Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Strafford Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2010

Strafford Elementary has fantastic teachers, a wonderful principal and vice principal and an excellent community spirit. I'm so happy my children go to school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I have four children ages 14, 12, 11, and 9. They have all attended Strafford Schools since the Parents and Teachers program for 3 year olds at the computer lab. I have not had a conflict with any of the teachers, all of my children are above the average on their test scores, and they all love school. Mrs. Cogdill, the principal of the elementary, has done wonders with their programs and has msde Strafford an excellent place to raise children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

Strafford is an excellent school. They do try and provide the children with everything they possibly can to help them succeed in life. BUT the most aweful thing that I have seen about strafford is the way the parents and community behave. I feel that if you have not lived here or grown up here in strafford you or your comments do not mean a thing. I also think that when it comes to musicals the teacher only picks out a certain few students to do the top parts....and mainly As a community they need to learn to be more compationate and considerate when it comes to others helping ( parents and non school members) The parents of strafford need to take a lesson from the school motto and learn a few things themselves
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

I am very proud of the Strafford School District. We moved here 5 years ago and just recently bought a larger home and fought to stay here doing so. We have been truly blessed by the wonderful teachers each of our children have had. The quality of the music program is second to none. I would gladly recommend this school district to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2004

This district has great, professional teachers that really care about students. The environment is warm and close-knit, and students are readily accepted. The small-town feel is wonderful, yet the learning opportunities compare with something much larger not typically found in a smaller district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2004

We have lived in the Strafford School District for 3 years, and I have been very pleased with the level of attention my young children receive. I feel welcome and valued each time I come into the school to visit with the staff. I feel that my children are receiving a quality education, and I have no regrets about locating in this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2004

What the administration does best is ignore it's students. When a child is brought to the administrations attention, as in the case of a learning disability, the school becomes very aggressive in preventing that child's development. We have been forced to file an official complaint with the state against this school because of their active interference in our child's education. Even when the IEP called them to back off they continued to impose emotional pressures that most adults could not handle. They make excessive use of the cooperative program, to handle children who have developed emotional problems. These children are removed from the school campus during the day, thus dropping the number of children utilizing the special education department.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students51%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Free or reduced-price lunch49%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students67%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Free or reduced-price lunch57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 74%
Black 1% 17%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Pamela Holmes
Fax number
  • (417) 736-7018

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

213 West McCabe
Strafford, MO 65757
Phone: (417) 736-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT