Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
140 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The St. Michael School of Clayton 5

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
The culture of the school is wonderful--children are encouraged to learn at their own pace, the curriculum is challenging and individualized, the teachers and staff are caring and nurturing, and kindness is a focus of both staff and children. This is a wonderful environment for any child--and one that celebrates diversity and acceptance.

The St. Michael School of Clayton
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
My son is new to The St. Michael School of Clayton and we are so happy to have found this gem! His teacher, Monica Moran, is encouraging, nurturing, loving, and organized. She fosters an environment where every child learns at his/her own pace and is still challenged appropriately. My son is making terrific progress in his academic subjects and is enjoying learning! Principal Beth Mosher fosters a collaborative, diverse, nurturing, kind environment across the entire school. I am so glad we found this gem of a school!


The St. Michael School of Clayton
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
The school promotes self-expression and allows students to find the "languages" that allow themselves to do so, be it art in its many forms, physical activity, experimentation, etc, and all combinations of these things.

The St. Michael School of Clayton
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
How could the school do other than foster respect when it fosters kindness and caring? These emotions lead to respect and confidence as a matter of course. The ability to know yourself and be content with that self is highly prized at St. Michael's.

The St. Michael School of Clayton
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
Compassion, caring and empathy are integral to St Michael's. Students who lack this ability are the ones who do not thrive, and there are very few of those. The basis of the school is caring about others.


The St. Michael School of Clayton 5

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
This school has been a haven for my children. My son calls it "fun." My daughter regrets it when she is sick and has to miss art studio. Both children have been consistently learning above grade level and both absolutely love to learn.

The St. Michael School of Clayton
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
I'm a parent that prefers no homework at all. That said, any homework feels like too much. When I hear other school say their kindergartens have 45 minutes of homework, I'm appalled. By comparison, St Michael's has perhaps 5 minutes a night at that level.

The St. Michael School of Clayton
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
The school emphasizes kindness. When new students arrive from a school that was less than kind, within a few months, they've embraced the kindness model. This approach leads to honesty, integrity and fairness as a fact of promoting kindness.


The St. Michael School of Clayton
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 12, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to the very small staff at our beautiful school. You are underpaid, overworked, under-appreciated, and simply wonderful at your jobs, as well as so pleasant. Thank you, Jeff, Lori, Kristin, Beth! And James and Daisy who pitch in, also.

The St. Michael School of Clayton 5

Posted December 10, 2015
- a community member
We fell in love with SMSOC nearly 5 years ago when our first child joined the junior kindergarten program. We love how the school employs the Reggio Emilia approach to foster creative, curious and self-empowered children who simply love to learn! We love how every member of staff, from teachers to administration embody and enact the schools philosphy - it creates a consistent, holistic learning environment that our kids love. Near the end of every holiday break they are asking us when they can go back to school! Thank you St. Michael's!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The St. Michael School of Clayton
6345 Wydown Blvd, St. Louis, MO  63105
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (314) 721-4422
Last modified The St. Michael School of Clayton is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top