Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Willard High School

Public | 9-12 | 1257 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2013

Very disappointed with administration and the way they deal with parent complaints about teacher teaching abilities and conduct. A math honors teacher give the class 10 minutes of teaching then doesn't answer any questions or works out problems with students. But spends the rest of the time on the computer doing anything but teaching the class the rest of the session. She has them work on homework that the answers are in the back of the book, and doesn't help them. Teacher says to another student that asked a question about the problem and teacher states "I've giving enough information about it, its pretty clear". Many other parents have complained about this teacher as well. They need to clean house and get rid of the garbage. Many great teachers work and teach at willard, but there are a few that should consider changing their career choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

My kids came in as homeschoolers,we were very wary of public school in general. My oldest is now a junior at Drury and had a very good high school experience. The choral music department is fabulous! I only hope Mark Lawley is still there for my fourth graders when they get there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2007

Willard provided me with a great education. I graduated not only prepared for college but also prepared for the 'real world'. This school district is amazing and always goes above and beyond for all students. I am proud to say I attend K-12 as a Willard Tiger.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 10, 2006

I personally agree with the third parent review, the politics in this school are rampant. If you dont have a certain last name or arent well known there, they could care less about you or your opinions. And it does no good to go to the school board for any problems, they back their teachers and stick together no matter what! Pity for the kids who aren't well known in that town! Myself and plenty of my friend's whose kid's go there have had numerous problems with favoritism, and problems with the so called leaders in that school, but nothing ever changes or gets done about it. Its not near the excellent school system that it professes to be! No-names beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

I am a Willard graduate. Although I did not go to Willard K-12, I have recommendations for this school district. As with anything there are always going to be pro's and con's. Both of my kids have received excellent education and I am very comfortable with college for them because of the school district. I must of course give an applaude to Mr. Chris Church and his direction of the Cutting Edge band! He teaches disciple, respect, leadership and an excellent work ethic! This will last your child a life time! I am proud to tell anyone my kids go to Willard!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

My children at different times were in the accelerated dept., one was in special needs, they played on the basketball, football, track, and baseball teams. They played in the band. There isn't much I haven't been involved in the Willard Schools. I am not from Willard originally but I moved there to give the schools a chance. They exceeded my expectations in every single area. I cannot imagine a better school district. The things I disagreed with, which were very few, I was at least allowed to voice my opinion on. The leaders are very willing to listen and even change their opinions and direction if they think the community and parents may have a better direction. ...that's my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2005

School politics are prevalent at Willard. Willard has an infamous history of favoring particular students and families in all regards including but not limited to: sports, academics, hiring/firing. Particularly, residents of Springfield in the Willard school district beware! Members of the school board lack a general 21st century common sense and have a tendency to make irrational decisions and treat people unfairly. There have also been serious questions regarding the integrity of the voting process for the school board. Quite a few parents/former students would agree with my assessment.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 6, 2005

We moved to willard so my children could go to the schools here because of their great schools. My husband moved here in kindergarten and finished his high school career at Willard. It is a great school district and a great town, everyone here is very supportive of their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2004

Willard has and always will be THE best school district you could send your child to. There are no 'gangs' or problems with drugs or alchohol and ther are many great things to participate in. Such as, basketball, football, soccer, wrestling, volleyball, cheerleading, a huge asortment of club. But, best of all is the band, 'The Cutting Edge', which has been the #1 band in the region of competition and also named(undefeated) 417 magazines's best marching band.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2004

My son is a Freshman at Willard High School.I would'nt dream of sending him elsewhere...Being a graduate myself, I choose this great school from the very 1st day of kindergarten, and my son could'nt be happier...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My son attends Willard High. Above all since he has been attending Willard his overall attitude has changed dramatically for the better. He is out there involved with the community. He now goes out with his friends. He has made many friends at Willards (JR-ROTC) program. (ie) Naval Science. I think the teachers and staff of a school especially the principal makes all the difference of the school system. Keep it up Willard! You will always win my vote!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
51%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
50%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students69%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Free or reduced-price lunch55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Students80%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Free or reduced-price lunch73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students92%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Free or reduced-price lunch87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students65%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunch58%
Students with disabilities9%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students77%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Free or reduced-price lunch63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Students78%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Free or reduced-price lunch74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White54%
Free or reduced-price lunch37%
Students with disabilities3%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students57%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Free or reduced-price lunch43%
Students with disabilities22%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 74%
Black 3% 17%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

515 East Jackson St
Willard, MO 65781
Phone: (417) 742-3524

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hillcrest High School
Springfield, MO



Ash Grove High School
Ash Grove, MO


Graff Career Center
Springfield, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT