Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St.Louis Spanish Immersion School 5

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
I have 2 children enrolled in the Spanish School now, and my oldest completed 5th grade last year. I love the rigorous IB curriculum, which asks big questions and challenges them to think and learn. I was amazed to learn at our recent teacher conferences that both of our kids are reading above grade level...in both English and Spanish! The teachers are so dedicated and wonderful, and Directora Arlene is amazing.

St.Louis Spanish Immersion School 5

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
The Spanish school has done an amazing job teaching my daughter a second language. She enjoys going there every day!


St.Louis Spanish Immersion School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
Arlene does an amajzing job with limited resources and she always maintains a positive attitude! Thank you for your dedication!

St.Louis Spanish Immersion School 5

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
I have two kids at the Spanish School and we absolutely love it. They are recieving an excellent education and learning a second language. The teachers are warm and dedicated and the Head of School does an amazing job maintaining high standards for her students and staff. My kids love coming to school everyday and they are excited to learn. This school provides an amazing opportunity for the kids of St. Louis.

St.Louis Spanish Immersion School 4

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
The Spanish learning is excellent. Though some teachers are outstanding, most teachers are normal/average, good, but not great. The the leadership at the school level has proven excellent and reliable. If we can stabilize the organization in the way the head of school is stable, we will be in good shape.


St.Louis Spanish Immersion School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
Arlene is essential to the continued stability and progress of the Spanish school. If the administrative part can be worked out, she will continue to lead the progress of the school.

St.Louis Spanish Immersion School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
They are all excellent at making students proficient at speaking and reading Spanish at grade level. Some are great teachers, and improve kids' reading and math levels beyond grade level. Some are average/good, and they are not making outstanding gains in kids reading.math levels.

St.Louis Spanish Immersion School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
Keep it coming. The 8 pages weekly is just right, especially with the grade-level reading comprehension.


St.Louis Spanish Immersion School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
Not yet. This depends on the teachers. If the teachers are great, this will improve. If the teachers are good, this will stay the same.

St.Louis Spanish Immersion School 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
The Spanish School has made amazing improvements over the years. My eldest child graduated 5th grade there and is succeeding at a gifted middle school and my youngest is currently in third grade and loves it! Students are challenged not only to learn another language, but also to inquire and ask questions about their world. Students are exposed to many different cultures and people from all over the world. I am continually impressed with what the Spanish School has created and offered, despite all the challenges of being an under-funded, charter school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St.Louis Spanish Immersion School
4011 Papin Street, St. Louis, MO  63110
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (314) 533-0975
Last modified St.Louis Spanish Immersion School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top