Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
279 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Francis Borgia Grade School 5

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
As a parent its easy to say that I am bias toward my school however the statistics from our graduates speak volumes. SFBGS continues to graduate many students who fall in the top 99% on the IOWA testing with many even having received full ride scholarships to SFBRHS. It has graduated several valedictorians and salutatorians at the high school. It has implemented its Virtue Based Restorative Discipline program which parallels the PBIS discipline program used in public schools only with a christian approach. Its preschool is very personable and developmentally appropriate and focuses on learning based on play and movement which is heavily researched based on being the essential foundation in early learning. Its location in the heart of downtown makes way for many natural and hands on learning experiences. It's middle school is by far the best around offering block scheduling, anatomy, physics, spanish and advanced classes. Its facilities have become mostly air conditioned. Tradition doesn't graduate and this school is something we are very proud to be a part of.

St Francis Borgia Grade School 5

Posted September 01, 2015
- a community member
Proud to send my children to this school. There is a strong sense of community! The virtue base restorative discipline program is wonderful! The curriculum is wonderful and our student go on to do exceptionally well at high school, with many of the recent valedictorians being SFBGS grads!


St Francis Borgia Grade School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
This hasn't always been the case as we had several long-tenured teachers that had run their course. When I look at our faculty now I honestly think we have one of the best in the area.

St Francis Borgia Grade School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
SFB is a Catholic Grade School that practices a virtue-based restorative discipline process. We have a strong faith based curriculum and treat all students and their families well.

St Francis Borgia Grade School 5

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
We love SFB! All of my children have attended since Pre K. We have a very strong faculty who are excellent in the classroom and care about the kids. Our primary students develop a love of learning that lasts a lifetime and they do a remarkable job preparing our middle school students for high school. In 2015 alone many of our 8th graders received academic scholarships to SFBRHS. Additionally, we are proud of the number of our graduates that have later been named valedictorian or salutatorian upon graduating high school. Our student/teacher ratio is great and we have specialty teachers for PE, Music and Art. I haven't experienced or witnessed the bullying others reference. Of course there are misbehaved students in all grades in all schools, but to rate any school on the behavior of a few is both shortsighted and negligent.


St Francis Borgia Grade School 1

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
St. Francis Borgia Grade School is falling behind. They do not have enough staff to properly educate the students, the principal is not able to handle the daily tasks of dealing with students & parents and most of the school is not air conditioned. I suggest looking at one of the other private schools in the area.

St Francis Borgia Grade School 1

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
This school has a horrible bullying problem and the principal does nothing about it. The principal Is not compassionate and only tells people what they want to hear and then goes and does the total opposite. If I were you, I would check out the other Catholic school in town, Our Lady of Lourdes. Their success is proven by higher enrollment and satisfied families.

St Francis Borgia Grade School 1

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
As said before, teachers are kind but totally oblivious to bullying and trouble among the students. Very disappointed.


St Francis Borgia Grade School 2

Posted April 21, 2014
- a community member
You'll never know how bad this school is until you leave for high school. The former principal was not a leader. The faculty is oblivious. I had 1 or 2 friends here, but when I went to high school I made hundreds (some who went here.) I did, however, fall in love with band here.

St Francis Borgia Grade School 5

Posted March 01, 2012
- a community member
St. Francis Borgia Grade School is a wonderful school. The Faculty are caring and compassionate about the most important thing: The STUDENTS. The school's principal is driven to make his school the best, even through budgets cuts and downsizing. As for Technology: the computer lab is updated yearly, five teachers have Smartboards, and I can check my son's grades online even from work. As for the review below: You can't please them all. I am very happy with Saint Francis Borgia Grade School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Francis Borgia Grade School
225 Cedar Street, Washington, MO  63090
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (636) 239-2590
Last modified St Francis Borgia Grade School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top