Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 477 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 17, 2012

I have two boys at this school, I must say that this school will work with those that want help. I feel like some of the teachers try to come up with new ways to teach. If I could change anything it would be to allow the children more free time at lunch. children should be allowed autonomy in middle school they should not be walking in a line to go to lunch or even having to be quiet at lunch time. My boy's say they don't like the school because of the kids, some of the kids are the cause or reason why the rules are so strict. I believe that they just need to learn a better way to deal with this problem and not punish the others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

I am glad to see that some of the more recent reviews are more positive. The problem with East Middle School have nothing to do with administration or teachers. As a parent dedicated to my son, I have seen him to very well here. His MAP scores came back very well. However, I also make sure that my son does his homework every night and studies for his tests. My son tells me that he is often the only one who does his homework. One of his teachers offered a study session for a big test. Besides him, only one other person bothered to show up. The problem is apathy among parents and students. A good education can be had here if you work for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

My daughter attended this school in the 2007-2008 academic year. She is was 6th grade on Team 6A. She loved school and her teachers were amazing. When I asked her what she did in school that day, she always had an interesting response. Her teachers planned interactive activities, from creating a museum about Africa to playing fun math games, to teaching about the environment and visiting a landfill. I was truly sorry when we moved and I had to pull my daughter from EMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

EMS is great! I have some great friends and my teachers really care about me. I was in the board game club last year, and I really liked it. Academic Excellence is annoying, but my teachers are still good. Don't believe the bad reviews. This is a whole different school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2008

This is a great school!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2008

I just read all of the reviews, and am greatly disappointed in the number of misspellings and grammar errors in the parent reviews. This was part of the problem when East Middle was Kirby Middle. Also, at no time were the 6th grade classes ranging from 30-34 students. At the time of that review, I taught 6th grade with a class size of 24 or so per class, which is very normal and manageable. The students had very dedicated teachers despite the many problems that often stemmed from problems originating in the neighborhood. Things have also improved since the school went from 1500 students to about 500 students this past year. Give East Middle a chance to show you that a high quality education is available for any student that attends!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2008

Things have improved so much since Kirby became East Middle. The teachers are excellent, the class sizes are small, and my daughter gets challeneged. She sometimes complains about too much homework, but I don't think it's too much. She gets to do lots of engaging projects. The stereotypes about East Middle are simply wrong and need to be changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

I love this school with all my heart.The teachers are great and so are the students.Just because of a stereo-type of a school doesn't make it bad. If teacher and other adults would stop calling us bad we could get better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2006

This school has a lot of problems. It is a challenging school. My son's teachers are great, though. He is in sixth grade, has really small classes (about 16 per class), and his teachers have high expectations for him. They want him to do well, even if other students and people in the school make it challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

This School wow! I dont even know where to start.Being an old student who used to go here and a parent of a student i know alot about this school the kids here are not great fight after fight and lots of drug use and violence some kids dont even care and go to school when they fell like it. not to mention the gang activity here.i dont even like my kid going to school its not safe but i dont know what to do. just the other day when he got off the bus 5-6 kids beat him up and took his things they went to kirby he told me but not all the time. my advice to other parents dont send your kid here its dangoreous. for your kids saftey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2005

This school is a very bad school. The changing are highly stupid. Making kids walk in the hallways and staying with the same people all year is not going to solve everything. This school some changes, BIG CHANGES.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 14, 2005

I had to remove my child from Kirby because of the racial tensions. My child is white and was picked on daily. The teachers, in general, only do and see what they want to see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

This school was not the first choice for our son. Last year (7th grade) was very challenging for him and for us (fighting, disorganization). Some teachers here are very tuned in to these children and will do anything to help them. Unfortunately, there are some that are not. Not only has the community adopted the notion that Kirby is Hazelwood School District's 'problem child', but some teachers carry that ideology with them and have passed it on. The second week of school my son's teacher informed them that she was 'embarrassed' to let people know where she works. This was very upsetting to our family. I encourage all in the community (not just parents)to get involved. The administration and teachers have to know that we care about our children just like the parents in the west side of the District. We must hold them accountable and become advocates for all children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

Student behavioral problems are very high. School is known locally for student fights & problems. Hazelwood post student teacher ratio is 1/17 but what they don't tell you is the sixth grade classes average 30-34 students per teacher. They need to find/hire more sixth grade teachers or make some changes. Teachers stated that they average only 20 students per class for 7th & 8th grade. My child attends 6th grade here and i am greatly concerned about her education at this school but can do nothing about it as hazelwood states she must attend this school, unfortuneately private school is not an option for us at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 48% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 56% in 2014.

160 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

160 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
28%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students24%
Black23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch24%
Students with disabilities18%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students29%
Black29%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch30%
Students with disabilities12%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students33%
Black33%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch31%
Students with disabilities19%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students37%
Black37%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch35%
Students with disabilities19%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students30%
Black31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch28%
Students with disabilities5%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students49%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch47%
Students with disabilities43%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students29%
Black29%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch27%
Students with disabilities14%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 17%
Hispanic 1% 5%
White 1% 74%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Gary Jansen
Fax number
  • (314) 953-5713

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1865 Dunn Rd
St. Louis, MO 63138
Phone: (314) 953-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Jerome School
St. Louis, MO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT