Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
St. Louis, MO
Students enrolled: 458
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gateway Science Acad/St Louis
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
My son received homework during the week (M-F) but not much on the weekends. I feel this is appropriate for elementary school.

Gateway Science Acad/St Louis
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
Again... While it may be an added perk for students to have a teacher devrlopetjis trait.... This should be taught at home.


Gateway Science Acad/St Louis
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
Yes, the teachers and staff instill respect in the students by example. This also needs to.be taught at home.

Gateway Science Acad/St Louis
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
I do feel the teachers and staff instill this in the students, however, I believe this needs to be taught at home as well.

Gateway Science Acad/St Louis
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff work diligently with all the students in regards to this aspect of the curriculum.


Gateway Science Acad/St Louis 4

Posted December 29, 2014
- a community member
My grandson attends Gateway and it seems to be a very organized, happy, and energized place for learning.

Gateway Science Acad/St Louis 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a community member
This school is wonderful!!! My grandson loves it and is never bored. I am very happy that the 2 teachers he has had (K and 1st) understand his thought process and figured him out so he cannot manipulate them as he is capable of doing in a sweet way. The curriculum is keeps him interested and curious. Great, Great school!!!!!!! .

Gateway Science Acad/St Louis 5

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
We have two children attending GSA, one on the Smiley campus and one at the Middle/High School. Our oldest started when the school opened. I am not sure where people are getting the idea that subject matter is not being taught. She is an advanced student and scores well above grade level on MAP testing. The teachers have always recognized her abilities and offered open ended activities that were able to meet each student at their level. Our second child started in Kindergarten, and had an outstanding experience. There has been turn over with the administration but the transitions have been smooth. Lindenwood has a strong presence and support. The school is constantly growing and transitioning to better educate our children. I have been very impressed with the school.


Gateway Science Acad/St Louis 1

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
Terrible school! Cannot wait to move and get my child out of this school and into the Lindbergh school district. Terrible communication from the school and teachers. Teachers are unable to determine when a child needs extra help. Too much play time and not enough learning time. No discipline or communication regarding discipline. Parents, do not send your children here, you will be sorry.
2 people found this helpful

Gateway Science Acad/St Louis 1

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
We pulled our child from this school after 2 years of horrible communication, high staff turn-over and several instances of dishonesty from the principal. The school only focuses on test scores and does not care about students at all. There is also a lot of bullying that goes on that is not addressed. Concept Schools runs this Charter and they are currently under investigation by the FBI. Look elsewhere for your child! Would not recommend this school to anyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gateway Science Acad/St Louis
6576 Smiley Ave, St. Louis, MO  63139
(314) 932-7513
Last modified Gateway Science Acad/St Louis is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gateway Science Acad/St Louis Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top