Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hazelwood East High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2009

Excellent school with excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

it is a pretty good school, better than what I thought it was going to be. My child excells there. We wish they would offer AP classes to the lower grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

I have two daughters and they both graduated from Hazelwood East High School. It was a great experience for both of them. My oldest daughter graduated from MIZZOU in May 2008. My youngest daughter is enjoy a full scholarship at Alabama A & M in Huntsville, AL. Education is great at East High School. Coming join us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

I currently attend Hazelwood East and I wouldn't have it any other way. The teachers are very friendly, caring, and help make the school a healthy learning environment. Many people believe its a bad school, but their views are wrong. We at Hazelwood East strive for the best and I'm extremely happy I will be graduating from there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

I have two daughters that have graduated from Hazelwood East. I absolutely loved their counselor. I'm the type of parent that continuosly checked on my daughters' progress and he let me know when they were off track and didn't mind me calling as often as I had to! My youngest daughter even received an award for 'most improved'. I can say that this school actually cared about their well being and their education. In many other districts, they would have been shuffled in the school and considered another number for the state to count. I'm just glad that's not the case for Hazelwood East. Thank you!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

There is definitely opportunity at this High School. My child is a freshman at Hazelwood East High School. In his first year he is in the band and does quite well. He has the opportunity next year to wrestle, play football, tennis. There are countless activities going on here at Hazelwood East. The teachers are easy to talk to and are very cooperative. The principals and office staff all go the extra mile for your child. I think that if your child wants a good education they can receive it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2004

Hazelwood East...what else is there to say except for UNITY. This highschool opens many doors for the young people. Yes at times they have their problems but what executive company or major organization do you know that doesn't experience problems along the way...NONE. East has an atmosphere that is like non-other. The students are very close and have a lot of school spirit not to mention THE SCHOOL IS FUN! No no thats not all that East offers. The students recieve a quality education from qualified teachers. Those that don't achieve are those that dont want to achieve. With out a doubt Hazelwood East would give your child the highschool experience of a life time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2004

This school is a great school to send your kids to. The students don't always get along, but in the end everyone helps out everyone else. The MAP scores have went up alot since this score you see on this site. The school now has a new principal that all the students love. Before he became principal he really became close with every student that crossed his path. He still is to my knowledge. The extracurricular activities is out of this world. Every team has team work and the football team most of the time makes it to State. Some teachers at the school that have been there for a while are stuck in their ways. They loose things and blam them on the students. They also don't listen to the students and put them down.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
19%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
21%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
21%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
32%
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
48%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
22%
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
17%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students21%
Black21%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch23%
Students with disabilities4%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Students16%
Black16%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch15%
Students with disabilities0%

Biology

All Students53%
Black52%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch48%
Students with disabilities14%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students35%
Black34%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch34%
Students with disabilities10%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students46%
Black46%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch46%
Students with disabilities12%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Students19%
Black18%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch18%
Students with disabilities2%

Government

All Students24%
Black25%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch18%
Students with disabilities9%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students18%
Black17%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch16%
Students with disabilities3%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 96% 17%
White 3% 74%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11300 Dunn Rd
St. Louis, MO 63138
Phone: (314) 953-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




North Technical
Florissant, MO


Student Support Center
Florissant, MO


Northview
Florissant, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT