Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

University City Sr. High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2013

After having one daughter graduate last year and go to college, as well as a daughter in her junior year, I've experienced many times when I am so proud to say my kids attended U City schools since kindergarten. I'll try to be brief: 1. The college experience has opened one daughters's eyes to various campuses and areas of studies. 2. The 2013 graduate has found her social skills gained at U City to be a huge benefit in navigating her first semester at college. 3. The teachers are involved, caring and amazingly talented. The coursework rigorous and the options varied. 4. The school community is strong and supportive and the students recognize and appreciate how all kinds of intelligences create a well-rounded school student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

UCHS has so much variety in their extra-curricular activities, it's hard for the kids to choose. Students are busy and happy, there are many, many great teachers, principal is doing an excellent job. Lots of opportunities and support!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

I love University City Schools, they are very involved with the children, They keep you updated on your childs progress and are more than willing to help any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

This is my second's daughter first year at University City High School and it has been a great start to the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

I wish i could say that UCHS is a place that i feel safe and comfertable in. I am in my sophmore year at U City and i feel as if they've failed me. Growing up in U City I loved it. I loved my friends, teachers, and my elementary school. But as soon as I became a student at the high school, I wanted to go back to elementary school. The high school has so many problems that it is ridiculous. Over 50% of the students could care less about their education, teachers, or their peers and are not hesitent to let it be known. Your peers will do their best to make you feel unaccepted in the school and only very few teachers show that they care about the students or their education. The school does have its Pros as well. The activities we have could be a better but they are good. I do believe that at one point in time U City was a great school but things change over time. I blame the parents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2010

I LOVE MY SCHOOL! By going to u-city I feel prepared to go into the world. I have been exposed to so much culture at u-city and have loved it all. U-city had made so many opportunities for me and I have gotten to work with some of the most amazing teachers and staff! Many teachers and staff have gone out of there way to make sure my high school experience was the best it could be! I would suggest U-city to any one who loves the arts and wants to feel prepared to face any challenges in life along with taking many great academic courses!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

Public schools are extremely important to their communities as well as to the young people who attend. We should all support them as much as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2009

uchs focuses on the students to help them to see the best in them and to grow for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

University City High School is a place where the student who wants to work can get a great education. Opportunities are limitless. Kids whose parents never went to college are giving extra tutorial support, mentoring, college guidance, and help from the time they are freshmen, and we have scores of these students going off to college this fall with great scholarships. This year, our graduates have been accepted to Yale, Vanderbilt, Rice, U of Chicago, Washington U, Stanford, Cal-Berkley, U of Wisconsin-Madison, U of Texas-Austin, U of Redlands, and many other great schools. Opportunities to take Honors and AP classes are open to all, not just those that 'test in', and if a student is failing in AP classes, extra teacher support is available, although no one is given a 'pass' --if a student can't do the harder work despite extra help, the student can opt into an easier class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

Ive been to Catholic school, all black Christian school, public school, and several county school but never felt at home until I went to U City. The teachers were helpful and encourage, they made you feel like college was the only option we didnt have a high drop out rate because they did all they could for us. The epitome of the extra mile. I thank my college success to U City.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2008

Out of most of the schools in the city it's well off, but I always end up in classes I've taken making for a easy year but I'm not specifically learning anything. Diversity is basically none existent but it's doesn't really matter, the teachers are very helpful, and it's a good school in general.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

My son is having an outstanding sophomore year. His teachers are excellent, from Latin to Literature to History to Chemistry (all honors courses on the AP track). Drafting and the other classes are also excellent. The teachers are demanding and have high expectations. This is especially true with writing skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

I dont understand why University City Senior High School ranks a #2. I feel it is unfair they have some of the greatest and careing teacher me as a parent has come across in years. They keep you well informed and truly wants whats best for the students. If I where to rate this school it would get no lower grade than a #9 it is a GREAT SCHOOL!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

U.City is a wonderful school. It is one of the schools in the St. Louis area that supports African American youth achievement. The teachers are super responsive and the staff is extremely friendly. If your child is looking for a supportive college bound environment U.City is the right choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2007

I am a parent of two UCHS graduates. Neither of my children were strong achievers at UCHS. However, they built a foundation that allowed them to excel after high school. Both graduated from college right on time and performed very well in college. They made life long friends there. I think there are two issues -- many of the students arrive ill-prepared for high school, and a number of the teachers have given up. There are great programs for the high and low achievers -- the middle performers can be overlooked. On the whole, if you look at test scores by race, I believe the African Americans do much better at UCHS than most other public high schools in the state, and the caucasian children do well as a group, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

University City High has changed its ways since last school year. They are very serious about grades, attendance and behavior. The extra curricular activities are excellent. The football team is doing great so far. My daughter says she enjoys all of her classes and she gets along great with all her teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2006

U-City is not all they say it is. Our child is a sophomore there now. Teachers don't respond to parents' phone calls, the office staff is barely civil if you visit, and the students are unruly and undisciplined. And in this small community where a small handful of parents are intensely involved, the teachers play favorites with those parents' children. As for diversity, that is misleading - it's 86% one ethnic group. It is mostly African American, with under 1% other minorities. The few white kids make up the bulk of the advanced classes and most of the academically oriented extracurriculars. The football team is bad, and the other extracurriculars are so disorganized that many kids who want to join them don't even know when or how to do so. It's all very disappointing after all the rave reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2005

In my opinion University City Senior High School is an excellent school.There are many great teachers,as well as an excellent staff of principals.I think the diversity of this school is what makes it so well.The performing arts program is very good. Especially the Kinesis Dance Club,under the leadership of Mrs.Heidi Morgan.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

One of the things I have always appreciated about the university city school district is it's diversity. I think there are great teachers and administrators in U. City. There is great parental involvement in both the academic and extra curriculum areas. The fine arts programs are excellent. The academics are challenging and the desire of the teachers to see each student succeed is obvious in that they are always ready and willing to go the extra distance to help the student who may be struggling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2004

I think that this school is great and I love how the students there are so tolerant about how other people love, dress, act, etc. I beleive that with some help this school can go far! This high school's after school club's are great like GSAADA(Gay Strait Aliance And Diversity Awareness) club is one of the clubs that makes it very unique!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
13%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
18%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
22%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
41%
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
47%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
23%
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
39%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students25%
Black25%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch25%
Students with disabilities4%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Students22%
Black13%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch11%
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students47%
Black40%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students36%
Black31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch28%
Students with disabilities11%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students55%
Black51%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Students30%
Black25%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Students39%
Black31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students20%
Black16%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch17%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 87% 17%
White 9% 74%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7401 Balson Ave
University City, MO 63130
Phone: (314) 290-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Eskridge High School
St. Louis, MO


Logos School
Olivette, MO



Bridges Program
Overland, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT