Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ft. Zumwalt South High School

Public | 9-12 | 1354 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2014

My daughter graduated from FZS in 2011. My only complaint about the entire school system/district would be how absolutely worthless the guidance councelors are. I have no idea why they are there, but providing guidance is not their function. A large budget item that could be put to better use.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2012

I graduated from Fort Zumwalt South last year. I feel that the school is trying to become a better school, but is ill equipped. The entire Zumwalt district is broke, but they are trying to manage with what little money they do have. Since I have graduated, I have heard that the school has gotten more AP classes for the more talented kids. Although I had some pretty good teachers, I also had some very lousy teachers that demanded respect, but never gave the students any. In the past five years the school has gone through many changes including a colossal down size and big faculty changes. Not only did they go through a down size, but they had some big faculty changes including two new vice principals, but they got a new head principal. At first I was hesitant to these changes, but the new head principal improved the scores to the EXIT exams that replaced the MAP tests back in 2009 or 2010. If you are looking to send your teenager to South then I would have to say that over all it is a good school. Just make sure that this school fits the needs of your kid and not yourself!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2011

Just asking while attending a sporting event at your school. When the national anthem is sung. The people have to face the grand stand broadcast tower where there is a little metal flag wired to the building. It would be a lot better if there was a cloth flag where people can see it


Posted February 16, 2011

Going to South High I not only realize that the school is ill equipped with the proper staff needed to function a proper high school but, also when it comes down to making decisions the management lacks the skills to do so. Not to mention the fights and yelling that takes place in the hallway. Their sports team are horrible with the exception of their baseball team. I am just glad my parents decided to get out of there and transfer me to West High.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2011

Over the last few years, South has changed a lot. South used to be over crowded, but since the school district built East High, it is now the smallest of the 4 main high schools. The lower student population allows for smaller class sizes. South High received the highest Exist exam scores in the Saint Louis area. South is also introducing more advanced and AP classes every year. The students at south have multiply opportunities to join sports, after school clubs ranging from choirs and bands to student council and NHS, and to participate in South's excellent theatric department. The most of the teachers at South do care about the students and are willing to help after or even before school. The principles are nice and just do their jobs, but the guidance counselors are absolutely terrible. The counselors are little to no help and you would make more progress by just going straight to one of the principals or teachers if you are ever in need of help. The guidance councilors are basically "glorified schedulers".
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2009

Big but small enough to have a friendly feel. Relax and friendly feel as you walk into the doors as a parent. My 3 kids are there have love it. They have a lot of school spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

My son is a freshman this year and not only has his expierence been a wonderful one as a parent I think Dr. Weir and the staff, teachers and coaches are doing an excellent job. I feel they really care about the sucess of the students. It is a positive enviroment and I feel very lucky my child is part of this fantastic schoo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2009

Excellent teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

I am a FZS alum and can honestly say that, in comparison to other high schools in the area, Fort Zumwalt South easily stands out in excellence. The fine arts program at South high is impeccable. While it does not receive the funding it deserves, the school manages to produce high-end shows that usually sell out. The average MAP score of South high is generally higher than those high school around it, and has the highest average GPA of all FZ schools. I feel that there may be a strong bias for those giving South a low rating.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2008

We moved from California several years ago, and South High School offers so much more for students than the California schools do. We have been very pleased with the quality of the education that the school provides. We have had issues with some teachers, but none with any administration. I feel that FZS is a safe school and that it provides every opportunity for young people to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

I am a gifted student that attends south high school and i feel they do not accomidate their lessons to us and they pay no attention to the kids that try hard and succeede. Personally, i woud rate it about a 1/4 out of 5
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2008

I am a freshman at fzs, and i hate it. The faculty and staff are rude and disrespectful towards the students, yet flip when their are treated with the same amount of respect. This school has made me not want to go to school and since moving to south high my grades have gone from all a's and b's to barely passing if at all due to the teachers lack of involment and care.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2008

I went to south high last year. I'm the 10th grade and now go to East. I'm so happy i spent my freshman year at south, it taught me so much about high school. The fine arts programs they have ar amazing, and i miss not having the band class i took there. Its a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2007

We moved here with the intentions of sending our children to South. now believe that there is a total lack of classroom management here. Heading to East.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

I'm a previous student that went here. There has always been a drug problem in schools, but I believe ours had the lowest among the others in the area. The schools extracurricular activities are preety good infact, especially since we won two state cross country championships. The school offers a wide variety of college-credit classes that many do not. The administration knows what they're doing most of the time. The teachers (most of them) care about the students and will help your child if they need help. If a student made any threats the administration and police were immeadiately contacted to handle the situation. Overall I believe that the education I recieved was above average along with the others in the area.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 7, 2006

I have a daughter attending South High and I really like the teachers. When our daughter's grades started to slip, we were contacted by the teachers to inform us immediately. Together we all worked with my daughter to correct this problem. On the other side of the coin the principal's are not in touch with the classroom and give little support to the teachers. All the principal's care about is Map scores but do not understand the correlation regarding the ability of teacher and student's connecting. This inability of Principal's to understand the classroom is a direct result of the superintendent micro-mananging the classroom, even though he does not have a clue of what is going on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

I have had 2 children attend South and overall I would say that it is a very good school. The teachers and the counselors are wonderful. The class selection is extensive and the campus is very nice. There are definite issues with a high pregnancy rate and racial tension on both sides that I wish someone would address.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

Being a former student at south,I would say that all in all the schools quality is some what horrible.Going to south made me realize that I did not go to school to be tought,but I went to school to be looked down on by the staff. Being 'different' I felt that the staff looked at me weirdly because I wanted to express myself. At south I felt that to be respected you had to be just like everyone else. When I would walk in to class I felt that the teachers would not give me the personal attantion I needed,because I was quote on quote 'different'. Now unfortunatly, I can say passing time and lunch,was probally the best time of the day because I could could feel like my self for once.In the classes I felt I had to hide who I relly was.So really, think about sending your kid(s)to south.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 26, 2005

I have graduated from FZS and was involved in many extracurricular activities. This school is amazing, it has diversity, and it doesn't have as many 'cliques' as the other highschools. Yes this school does have a high pregnancy rate, and drug rate, but that is also due to the fact that we have an alternative school, and most districts don't. I believe this school makes you work hard in academics and in extracurricular activities. Their college credit classes have helped me a lot, concidering i go to St.Louis University. Thank you for concidering a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 9, 2005

I have had three children attend Fort Zumwalt South High School. I think overall it is a decent school district. However the administration needs to address the lack of diversity among the teachers. More effort needs to be made to include the AFrican American population and to address some of the racial tension present in the school.There are , however a wide variety of activities I the the students can become involved, which is good. One positive is that the administration will lend an ear and attempt to address the issues, whis is encouraging.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
72%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
25%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students49%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Free or reduced-price lunch35%
Students with disabilities11%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students94%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Free or reduced-price lunch82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students81%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Free or reduced-price lunch79%
Students with disabilities33%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students84%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Free or reduced-price lunch63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Students67%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students49%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Free or reduced-price lunch32%
Students with disabilities14%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 74%
Black 6% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8050 Mexico Rd
St. Peters, MO 63376
Phone: (636) 978-1212

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Boonslick School
St. Peters, MO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT