Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The French School

Charter | K-5 | 173 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2014

As parents we decide where are children go to school. Thank god we have a choice! A good parent has no excuse/ reason to send their child to this school. Why one would choose to send their child to an uncredited school is beyond me. There are many great options when deciding on a school in St. Louis. This is not one!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

If you want your child to be unsafe and uneducated-send them to SLLIS. This school is terribly ran by individuals who couldn't care less. The demographics are disgusting! The test scores are disgraceful and a direct result of the subpar education received. Unless you truly don't care about your child, don't go here. Consider yourself warned!! Seriously i'd rate 0 if I could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2013

I need to write a review so that you're not fooled by the parents giving false praises. There are many promises made and very few are kept. The standards for admin and staff are very low. The discipline issues are out of control! The admin is not attentive. The after school programs being praused? They are offered at an outrageous cost. The many trips? That's laughable! The one field trip had a $15 charge along with it. The buses are unsafe. The staff is unavailable. The children are not being properly educated! The test scores will provide the proof needed. The diversity? Saying it's diverse is egregious! Just be very weary about this school. It's a poorly ran school with the scores and some reviews to reflect he facts
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

After having a child attend this school from K-2 he has voiced that he is ready to leave this school. Kindergarten was the worst but I decided to give this school more time. My child has lots of friends and enjoys attending. His issue is that during these 2.5 years the teachers only speak in French as well as sending French homework that I have to assist with & he is not learning English. He said he wants to learn. I was very concerned when he entered 2nd grade as well as many at SLLIS without knowing how to read! The norm is its expected! Which I shouldn't have accepted! There are perks attending but SLLIS has put English learning responsibilities on parents since they teach in a different language. With that being written - I am researching a new school, my child wants to be on the academic level as other 7 yr olds I don't have a choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

This school deserves much more praise and recognition than provided in the few comments from disgruntled parents who pulled their children out. There are those of us whose kids have been in the school for several years now and are very pleased with the learning opportunity and environment this school provides. Speaking of the TFS, it is a loving caring place with a great curriculum (PYP) complemented by numerous and amazing field trips and a diverse after school program (including music, sport, etc). What we enjoy most is the welcoming environment (teachers are happy to talk to you at anytime, stop by the principal and he will invite you for a chat) and the diversity of the community, including children, parents, teachers and staff and an opportunity for social emotional growth that is hard to find in many other places. It is a school in its infancy, and along come the growing pains and some hiccups; however, problems are taken care of, ineffective teachers do not stay on board. Watching positive changes is encouraging and strengthens our belief in this great school and what s to come in the future. The children are happy, love to learn and care about each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

If you love flash cards and want to judge your 8-year old by a test score is not the school for you (and BTW (in TFS only about 17 inaugural kids having taken this test so far, so hardly telling for the school as a whole). If you want to raise happy children who are engaged in learning, are inquisitive and get the math and science rather than regurgitate answers for test prep, who are independent, caring and open to the world around them without being judgmental and love to go to school every day this is the school for you. We have observed some amazing academic accomplishments (not to mention the ability to communicate in a foreign language) and when you see 2nd graders hug one another in the hallway to provide encouragement and ease anxiety about going to the principal s office (because it really is not that bad ), you know things are going well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

I currently have 2 children in attendance, I was very excited about their new start and experience, as time gose on I have found that to quickly demenish as my daughter was being bullied and nothing was done about it, even after speaking to the head of the school a number of time" I still find that to be an issue not only with the students but also with a staff. Their are serious discipline issues the lack of response and or correction from the staff and administration is horrible and very unprofessional!!!! There test scores are poor, very unorganized and no one seems to no whats going on, poor structure". The school needs to be reevaluated!! Perhaps the staff and administration also!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

We had a child at this school for two years and elected to leave. We were happy with the quality of both of our teachers while our child attended. We were not confident in the administration of the school or the actions, or lack thereof, to correct behavioral issues with some students in the school. The school seemed to be exclusionary of the parents and discourage parental involvement. That made us very uncomfortable and unwilling to allow our child to continue to attend the French School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

Our son is in the 2nd grade and has been attending since Kindergarten. I'm very thrilled with his education so far. He is fluent in French and often seeks out opportunities to use his French in the real world. The teachers are wonderful and this year's teacher is particularly amazing. There's a lot of hands on learning and his endless questions are always answered in a way that encourages even more learning. These teachers really care about their students. He has built a lot of positive relationships with staff and other students. Until this year, we have had absolutely no issues with the school. We have found that the administration is attentive when issues (disciplinary in our case) arise. Leadership continues to work on improving the experience for students and parents, and I can see strides being made and truly respect that. Overall, our experience is quite positive and when my spouse was considering a job outside of St. Louis one of the biggest cons was leaving this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

My daughter is going into 2nd grade in the French school, and has been attending since kindergarten. We have been extremely pleased with our decision. Her teachers have been great, the administration is responsive, and the curriculum is excellent. Aside from the language piece (which is sort of secondary, because it's not like they are having French lessons all day, they are learning every subject IN French) we have been impressed with the math, art, music and science modules. My daughter has a working understanding of fractions and the water cycle after 1st grade, not to mention SHE IS FLUENT IN FRENCH! Concerns include discipline, but from my discussions with other parents in a variety of school situations is common. I feel they deal very well with situations, encouraging with positive reinforcement. All schools seem to have their hands tied a bit with this issue. We were also concerned with English reading, but an after school book club curtailed our concerns. Our child is now reading English well above grade level. Plenty of other after school activities for very reasonable cost. I would recommend SLLIS to ANY parent. This type of learning really levels the playing field.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

^^ Parent leaving 5 star reviews after kid not even starting?? :::I must leave fifteen words here to submit my comment, hopefully this suffices.:::
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

My daughter is starting kindergarten next week and we already feel at home. The program is very interactive and we have been preparing for kindergarten since October 2010. I highly recommend SLLIS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students31%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students17%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students38%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 57% 17%
White 38% 74%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A45%
Female 57%N/A48%
Male 43%N/A52%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Conrad Wildsmith
Fax number
  • (314) 533-0974

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4011 Papin St
St. Louis, MO 63110
Phone: (314) 533-0975

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT