Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The French School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
We are grateful for Madame Adeline. She is wonderful with our rambunctious kindergartner. He's learned so much this past year and really enjoys school. We're also grateful for Madame Sabrina. Our 4th grader calls her "tough but in the best of ways."

The French School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a teacher
Via the PYP learner profile, our students learn to be caring, principled, open-minded, reflective, risk-takers, thinkers, communicators, knowledgeable, and balanced.


The French School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a teacher
The French School is an amazing community of students, parents, and teachers. We have sent two groups of 5th graders to France and have hosted a group of 5th graders from France. We have an active Girl Scouts and Girls on the Run program. We also have an amazing strings instrument program. Everyday our students learn in French via the Primary Years Programme inquiry program. Our students are engaged in hands on learning.

The French School 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
I have two daughters at the school in kindergarten and 2nd grade. We are nearing the end of our 3rd year at TFS and plan to be there for many more years. We love the fact that our children are becoming fluent in another language- our older daughter even dreams in French. More important than the language aspect, though, is the sense of community at TFS. Every adult in the building knows who my children are and cares about their well-being.

The French School 5

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
We chose The French School at SLLIS because we want our child to be not just conversationally proficient in a foreign language but academically literate and culturally competent. Our son (9) speaks, reads, and writes in two languages and is developing multi-disciplinary critical thinking skills promoted through the International Baccalaureate inquiry-based pedagogy model. We also value the diversity of the student population for our child's social development and readiness for the "real world." The teachers have a truly unique professional skill set and competence that you won't find anywhere else in St. Louis, and the entire faculty, staff, and leadership team is wholly dedicated to the success of our kids and the school. They have a bold vision and we love it. Highly recommend!


The French School 4

Posted April 25, 2015
- a parent
The French School is the ONLY urban, tuition-free, International Baccalaureate, French Immersion School in the U.S. What an amazing opportunity right here in STL. I value not only the language immersion (and it is so incredible to see my 6-year-old already reading and writing in TWO languages!), but also for the International Baccalaureate curriculum. The IB values thinking and problem solving, as well are creativity -- the kids are actively learning, not just memorizing things. Perhaps even more, I value the many different kinds of diversity found at TFS, including racial/ethnic, SES, country of origin, culture, gender/sexual orientation AND language. My children enter the world so comfortable with and curious about people who may be different than they are. And they have already developed a global consciousness, an interest in travel, and a willingness to take risks and try new things. The school isn't perfect, but we get so much that's unique!

The French School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
Awesome school! Love the PYP curriculum and teachers. Our kids love learning French and going to school. They are fluent in reading and writing in French which has boosted their English reading skills and test scores. We appreciate the diverse and loving school culture. The teachers are so dedicated.

The French School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
I LOVE THIS SCHOOL! The teachers are amazing, they take so much pride into teaching the kids that there is a lot to explore in the world. My child started in kindergarten and now in the second grade. Everyday I see growth in his academics and his immersion into the French language. I am excited to see what the future holds from him. Mr. Conrad the Principal is so compassionate in what he do for the school and the kids. I truly support and love everything they do in this school, this has been the best decision I've made for his future! Parent R. Perry


The French School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
I just love TFS! I love how my son has grown and the confidence he is showing.

The French School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
The French School is a great school, my son's teachers and staff communicates often with me whether he is doing well or if he's having any issues. I've also noticed that they really take time and listen to him if any problem does occur. He's doing well in all his subjects and his French is getting pretty impressive.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The French School
4011 Papin St, St. Louis, MO  63110
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (314) 533-0975
Last modified The French School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top