Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jackson Park Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

My daughter went to JP for 5 years and it has very good teachers and has some teachers who need to retired and let new blood come into the building; however, they are doing a very good job academically. I believe they still need to work on improving good behaviors. In conclusion it was a good experience for my daughter it has a variety of everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

My son is also in 3rd grade at JP. Never have heard one story of fights happening at school. Maybe the woman's daughter has a different definition of what constitutes a 'fight'? The one issue I'd say exists is that the school district administration continually removes fantastic educators from JP and places them at Brittany Woods or UCHS. They've been replaced with teachers who are, according to the students, old, crabby, and not nice at all. Gym class and art should be creative and exciting experiences, not classes where children are made to sit on the floor and "Shut it!" because their teacher can't handle their youthful energy. Pathetic, really. On a high note, the new music teacher is much beloved. Let's get all of the faculty to that level now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

This school is a victim of to many children and the teachers not knowing how to handle all of them. We recently moved to MO from OH where we were going to a great public school there. We have had nothing but problems at Jackson Park. The teachers are ok and the principal is just ok. Everyday my daughter is telling me about fights and students yelling at teachers and throwing things at teachers. The principal and teachers are more than willing to try and make things better after complaining, but they still are not good enough for us to stay there another year. I am sorry to say but my daughter will attending another school for her 4th grade year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE Jackson Park! I was so happy to be there from my first day of kindergarden until 6th grade promotion. I am in my sophmore year at UCHS across the street and i find myself glancing out the window thinking of all the memories i've had there. JP has so much pride and has so many activities for students to look forward to all year put together by such a fantastic staff ! - Miquella : )


Posted September 15, 2011

My daughter is in first grade this year, kindergarten last year. There is nothing about this school that I do not love: the faculty, the administration, the curriculum, the available outside activities, and especially this year, the new facilities. The brand new library is absolutely amazing, and from what I have seen of the almost-completed gym and cafeteria, they are state-of-the-art, spacious, and inviting. My family feels so fortunate to live in the Jackson Park district and, as U City taxpayers, to be able to take advantage of everything that the elementary school offers. My 6-yr. old daughter cannot wait to get up in the morning, give her teacher a hug, and learn & play with her classmates. Thank you, Jackson Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

Hate to say it, but JP leaves a lot to be desired at this point in time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

I am a former Jackson Park student and I loved my experiences there. I started in kindergarten and went all the way to the sith grade and graduated from there. I made a lot of cool friend and met some mazing people.The level of academic were very high and we were learning math from the 7th grade level. Take for instance, algebra. we were learning tough algebra in the sixth grade.the principal Mr. Diaz -Granadoes was very caring to the children and the parents. the PTO contributed a tremendous amount of time and energy to make different festivals fun,So did the students. Although I'm starting the eight grade I will always remember the wonderful seven years I spent at Jackson Park Elementary and will recommend this school to any parent. S.A.B
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 27, 2006

I am a former student at Jackson Park and I loved it there!! I went there from 3rd to 5th and I am at another school now for sixth grade. The teachers there are great and the food there is great. I miss my old school so much. My whole family basically went there. My very best friends go to that school. I love Jackson Park!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 2, 2006

Jackson Park has been an incredible environment for both of my children, who happen to be at the opposite spectrums of the educational scale. Both of my children are challenged at their respective levels and continue to succeed academically. The credit mostly goes to the awewsome principal, Mr. Diaz-Granados and his talented teaching staff, but also to the extended JP family. From the support staff to the active parental involvement, the community as a whole works toward making the children at JP successful. On top of a quality education, my children are experiencing cultural and economic diversity, something lacking in many schools today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

One of the nice things about Jackson Park is that there is always lots of communication. A weekly newsletter, 'The Monday Memo' keeps parents and staff up to date on upcoming events and news items of interest to the school community, and a larger quarterly newsletter, 'The Jackson Park Journal,' provides in-depth discussion of curriculum issues, staff interviews, coverage of events like the Science Fair and the Passport Festival, and letters from the principal, the PTO, and the School Board liaison. The PTO also has a website, www.jackson-park.org, that contains information, photos, back issues of newsletters, a calendar, and other items of interest both to current and prospective families. There is also an online Yahoo newsgroup tht keeps parents in touch. One of the goals of both the PTO and the administration is to keep Jackson Park families 'in the loop' as much as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

We have 2 sons who have attended Jackson Park from kindergarten through 6th grade. JP is like a second home to us. Both boys have thrived there academically and socially. The professional teaching staff is very talented and caring. We have especially strong music, art and GATE (gifted) teachers, along with an outstanding principal. Our parents are very involved and support the school both financially and with many enrichment programs ranging from an annual Pioneer Day, Passport Festival, Spring JamBearRe, and many cultural assemblies. I only wish that the rest of the world could get along as well as our culturally and economically diverse community does at JP. I will be in tears when my 6th grader graduates and we are no longer attend Jackson Park. Of course, we will continue to educate our boys in the U. City school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

Our son is in kindergarten at Jackson Park. We have had nothing but positive experiences with the school. The school is well run, with a very visable principal at the helm. The teachers are wonderful, and work well with the students and their parents. The art, music and p.e. teachers are talented at getting the most out of their students. We have a wonderful gifted teacher who works well with those students who need enrichment. We have an active parent base. Our son loves the fact that we have a indoor and outdoor soccer team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2005

We've been at JP for 5 years and have had nothing but positive experiences. The academics are outstanding - challenging the many bright children and offering a wide array of tutoring programs for those who need them. The music and art teachers are outstanding and the children produce wonderful artwork and musical performances. I would rate almost every classroom teacher as outstanding as well. Parents in the teaching field tell me that our staff is one of the best around. Our principal is awesome and is very accessible to parents. We have a vibrant PTO that raises about $18,000 a year to fund lots of 'extras' for the kids and the classrooms. Overall, I can't say enough about this school - any child would be lucky to attend Jackson Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2004

Wonderful diverse learning environment. We have a kindergartner and he loves it! His teacher is awesome and the principal Mr. Diaz is very caring. They truly care about all children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students32%
Black20%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch15%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students36%
Black18%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch18%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students40%
Black27%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch26%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students33%
Black22%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch19%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students45%
Black41%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students50%
Black49%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students27%
Black23%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch23%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 72% 17%
White 21% 74%
Hispanic 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Christine Powers
Fax number
  • (314) 727-4478

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7400 Balson Ave
University City, MO 63130
Phone: (314) 290-4451

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Flynn Park Elementary School
University City, MO



Pershing Elementary School
University City, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT