Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Webster Groves, MO

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mary Queen Of Peace School 5

Posted January 03, 2012
- a parent
Both of my Children attend MQP. One graduated and one still attends The best part of the school is the high academic expectations that prepare your child for high school. The other is excellent parent involvement and the teaching of "giving". My son still connects with friends, even though they did not attend the same Catholic High school (mine DeSmet, others SLUH, etc). That speaks highly of the bonds and friendships that occur there. I think the leadership could use some fine tuning. Some decisions are made without consulting or asking the parent's opionions first. Regarding the need to belong to a "country club" as one review stated. We do not find that odd; there are two close by - a great deal of the parents that do belong do this via their "grandparents" anyway. I hope this helps anyone considering.

Mary Queen Of Peace School 5

Posted May 24, 2011
- a community member
i had a great time at this school and have many friends going to ivy leagues schools that also attented here. It is a new young building that was remodeled a few years ago. They have recently installed many new smartboards. the freedom here is not great but the academics have there ups and downs. I had fun at mqp also in sports and plays. Theree are many great familes that live in this parish. The school continously procceds in sports with 6 city county championship winners this year.


Mary Queen Of Peace School 5

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
The previous review was obviously from a disgruntled parent who had a bad experience at MQP, and for that I am sorry. I have children who have graduated as well as children presently attending MQP. Overall, we have had a very positive experience, and the school does an excellent job of preparing them to enter the high school of their choice. My children are average athletes, and have all enjoyed playing many different kinds of sports. And, with a few exceptions, the experiences have been very positive. The sports related issues and bullying are not at all unique to MQP, but I believe a reflection of our society in general. And again, are the exception, not the rule. In the summer, most kids like to swim and hang out with their friends, and the area offers many good choices, including the three mentioned. When speaking about the ACTS Retreat, it is my guess that the parent has chosen not to attend the retreat, but rather to pass judgement on those that have. None of us are perfect, and seeing the face of Jesus in others is a choice. I'm glad that Mary Queen of Peace has made that it's motto and am proud to be part of such a wonderful parish!

Mary Queen Of Peace School 2

Posted January 04, 2011
- a parent
Before considering MQP school, be sure your child fits into at least two of the following criteria: 1) Family belongs to one of the two nearby country clubs 2) Family are members of Crestwood Pool 3) Child is a strong athlete especially in soccer and/or basketball. This element becomes especially important in fifth grade. 4) Family is part of ACTS retreat. ACTS is a religious retreat that started at MQP 3 or 4 years ago. Also, beware of bullying, both physical and emotional. The school is in denial that there's a problem because it's a Catholic based education and therefore, the children see the face of Jesus in their classmates. Other observations: There is very little comraderie between the teachers. The children, in general, are rude. Extremely cliquish atmosphere among the parents and it filters down to the kids.

Mary Queen Of Peace School 5

Posted December 14, 2010
- a parent
I am guessing that many of these reviews were NOT parents of children but rather those who are just against conservative values. My son attended the school all 9 years and was TOTALLY prepared for one of the best college prep Catholic boys high schools in the area. And yes, he was an athlete but also on honor roll every year and went to college on an academic scholarship with 21 college credit hours! MQP can be snobby and cliquish I admit. However they are stringent because they stick to the old world style of educating. Some policies are tough, but obviously being a Catholic school they are going to be highly conservative and NOT liberal. That's the definition of Catholic elementary schools. You may not like that type of environment but thousands do and there were many years where there was a long waiting lists to get in. The kids are accepted into the best high schools in St. Louis and the school is beloved by many. It is not designed for kids with learning issues or special needs and they will tell you that when you apply although I think they are progressing in that arena.


Mary Queen Of Peace School 2

Posted February 05, 2010
- a parent
The only place at this school a child is allowed to excel is on the sports fields. This school and parish community has many problems from the cliquey environment of the parents and students, to a staff, administration, and pastor that function with tunnel vision, to a boring, inflexible curriculum in the middle school. This school is okay for K-4th grade, but not great. The middle school program is antiquated. It does just what it needs to prepare students to take average level high school classes. Few students come out of this school prepared to take advanced/honors high school course work in their Freshman year, which is sad considering most students come from 2 parent college educated families, many having masters and doctorate degrees. If your idea of discipline is the principal and teachers degrading the students in front of others, this is the place for you.

Mary Queen Of Peace School 0
no rating

Posted August 13, 2009
- a parent
We love MQP! It's a great educational community where the parents are heavily involved. The teachers are engaged with the students and challenge them on assignments. We've been there for 5 years thus far and its been a great experience.

Mary Queen Of Peace School 1

Posted March 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mary Queen Of Peace School 1

Posted October 04, 2008
- a parent
The administration is unintelligent and unfriendly. For the sake of your kids, stay away from MQP!

Mary Queen Of Peace School 1

Posted July 09, 2008
- a parent
This is a typical catholic school in every way. In that way, they are rigid, uncreative, and stuck in the era of the 30's and 40's with their teaching style. Academics are average because they simply do lots of busy work with an over-emphasis on memorization. They do not learn the work but simply memorize for the test. They have darn little creative outlets and they are so scripted that creativity is stifled. There are so many other fantastic schools out there but like lemmings to a fire they flock to this school. It is over-crowded. The parents are hyper-involved and over competitive. The teaching style is an antique as are some of the actual teachers. The administration is focused on money and not the students or the culture of the school. I would not send any child to this school ever.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mary Queen Of Peace School
680 West Lockwood Avenue, Webster Groves, MO  63119
(314) 961-2891
Last modified Mary Queen Of Peace School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Mary Queen Of Peace School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top