Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hawthorn Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 530 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2014

I think Hawthorn Elementary is wonderful! My daughter is in Kindergarten this year, and her teacher is amazing. She makes learning so much fun, and my daughter absolutely adores her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

We moved from out of state and two of my kids are attending Hawthorn. I am shocked with the low level of education the school provides. The teachers lack the basic training to teach kids. My kids are very smart and were doing extremely well until they came to Hawthorn. When I spoke with their teachers I was stunned to hear one of the teachers blame my child (who is a first grader) for falling behind! As my kids are not getting the education they deserve at Hawthorn, I took it upon myself to teach them at home. At this time, I am actively looking to move out of Hawthorn district. It feels like a nightmare
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2010

This is my son's 3rd year at Hawthorn and we just love it! They really work with him to help develope his skills. The first year he has a bit of an issue with his attitude and his teachers really worked with him. In 1st grade he had the best teacher! She really encouraged him and he did wonerfully in her class. Now he is in the accelerated learning program and has tested higher than the other students for the same grade. This is just such a wonderful school! I grew up in California when they need to teach most everyone to speak english - they don't expect much from the students and just brush them off without encouragement - this is a totally different situation. Parents should realize how lucky they are to have a school that really cares about the individual child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

All of my kids have attended Hawthorn from kindgargen up; my fifth child is a second grader this year (2009-10). I cannot say enough about this school, the teachers, the staff and the wonderful learning environment there. I have found the teachers to be approachable, interested in input and very helpful. I can't imagine my kids going anywhere else. We have had nothing but positive experiences there from day 1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

I have several children in this school, all of which have attended since kindergarten. This year has been the worst year that I have had with the principles and assistant principle and one teacher. We have had problems on the bus and they didn't do anything about it. I am seriously thinking about pulling my kids out of the school. When the kids don't feel safe talking to a teacher I think that there is a problem. That school needs a new principle that we can go to and the problem be taken care of immediately. Even if it is with someone who has a kid in the school that they are close to. The kids are first not hurting another parents feelings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2009

I have a 1st & 3rd grader here. Class room teachers have been excellent each year. Overall, school is very good. This school is one of the smaller elementary schools in district, which in this case I think is a positive. The coverage area for this school includes a very wide range of income and family backgrounds, and I would guess ~ 5-10% of the students were born outside of US. This is great to have kids from 3 different continents in my kids class room. Aggregate exam scores for school are just a little above average, but that is mis-leading because if you take out the 'free & reduced lunch' category, every other cross-section / grouping is very good to ecellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

We moved to go to this school! We had a lot of choices in this area but once we spent a little time with the staff and principal; we knew this is where we needed to be. We are now in our 5th year of having children here and I cannot think of safer and more positive environment for our children. Very, very pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

This is the worst school my kids have been to. The principal is very denigrating to the children in the school, treating them like they are much older; the emphasis here is not on learning, but on punishment. Every child is just a little soldier in the system. Seemingly, the only thing cared about in the office is liability, not the students. I understand the teaching in the disabled classes is good, but if your child is not special needs, his education will not be of importance here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

My husband and I moved into the area from out of state and debated private vs. public. We decided to 'try out' Hawthorn for kindergarten and our daughter will be entering third grade in the fall! She would never allow us to move at this point!! The administration and the teachers are very approachable and want our children to exceed as much as we do. They are eager to educate each child at his or her level of ability and provide challenges for those who are above grade level academically. Our youngest is receiving speech therapy and the improvement after one year is astounding. The staff and teachers embrace each child as their own. My husband and I are blessed to have these wonderful people help raise our children. I agree with the earlier posts, Hawthorn is more than a school, it is a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

I have three children (currently in 5th, 4th, and 1st grades) who have all attended Hawthorn since kindergarten. Hawthorn is a true treasure. The administration and the teachers are very approachable and are eager to educate each child at his or her level of ability. My youngest child has a disability (CP) the staff and students have embraced him with love and loyalty that I never expected. The special education teachers and paraprofessionals and therepists are truly exceptional--kind and caring. There is an amazing PTO with a lot of opportunities for parent involvement. I agree with an earlier post, Hawthorn is more than a school, it is a community. A community which does an exceptional job of including all of its members to the fullest extent possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2004

My grandaughter has attended Hawthorne since kindergarten, and her sister is poised to enter this fall. All three of my husband's children finished elementary here. Even with budget cuts, the school has been superbANLC is a school where the children come first. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best without being labeled as the smart or dumb kids. They are taught accountability for behavior from the start, which gives them true life skills. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child; learning is fun. The former principal was the best, knowing each child by name, which was a particular boone to the boys. Recently we voted a tax increase to keep the quality of this school as high as possible - both our kids and the school are worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students60%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students67%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students65%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students61%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students63%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 75%
Black 9% 17%
Two or more races 7% 1%
Hispanic 4% 5%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Nicole Shidaker
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (636) 447-9216

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

166 Boone Hills Dr
St. Peters, MO 63376
Website: Click here
Phone: (636) 474-3999

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harris Elementary School
St. Charles, MO






All Sts. School
St. Peters, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT