Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Belgrade Intermediate School

Public | 4-6 | 696 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2012

I would not recommend this school to anyone. Teachers and administration are very unprofessional and do not address bullying. We will be moving out of this district because we value our children's education and well being. If new to the area please do not send your children to the Belgrade Intermediate school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

All of the teachers my kids had in the 4th and 5th grade were awesome. My kids loved going to school and I was encouraged to call. The 6th grade however, is ran by a different principal and the teachers weren't helpful at all. My son went from A's and B's to D's and F's. They never had time to talk and when I insisted on meeting the only advise I received was he was just being lazy. My son is now in 7th grade and getting A's and B's once again. I give the 4th and 5th grades five stars but the 6th grade maybe two stars on everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Teachers have been awesome but I can't say much for the Administration. They reall don't want parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

They have quality teachers who care about the kids sometimes even more than themselves. They have been working for 8 months without a contract and deserve a reward!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Dedicated staff and PTK group. There is a 'can do' attitude and people are willing to plan and act to improve the future of our students.


Posted April 20, 2010

Great teachers, great PTC, lots of after and in school sports,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

This is the only school in our district for grades 4,5, and 6. Therefore, we get the priviledge of working with every student in the district. As teachers, we all work very hard to make sure our students have the best education we can give them. This is a great school to work in, and even a greater community of students and parents to work with!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Our students are the most amazing kids! Anyone who says that our youth is lazy needs to come and observe our students. They are high achieving youngsters and they think globally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

The after school program is great and helps keeps our kids safe and is financially affordable for parents. The open door policy for community use after school and weekends, helps families and students access programs, sports, and play.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

I loved the experience I had while I was there! The Teachers were great , the atmosphere was amazing , and I think the next generations deserve the same! Very fun , with a small town feeling. Thank you All! Especially , Mr. Holgate - or Coach Holgate now I believe! :)


Posted April 15, 2010

still has a small town feel; always willing to work with you to help your kids; and a great PTK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The teachers really care about their students. They are more than willing to help parents stay on top of what their students are doing on a regular basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The teachers rock, they are willing to help in any way and want the best for our kids. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Belgrade Intermediate/Middle School is in a great community. The teachers and the kids are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

All 3 of my children enjoyed Belgrade Intermediate and Middle school. Great schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
67%

2008

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
86%

2008

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2011.

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
72%

2008

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
69%

2008

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
88%

2008

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
71%

2008

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
88%

2008

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female73%
Male73%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, Non-Hispanic74%
Participates in free/reduced lunch61%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant73%

Reading

All Students84%
Female87%
Male83%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, Non-Hispanic86%
Participates in free/reduced lunch69%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%

Science

All Students65%
Female67%
Male64%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, Non-Hispanic66%
Participates in free/reduced lunch45%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students72%
Female73%
Male70%
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, Non-Hispanic74%
Participates in free/reduced lunch64%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%

Reading

All Students86%
Female87%
Male85%
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, Non-Hispanic89%
Participates in free/reduced lunch78%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female58%
Male63%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latino16%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, Non-Hispanic64%
Participates in free/reduced lunch41%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English61%
Non-migrant60%

Reading

All Students90%
Female93%
Male86%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, Non-Hispanic90%
Participates in free/reduced lunch82%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2010-2011 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 82%
Hispanic 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 11%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Asian 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

421 Spooner Rd
Belgrade, MT 59714
Phone: (406) 924-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Springhill School
Belgrade, MT


Bozeman Christian
Bozeman, MT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT