Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lafayette Sr. High School

Public | 9-12 | 2030 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

My daughter is going into her senior year at Lafayette and wishes she would have moved to a private school when she had the chance. Academically, it's not absolutely horrible, you'll be challenged and there are quite a few AP classes but the curriculum is horrifying. My daughter comes home complaining that she feels stupider every day due to the condescending and rude teachers employed at the school. It is hard to get involved and the students are snobby and judgemental. Save yourself the pain and send your kid to a private school. I can guarantee he/she will be much happier there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

I am not overly impressed as other are with this school. Academically speaking this school is fine but not fantastic. It is very hard to get involved at this school. If your child plays sports DO NOT attend this school. The athletic department is terrifying. Coaches are out of control and nasty. The politics are worse than at our old high school in Kentucky. We are considering sending our child to a private school. I only wish I had this warning before we chose this district. I hope this review will save another family from making this mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2012

Rockwood School District has a long way to go to being an all-around great school district. Academically they are on track if they can get the older teachers to move out of their comfort zone and change their curriculum and use the newest technology available to them. Many teachers at the elementary level don t even use their websites. Shocking in this day when technology is the push. Don t be misled by Rockwood s initiative to get parents involved. It is just to get bond money issue. That is as far as they want the parents involved. The PTO only exist, I am sure, because they have to keep the front. The district is basically a big bureaucracy~ the administrators the clones of the system. The fact is there is a lot of bullying going on, not sure it s just the student s bad behavior. Democracy? Doubtful this is a dictatorship and the schools are protected by all their procedures and policies. Think very hard before moving into this district as to whether or not your student will fit into this learning/SOCIAL environment. I have seen students self-worth destroyed in this district. More than anyplace I have ever lived. It is sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2012

We were told before we moved here how amazing this school was and now we know. The teachers and staff are terrific. They truly want the students to excel and offer tremendous support. I am so happy my son is attending Lafayette and look forward to my younger son getting the opportunity to have an excellent education through Lafayette as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2012

Good public school to the kids. My son is there and doing his level best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Lafayeete High School has a great learning enviroment. The teahers are great and really help the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

Our two children went to Lafayette. (classes of 2004 & 2007) Lafayette's high academic standards had them both prepared for college. They both had a 4.0 GPA there first semester.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

Excellent school, caring teachers/staff. They want the best for all the students. All around great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

Great school! My child easily got into Truman which is a highly selective school. She had very caring teachers. There is nothing I can complain about with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

Lafayette High School prepares students to face the real world and it is done with a caring staff and a community that expects nothing except excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

I just moved into the Rockwood school district. Lafayette Senior High is one of the best schools my son has ever attended. Thank you staff of Lafayette.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

232 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
71%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 64% in 2014.

187 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 67% in 2014.

481 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2014.

468 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 75% in 2014.

474 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 66% in 2014.

434 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 62% in 2014.

481 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 48% in 2014.

506 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students71%
Black34%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White80%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilities48%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Students93%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White93%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Biology

All Students88%
Black39%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White94%
Free or reduced-price lunch39%
Students with disabilities60%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students77%
Black24%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White83%
Free or reduced-price lunch31%
Students with disabilities40%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students89%
Black47%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White95%
Free or reduced-price lunch58%
Students with disabilities59%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Students92%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White92%
Free or reduced-price lunch86%
Students with disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Government

All Students88%
Black56%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White92%
Free or reduced-price lunch59%
Students with disabilities62%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students75%
Black30%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic90%
Multiracial70%
American Indiann/a
White82%
Free or reduced-price lunch34%
Students with disabilities36%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 74%
Black 10% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17050 Clayton Rd
Wildwood, MO 63011
Phone: (636) 733-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Babler Lodge
Chesterfield, MO


Marquette Sr. High School
Chesterfield, MO


Barat Academy
Chesterfield, MO




West High School
Ballwin, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT