Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Webster Groves, MO
Students enrolled: 260
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
The College School is a remarkable school. Their approach nurtures the whole child through solid academics and emotional and social development. The teacher's dedication and commitment shows in every interaction they have with our children. If you don't know much about experiential education, please do not confuse it with "experimental" education. There is a solid curriculum foundation that supports additional theme based work. I'm constantly amazed at how many lessons can be woven into a simple field trip. My children are learning much more than the rote basics. They are picking up a deeper understanding of how the world works at a much earlier age than I did. Themes of community, business, ecology, interpersonal communication, respect and cooperation are woven into the daily routine. I also see my children developing creative problem solving skills and independence. I will admit, I was skeptical at first as to whether paying tuition was the right thing for our family. I can say without a doubt that the College School has been worth every penny.

College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
This school prepares your child fro the challenges of the future not just in the classroom but with real-life experiences.


College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted June 06, 2008
- a parent
I love this school. Kids are valued here for the unique people they are. kids love coming to school each day. They feel connected and important. The academics are strong, authentic and meaningful The kids are often involved in real projects in which their research, writing, math and science skills are all applied. They have a lot of choice in their own learning, which engages them from the get-go. The feeling of community at The College School is evident from the moment one walks through the doors. Older kids are paired with a younger 'buddy' and they get a chance to read with them and guide them. Art, drama, music, Spanish and PE are all offered to students. Each eighth grader delivers an amazing speech at graduation. Their speeches really sum up what The College School does for kids whether it's building academic skills, self-esteem, or social skills. The BEST school!

College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted January 22, 2008
- a parent
As a parent as alum I can say with all honesty that this school is one of the best in the St. Louis area and in my opinion, in the country. It challenges every child to excel to the best of their capabilities which often are far beyond what the student thought they could achieve. The College School weaves math, LA, science and social studies into their curriculum seamlessly that students often don't know that they are learning vast amounts of knowledge. While I cant say every child will graduate will self assurance and confidence, I can say that most will. They move well into a secondary school of their choosing and are successful. Students from The College School almost always go to on to college. These are highly motivated lifelong learners that graduate from this grade school.

College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted June 14, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted June 10, 2007
- a parent
The College School is incredibly diverse in every aspect. The Reggio learning perspective works so well. Not only are the kids getting a full education but they are also well rounded. There are so many various learning aspects. Math is experimented through hands on projects. Language Arts are amazing. Journals at TCS is like drinking water you need it for survival. The kids enjoy writing. They could be sitting at a campsite which is also part of the curriculum journaling about the shooting star they just saw or the hike they took earlier. There are endless life lessons at TCS. Drama teaches students through plays confidence and speaking. Juggling, unicycles, balancing to name a few are part of the drama curriculum. TCS offers an array of opportunities. The teachers at TCS treat the children independence and confidence. You never fail everyone is different. The parent involvement is endless. Love it.

College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted March 08, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted June 16, 2006
- a parent
This is an incredible school. Children are challenged to excel in a supportive and nurturing environment. The school's curriculum is intentionally different. Children learn how to think as opposed to how to repeat or draw rote facts. Children learn to work individually and as a group. Reading, writing, math and science are parts of the entire curriculum including music, drama, physical education in addition to the more standard classroom fare. 8th grade graduation is incredible. Every graduating 8th grader gives a speech at graduation which is surprisingly insightful and demonstrates a level of maturity beyond what is expected. The Reggio approach in preschool is wonderful; even the littlest of kids do work that is unexpected. If you want to challenge your child to excel, this is the school for you! Your child will want to go to school everyday and you won't ever hear school is boring or I hate school.


College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted October 06, 2003
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

College School of Webster Groves
7825 Big Bend Blvd, Webster Groves, MO  63119
(314) 962-9355
Last modified College School of Webster Groves is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
College School of Webster Groves Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top