Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
260 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted August 12, 2016
- a parent
The College School has been an extraordinary learning environment for my kids. The experiential education style of teaching has enabled my kids to think from a multi-perspective point of view at a very young age. The school has 50 years of history in experiential education and they are proven leaders in this field for preK -8th grade. My kids are learning to "love learning" which will be a lifelong asset for them in high school and college and then into their careers. We have had nothing but great teachers each year and are very happy that we chose to invest in their elementary education at TCS.

College School of Webster Groves 1

Posted July 22, 2016
- a teacher
Be careful about trusting this school with your children and your money. There is no apparent accountability in the spending of funds (such as the "adventure education fee" that is not allotted to teachers budgets, but is considered additional tuition without any transparency as to its use.) Teachers are sent to expensive professional development trainings (such as Hawaii or New York) with unclear (if not unlimited) budgets for food and drink, and no consistent expectation of sharing their learning with colleagues. We observed a lack of care for socioeconomic diversity when the admissions office informed us that our son was "not the right type of diversity to be eligible for a scholarship." Their "sustainability" efforts are not present in many classrooms, such as Kindergarten where the teacher throws away partially used art supplies and learning materials every year. One classroom "lost" a student who ended up walking more than two miles home. My son was unable to be located once during ASP (after school program) because of a lack of communication and safety procedures within the staff. And I have repeatedly observed at least one teacher yell at and degrade the students. When that behavior was brought to the attention of the administration, it was simply disregarded. Many teachers possess no certification and others are placed in positions which they are neither certified nor qualified in teaching. Teachers are not observed teaching and can really do whatever they want. Hiring and firing is done by the Head of School based on what he calls "a feeling" rather than quantifiable objectives. The Head of School has no administrative or elementary experience, and the result is a poorly run business that is more concerned with making money than providing young children with a safe and nurturing environment. Shame on them.


College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
The College School is a remarkable school. Their approach nurtures the whole child through solid academics and emotional and social development. The teacher's dedication and commitment shows in every interaction they have with our children. If you don't know much about experiential education, please do not confuse it with "experimental" education. There is a solid curriculum foundation that supports additional theme based work. I'm constantly amazed at how many lessons can be woven into a simple field trip. My children are learning much more than the rote basics. They are picking up a deeper understanding of how the world works at a much earlier age than I did. Themes of community, business, ecology, interpersonal communication, respect and cooperation are woven into the daily routine. I also see my children developing creative problem solving skills and independence. I will admit, I was skeptical at first as to whether paying tuition was the right thing for our family. I can say without a doubt that the College School has been worth every penny.

College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
This school prepares your child fro the challenges of the future not just in the classroom but with real-life experiences.

College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted June 06, 2008
- a parent
I love this school. Kids are valued here for the unique people they are. kids love coming to school each day. They feel connected and important. The academics are strong, authentic and meaningful The kids are often involved in real projects in which their research, writing, math and science skills are all applied. They have a lot of choice in their own learning, which engages them from the get-go. The feeling of community at The College School is evident from the moment one walks through the doors. Older kids are paired with a younger 'buddy' and they get a chance to read with them and guide them. Art, drama, music, Spanish and PE are all offered to students. Each eighth grader delivers an amazing speech at graduation. Their speeches really sum up what The College School does for kids whether it's building academic skills, self-esteem, or social skills. The BEST school!


College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted January 22, 2008
- a parent
As a parent as alum I can say with all honesty that this school is one of the best in the St. Louis area and in my opinion, in the country. It challenges every child to excel to the best of their capabilities which often are far beyond what the student thought they could achieve. The College School weaves math, LA, science and social studies into their curriculum seamlessly that students often don't know that they are learning vast amounts of knowledge. While I cant say every child will graduate will self assurance and confidence, I can say that most will. They move well into a secondary school of their choosing and are successful. Students from The College School almost always go to on to college. These are highly motivated lifelong learners that graduate from this grade school.

College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted June 10, 2007
- a parent
The College School is incredibly diverse in every aspect. The Reggio learning perspective works so well. Not only are the kids getting a full education but they are also well rounded. There are so many various learning aspects. Math is experimented through hands on projects. Language Arts are amazing. Journals at TCS is like drinking water you need it for survival. The kids enjoy writing. They could be sitting at a campsite which is also part of the curriculum journaling about the shooting star they just saw or the hike they took earlier. There are endless life lessons at TCS. Drama teaches students through plays confidence and speaking. Juggling, unicycles, balancing to name a few are part of the drama curriculum. TCS offers an array of opportunities. The teachers at TCS treat the children independence and confidence. You never fail everyone is different. The parent involvement is endless. Love it.

College School of Webster Groves 5

Posted June 16, 2006
- a parent
This is an incredible school. Children are challenged to excel in a supportive and nurturing environment. The school's curriculum is intentionally different. Children learn how to think as opposed to how to repeat or draw rote facts. Children learn to work individually and as a group. Reading, writing, math and science are parts of the entire curriculum including music, drama, physical education in addition to the more standard classroom fare. 8th grade graduation is incredible. Every graduating 8th grader gives a speech at graduation which is surprisingly insightful and demonstrates a level of maturity beyond what is expected. The Reggio approach in preschool is wonderful; even the littlest of kids do work that is unexpected. If you want to challenge your child to excel, this is the school for you! Your child will want to go to school everyday and you won't ever hear school is boring or I hate school.

Nearby schools

College School of Webster Groves
7825 Big Bend Blvd, Webster Groves, MO  63119
(314) 962-9355
Last modified College School of Webster Groves is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top