wonderful opportunity to go to this school. Although the admissions process is rigorous and difficult to make it through, a student at John Burroughs is ultimately set for life. This school is my #1 recommendation when looking for a private school for your child to attend!


Posted February 16, 2009

Burroughs was not easy to get into, and once you arrive there you can see why! It is very academically challenging, with only the best curriculum. Even though the academics are very demanding they offer so much more than just a flawless education. At burroughs you became a well-rounded person. Intelligent, exceptional in the arts, and athletic. It's the whole deal. Although, popularity counts, especially in the lower grades, that isn't a reason to skip this opportunity!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2008

This is the best school one could ever ask for- challenging, yet tons of fun at the same time with the most amazing people there to help you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2008

As a recent graduate from JBS I would have to completely disagree about the social situation at Burroughs. It is very difficult to get into Burroughs and once you get in it doesn't get much easier. I came from public schools unlike most of the students and it took me a little longer to get used to things. Almost everyone at Burroughs is brilliant and I would argue that the whole school is full of nerds and I loved it. They also encourage you to do anything you want, play sports, participate in the arts and be social. I learned how to be a good person more than how to be a good student. I always say that Burroughs is an experience, not just school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2008

John Burroughs prepares its students for the academic portion of college very well, and most graduates do well academically, but it does nothing for a child's self-esteem, social skills, etc. It encourages kids to push themselves and do well in school, but if for some reason they don't do as well as hoped, they are considered a failure in the eyes of their peers. The social state at Burroughs is awful as well: it is a huge popularity contest, more so than at other schools. If one is not popular or genius, he or she has no hope of survival at such a difficult school.


Posted January 17, 2008

As a recent graduate I am able to say that I honestly enjoyed every minute of my time at Burroughs. I could not have asked for a better education, it was worth every penny of the tuition. Burroughs's one downfall could be it's diversity. It hypes itself as a diverse school. Statistically this is somewhat true, however when the class size in only 100 students it is hard for the diversity to stand out. I appreciated the diversity much more at JBS having experienced a much less diverse college. Even so, those in the minority are not singled out. I myself was in the minority economically. This did not negatively effect my education or social experience in the least. I rarely felt left out of oppertunities that my wealthier peers had. If anything it made me a stronger person and taught me life lessons that I would not have learned otherwise.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2006

I am a recent graduate of John Burroughs. I attend Morehouse College on a full ride academic Scholarship and am in a top research program (all in my freshman year). I cannot thank John Burroughs enough for all the support and care that they have provided me with over the past six years. Many may say that this school is too rigorous and too demanding. Let me tell you first hand: so is college! If it was not for the John Burroughs community, I might not have pushed myself as hard to achieve and strive for only the best. Yes, the curriculum is challenging and the teachers are demanding, but it's all worth it when you get into the college of your choice and are able to experience life without the hassle of having to adjust to the new standards of work ethic expected.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 11, 2005

John Burroughs is unrivalled in sheer academic excellence. The merit of the school is its learning philosophy; it focuses on growth, not restriction, and gives willing students a wealth of freedoms and opportunities that optimize any educational atmosphere. As for diversity, however, its goals are a complete farce. I would have remained quiet had Burroughs not trumpeted itself so. Do not fall victim to photoops, programs, and inane newsletters. Burroughs is obsessed with the image of perfection, and will not volunteer the true nature of things of its own volition. If you opt to send your black child there, he had best develop thick skin - and quickly.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2005

You will never get a beter education anywhere else than John Burroughs. I have lived all over the country, met almost every type of person there is to meet and I can say my community of friends, students and teachers at Burroughs puts them all to shame. Everyone there is a superstar. You are SO educated and well prepared, I have literally coasted through one of the hardest universities to get admitted to on my Burroughs education with all A's. It really lets you cut through the busy work at school and instead create an integrated base of knowledge for yourself with the new liberal arts/pre med information to add into your already vast arsenal of knowledge. Socially, it is very close-knit which is a double edged blade. You will miss it after you graduate. Saying you went there is like saying you went to Oxford, Yale,or Princeton .
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 7, 2004

Speaking from a student's perspective, Burroughs is an amazing school because it prepares its students for both the academic and social aspects of life. Not only does it offer cultural, racial, and socio-economic diveristy, it has a wide range of students with a wide range of abilities. Not only the top of the line 'select few' are admitted. I know many students in my class alone that slack off and are unable to keep up with work in the non-AP classes. You will find this same type of student at an MICDS, Chaminade, Viz or anywhere but truth is that at Burroughs there are fewer. Burroughs offers the best environment for a student to recieve an amazing education and still have a social life. I know too. I am a senior with a 4.1 GPA, taking 3 APs, president of 3 clubs, playing 2 varsity sports, and I party like crazy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2004

John Burroughs is a school that yes is a highly notable school but still is not the best, when you look for a good school you need more qualities than just Grades!And John Burroughs is a school that focuses only on Grades! Instead of preparing you for life they only prepare you for the academic portion, and not the social portion. John Burroughs is a poor school for the simple fact that it wears you out before College, you do not deal with real people your just dealing with the 'Select Few' that have made it into the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 2%
Black 10% 17%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

755 South Price Road
St. Louis, MO 63124
Phone: (314) 993-4040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Immacolata Elementary School
Richmond Heights, MO


Ladue Middle School
St. Louis, MO


Logos School
Olivette, MO




Brittany Woods
University City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT