Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
136 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Providence Classical Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 09, 2015
- a student
Our son loves his teacher - he speaks highly of her, and often tells us she is kind and her rules are fair.

Providence Classical Christian Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted October 09, 2015
- a student
Our kindergarten does not have homework yet, so it would be unfair to rate this category.


Providence Classical Christian Academy 5

Posted October 09, 2015
- a student
We started our oldest son at Providence this year for Kindergarten. We knew that he would attend private school, but we weren't really sure where. We heard about Providence and decided to check out the school at an open house. We were sold on the classical education approach and how welcoming the staff and families were. We are so thankful for Providence; it is indeed the best possible place for our son.

Providence Classical Christian Academy 5

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
Because of its intentionally-modest location, Providence can sometimes be overlooked by the St. Louis community, but it shouldn't be! It offers time-tested, rigorous academics that build year upon year from K-12th grades, fully integrated with a profound Christian worldview. The small school setting provides rich opportunities for mentoring and friendships and cultivates a sense of community that transcends all grade levels. I have three children in the school and could not be more impressed with what they are learning and the care the personal attention they receive from their teachers. The Latin and literature are excellent. Quality extracurriculars are available. And the tuition rate is one of the lowest in the area. Great value!!

Providence Classical Christian Academy 5

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
PCCA is the best value for the money in the St. Louis area for a classical education. The curriculum is well planned, the faculty is very competent and caring, and the school reinforces the Christian faith of the families. We are impressed every year with the material learned in the Grammar years, the clear thinking shown in all subjects throughout the Logic portion, and the accomplished writing and public speaking demonstrated in the upper school's Rhetoric stage. Besides having high academic expectations, the school also has a very wholesome atmosphere. Boys act like gentlemen, girls like ladies, and older students are considerate to younger students. Whether it's 2nd graders learning all the bones of the body, 7th graders growing in their ability to read Latin, or 9th graders participating in a Shakespeare production, the students are challenged to find what is true and beautiful in God's creation. Although it's physical plant isn't impressive and it's extra-curricular activities are not extensive, the results achieved are very impressive and at a much lower cost than other private Christian schools. We admire this school and our children are thriving there.


Providence Classical Christian Academy 5

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
If you are looking for a small, private, classical, Christian school then Providence Classical Christian Academy is perfect. The curriculum is wonderful and it is awesome to see what students can accomplish when they are challenged. The teachers and staff are great and are always available. The community of families is the best. You will not meet a better group of parents and families who always come together for the good of the school.

Providence Classical Christian Academy 5

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
My wife wrote one of the reviews here in 2009. Three years later, I will add my own thoughts. After four years of having children at Providence (now re-named Providence Classical Christian Academy), we continue to be deeply grateful for the education and community which our children and our family have found at this school. We have had children in every grade at PCCA except grade 12 (our oldest will be a senior next year). They have all developed: diligence, responsibility, curiosity, enthusiasm. The school has instilled in them a love of learning, a love of literature, a love of languages (English, Latin, and Greek) - and affirmed and nurtured their confidence in Christ and their love for God. Parental involvement is high. Current Headmaster is excellent, but leaving for full-time ministry next year after 5 years at PCCA. Our Headmaster-elect is an internal hire, with great rapport and respect within the school community. School is now 150+ students and growing at a responsible rate (8-10% each year). Very exciting time to be a part of this school.

Providence Classical Christian Academy 5

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
PCA has an excellent grammar school curriculum. My children have jumped ahead so quickly using Spell to Write and Read and Right Start Mathematics, among other things. The children learn so much by using music and jingles to remember important facts. I could not ask for a better education for my children, ages 10 and 7.


Providence Classical Christian Academy
no rating

Posted February 22, 2009
- a parent
One of my favorite things about PCA is the conservative Christian atmosphere. All the teachers and staff love the Lord and my children. The children are taught not only academics, but respect, manners and the love of Christ. I am also excited about the new curriculum in math and phonics/reading this year. I am pleased to see the dedication of our curriculum committee to making improvements where needed with the end goal of having the best curriculum possible to educate our children. PCA parents are caring and involved and have become our extended family.

Providence Classical Christian Academy 5

Posted January 26, 2009
- a parent
I believe that PCA is quite possibly the best education offered anywhere for all grades: K - 12! Education objectives are consistent from K - 12, but the teaching methods are oriented towards age-appropriate methods. My children are being prepared to operate effectively and Christ-like in a world that encourages/promotes materialism; selfishness and untruths. They are taught what is true and beautiful. They are taught to defend and pursue the truth - not to 'go along' with the ways of the world. My daughters have read or will read many great books; they have written hundreds of papers (essays, poems, letters, etc.); they have mastered language; have above average math skills and regularly are given opportunities to defend their positions through speaking opportunities. The teachers are all solid Christians, committed to teaching and are recruited because they bring solid abilities for achieving the objectives of PCA.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Providence Classical Christian Academy
5293 South Lindbergh, St. Louis, MO  63126
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (314) 842-6846
Last modified Providence Classical Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top