Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Abiding Savior Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 316 students

Our school is best known for developing Christian leadership skills.

 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $169,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 18 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted October 9, 2013

As the Director of Admissions for Abiding Savior Lutheran School, it is my pleasure to often be the first person the family gets to know at our school. I am constantly impressed by the level of dedication our parents have to their children's academic and spiritual development. They set their expectations high for the future they envision for their children and we are honored to be their school of choice in that journey.

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

Abiding Savior is an awesome school. There is a great feeling of community with smaller classroom sizes and academic excellence! I wouldn't send my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

We have two children attending ASLS. We are very pleased with the teachers and administration. The academic standards are high and challenging, but the benefit is clear based test scores and overall performance. We are confident our kids will come out of ASLS with an edge over others in leadership and base knowledge. In addition, while there they are learning good morals and values through a Christ centered education...something that helps enforce and compliment the behavioirs we teach them at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

I can't be happier! The teachers are so caring from Kids Day Out up thru 8th grade. The teachers go the extra mile for each child. We love the small environment, the staff, the parent involvement opportunities, and the academics which are Christ centered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

We love Abiding Savior Lutheran School and could not imagine our children attending any other elementary school or preschool. Our kids are excelling in academics in a great school where they are loved and cared for everyday!!! Abiding Savior Lutheran School is family oriented with strong parent involvement, strong leadership from both school and church staff, and exceptional teachers. Our students are achieving educational excellence, while growing in their leadership development and a firm Christ centered education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

My daughter attended the early childhood program at Abiding Savior and went on to the elementary school too because we were so impressed by the school. My daughter loves it. We love the small environment, the staff, the parent involvement opportunities, and the academics which are Christ centered. I can't imagine sending her anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Abiding Savior offers a loving, family atmosphere, in which students are challenged to reach their fullest potential in whatever ways God has blessed them.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 9, 2014

Wonderful, Christ-centered atmosphere. The teachers and staff truly care about each child and their families. Teachers are skilled, and technology is up to date.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

For the past 10+ yrs, my son has attended Abiding Savior Lutheran School and our experience has been nothing short of outstanding! From day 1, we were welcomed and felt like part of the 'family' at ASLS. The teachers are exceptional in modeling their Christian values and show great dedication and passion for their careers and their students. The relationships that have been created between parents of our students is something very unique, too, unlike what I have come to believe from public schools. I feel very blessed to have been able to send my son to Abiding Savior!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Abiding Savior school has been great for our family. Everyone works together so nicely on everything. Everyone is so friendly staff and families. We love it!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Abiding Savior provides numerous opportunities for my children to excel academically. More importantly my children are surrounded by a Christ loving staff that naturally builds strong, confident leaders in their faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Great school for your child where your interest is in education and having the ability to have Christ in their everyday educational life. The teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Abiding Savior Lutheran School is incredible. My granddaughter has been attending since preschool and is now in seventh grade. The teachers and staff are always willing to help her when she needs their help. She has received an excellent education there. I am so happy that we decided to send her to Abiding Savior!!


Posted April 8, 2014

My children graduated from Abiding Savior 3 and 5 years ago, after attending there preschool through eighth grade. We have never regretted one minute of our time there. Our children have excelled at the public high school and now college levels, and I truly believe it is because of the firm foundation in academics, values and Christ- centered education they received at Abiding Savior. We believe in the school so much we continue to support the school even though we don't have students there anymore.


Posted October 23, 2013

Abiding Savior is a wonderful loving school. Great teachers and super volunteers really make for a great experience for the children
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 16, 2013

The teachers at Abiding Savior are genuine. I feel a sense of community at Abiding Savior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

My daughter just started there this year. She loves the staff and the teachers. We are very pleased as parents with the academics and the helpfulness of all that are involved in my daughters education. The staff is very helpful and knows who you are once you walk in the door, they are very genuine about the success of the students. They offer a great Christian education, I would recommend anyone here that is looking for a GREAT christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

Best decision I've ever made. I'm a college educator and wish every school had this degree of dedication to both academics and character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

We are very satisfied with everything about this school. The academics are well above average. The faculty have advanced degrees and many years of experience. Even the Early Childhood teachers have education degrees. The school is big enough to have the necessary extras such as sports, music, foreign language, and arts. But is small enough that every teacher knows every student, K-8, and cares deeply about their success. Our kids love it here and always want to go to school. The Christian education is definately worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

I couldn't be anymore happy with Abiding Savior. It is such a peace of mind for me to be able to send my daughter off everyday to such a safe and loving facility. They instill great morals and values at a young age. It is a very small family like feel. The teachers LOVE their children and it shows! I wouldn't want my child to be anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

Abiding Savior is a Christian school that cares about its students and living the love of Christ. Our family has been involved with the school for over 14 years and our youngest is now in the 3rd grade. If you want a place where the education is top notch and the Word is still the foundation, then this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 77%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
Black 0% 17%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School social worker/counselors(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Rosetta Stone Options
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Joe Bordeaux
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Fax number
  • (314) 892-4469

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Rosetta Stone Options
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • CYC sports participation
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • CYC Sports participation
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
174
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
180

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Building Blocks

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lutheran High School South
Lindbergh High School
Westminster
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4355 Butler Hill Rd
St. Louis, MO 63128
Website: Click here
Phone: (314) 892-4408

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT