Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harry S. Truman Elementary School

Public | 2-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2011

I went to school here and I absolutely loved it! :) The principal when i was there, Mr. Cooper was the best principal i have ever had. I am in high school now in Tennessee. I miss Truman so much! I would recommend this wonderful school to anyone. So many great memories.


Posted August 25, 2011

What a great school. The facitly and teachers are the best, and a very focused on students.


Posted April 30, 2010

All 3 of my children had the honor of going to this wonderful school. Mr. Cooper, all of the teachers and staff are the best of the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

Harry S Truman is the best school on the planet! Mr. Cooper is so caring and authoritative at the same time the kids really look up to him. The teaching staff is so committed to each childs education and they really do love the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

HST is the best school around. You and your family are treated like family from the staff. The PTO is wonderful support for the school. Mr. Cooper knows how to run a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2006

Truman is truly a wonderful school. My kids have learned so much and enjoyed their entire time at Truman. The teachers and support staff are all caring and truly there to help each and every student reach their full potential. Truman is definitely the place for kids to succeed and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

I believe that Truman elementary is a great school. The teachers are wonderful and the principal does a great job. After school pick up is a little hairy but the staff has always made sure that my child knows who is picking her up. The support from PTO is awesome. We've had our own personal firework display to honor the hard work that the students do each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2005

I think that Harry S. Truman is a great school the teachers and principle are very nice. I am sure that your kid will have a great learning experience at this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 8, 2004

Really like the school, the teachers, and the principle. Very concerned w/ children's safety in being picked up and dropped off. The LD program is great, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students67%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Free or reduced-price lunch54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students79%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Free or reduced-price lunch74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students74%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Free or reduced-price lunch67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students78%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Free or reduced-price lunch65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 74%
Black 3% 17%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Kevin Cooper
Fax number
  • (417) 673-6087

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

810 North Hwy D
Webb City, MO 64870
Phone: (417) 673-6085

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT