Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Forsyth School

Private | PK-6 | 400 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $475,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2010

I found the school very good academically and liked the personalization of the math instruction. I felt howver that the teachers were clueless regarding social interaction amongst the children and there was amazing clique-iness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

I moved from public school and, I'll admit, I was scared at first. I now know there was nothing to be afraid of. The sterio-type that privet schools are snobby certaintly does not apply to Forsyth. The families are pretty much all upper class, as you might imagine, yet I don't feel wealth sets any barriers between the kids who maybe aren't as wealthy. I've made friends from many different backgrounds. Yes, a lot being the 'old Saint Louis' type, but that matter is oblivious when it comes to friendships. The teachers are definitly not bios, and the the education I got here at Forsyth couldn't get any better. I love the staff, and all my classmates. When I graduate, I'll be balling for the next week =((( LUV U FORSYTHIANS!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2008

I have had children at Forsyth for 6 years and can find nothing significant to complain about! The teaching is top-notch, the families are wonderful and very committed to education and the environment is nourturing for students and parents alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

I personaly LOVE Forsyth, It is a great school and it's campus is just one great thing about it. When I graduate I know I will always have a second home there. They have a great academic program and they teach you to except challenges and face your fears. It is so cool to go there each day and feel like you are in a village. Forsyth is very gental and loving too, it has a HUGE auction each year to earn money for scholorships at the school to help some students pay for it. They make learning very fun and I am very glad to be at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

We transfered our three children to Forsyth 3 years ago from another parochial school in St. Louis and have never looked back, The faculty is dedicated to providing a seamless and challenging curriculum while making it fun for the kids to work hard and strive to do their best each day. Our children have truly come alive at this schhool. Although we had not been here from the beginnning with two of our three children, the community was more than welcoming and open to inintroduce it's newest members to all that Forsyth has to offer. at
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

While the education at Forsyth School is very good, and many opportunities are afforded, the community as a whole is rather unfriendly. Even as a well-to-do parent, I will admit that I can see that there is a diffent attitude given to those who are not exceptionally wealthy and that most minorities are admitted to the school because they are upper middle class. There is very little class diversity at this school. The Forsyth community tends to be pretentious and unwelcoming for those who are not in the 'old boys club'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

Forsyth provides each child the opportunity to go not only academically, but socially and emotionally. The person that commented negatively on them catering to certain clientele obviously does not have a child there. I am a parent of a minority child and could not be more pleased our selection. My child Loves going to school each day, and I am truly comfortable with her being there. Did I mention how excellent the teachers and administrators are? If not, let me reassure you, they are the Best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2006

My child is currently at this school. The early childhood program is fantastic. There is a strong emphasis for hands-on learning and a balanced approach to all the disciplines - music, movement, science, math, language, outside play. The future years are highly academic but the environment is nurturing and inclusive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2006

Stimulating environment with fabulous teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

Forsyth is a very academic school. It has been great for my child! She loves going to school every day. Very strong community of learners, wonderful teachers and a richly textured learning environment with the classrooms located in 6 charming houses. One criticism would be that the classes are too large. Although they break the children up into small groups for learning, the classroom space often seems crowded. Pleased Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

Only a certain clientele is catered. Families of color are just for show and stigmized and are treated unfairly.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 74%
Two or more races 11% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Black 6% 17%
Hispanic 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6235 Wydown Boulevard
St. Louis, MO 63105
Phone: (314) 726-4542

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Wilson School
Clayton, MO



St Roch School
St. Louis, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT