Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wentzville South Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 773 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

I am the proud grandmother of three students that have attended and are attending this school. These children are the smartest and they are so polite. Along with their parents and their grandmother's guidance and the teaching skills at your school, these children will excel in whatever they desire to do. Thanks for doing such a great job!


Posted June 2, 2013

I have a child that went to this school and it was excellent. The onlly negative was Mrs. Cardona. My child loved math and did very well before this year but in Mrs. Cardonas class my child and their friends now hate math due to Mrs. Cardonas lack of patients and vindictive nature. She even avoided us and another group in parents night. I would suggest you avoid her at all cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2011

My daughter is in 6th grade and she loves it. She is an A student; she has adjusted well to middle school thanks to the teachers. The school has prepared her well for middle school and I can see the level of maturity that she has gained. The teachers make it their duty to send you emails of what is being taught and also let you know when a quiz/test will be given and what the focus of the test will be on so you can discuss with your child. There is more than one test/quizz each week so the students are forced to keep up with the curriculum and to maintain their knoweldge. So far I am very pleased. The only issue I have is with music - i.e. renting the instrument with what I consider to be a high monthly fee and overall paying more than the cost of buying a new instrument. Taking music as an option can be costly for those who have met with financial hardship,but then again my child is not considering a career in music so it's no big deal for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2008

I am a parent of a child with a dissability and have been in the wentzville school distreict for the last 5 years. When my son was at boone trail elementary the special ed department was outstanding and the staff worked so well as a team, not to mention keep excellent comminication between us. However, since my son has been at wentzville south middle these past two years have been a complete contrast. There were constant communication gaps and lack of respect for our wishes in regard to his needs. In fact, the more we had to assert ourselves as his advocates, the more resistance we got. If you don't have a child with special needs (and i do have one without special needs also) it's a fabulous school. However, if you have a child with special needs consider yourself warned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

Mr. Clemons makes this a five star school! His leadership is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

I have a son in the 8th grade at SMS and one in 6th grade at Frontier. I really like the block schedule that SMS has and wish that Frontier had that same type of schedule. My 8th grader has had the block schedule since starting middle school and hasn't brought much homework home the entire time he's been at middle school. My 6th grader has so much homework that he spends at least 2 hrs a night on it. I feel the block schedule would cut down on the excessive homework and would give more intensive learning than what he gets now in the shorter classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2006

We were so pleased with WSMS. The team approach is wonderful, and really helps the staff focus on the best interests of each child. Block scheduling is great, although it takes a bit of getting used to. We live in another state now, but are moving back, and one of the requirements is that the home is in the same school. I believe the quality of education offered at WSMS is outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

We had our three boys travel through this school. We were all really involved. Excellent support and teacher staff. Everyone involved with WSMS stressed the importance of being prepared for the trip to Timberland. PTA participation was excellent. We are proud to say our children attended WSMS
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 48% in 2014.

381 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

381 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 56% in 2014.

378 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

349 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

389 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2014.

253 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2014.

391 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students64%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White66%
Free or reduced-price lunch47%
Students with disabilities34%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students73%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White75%
Free or reduced-price lunch55%
Students with disabilities47%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students73%
Black65%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White74%
Free or reduced-price lunch58%
Students with disabilities33%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students76%
Black64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White78%
Free or reduced-price lunch60%
Students with disabilities37%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students61%
Black52%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White63%
Free or reduced-price lunch47%
Students with disabilities29%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students61%
Black41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White64%
Free or reduced-price lunch46%
Students with disabilities43%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students74%
Black42%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White77%
Free or reduced-price lunch56%
Students with disabilities47%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students99%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White99%
Free or reduced-price lunch100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 74%
Black 7% 17%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

561 East Hwy North
Wentzville, MO 63385
Phone: (636) 327-3928

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Patrick School
Wentzville, MO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT